Skip to content

Books in the mail (and four chunksters)!

January 16, 2008

books 002I’m going to cover a few things in this one post, so stick with me! A few weeks ago I received an e-mail from Julie at Three Rivers Press offering to send me some books. A few days ago I received three historical fiction novels: The Merry Monarch’s Wife by Jean Plaidy, The Serpent Garden by Judith Merkle Riley and Now Face to Face by Karleen Koen. Over the weekend I saw Now Face to Face in Borders but didn’t buy it since I have put myself on a bit of a book diet (must build more bookshelves)! Imagine my surprise when I pulled the same book out of the package – score! Since Now Face to Face is such a hefty book at 734 pages, I am adding it to my list for the Chunkster Challenge 2008, which I just joined.  

Along with the above mentioned book, I plan to read I Know This Much Is True by Wally Lamb, The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver and Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke (all of which also happen to be on my 2008 book challenge list – why not kill two birds with one stone, right)!

books 007The following day, I received a package from Penguin Group containing a just published paperback book which I will be giving away here at my blog soon! Along with my review of the book and not one but two author interviews, it will be a busy time here at this old blog.

Speaking of new bookshelves, my husband and I did a little rearranging in our home office over the weekend. We are now trying to decide how exactly we plan on using this room, which has served many functions over the last ten years we have lived here. It was initially built on as a mother-in-law suite by the previous owners. When we moved in, it functioned as our master bedroom. After our oldest daughter was born, we decided to relocated to an upstairs bedroom and made the room into an office. Now it functions alright as an office, but we really would like to have an area for guests to sleep and this large room would be a perfect spot since it has a bathroom already attached to it. So, I’ve been doing a little research and found some inspiration for bookshelves from this great craft blog and did a little drawing up of my own (click on the picture above for a better view). With some nice built in bookshelves, a new pull out couch, a few curtains and a redone bathroom, it would make the perfect guest suite! I don’t know if this plan is going to work, but a girl can dream of extra book storage, can’t she?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2008 8:50 pm

    I’m eager to hear what you think of The Poisonwood Bible, it’s one of my favorite books.

  2. January 16, 2008 10:10 pm

    Nice plan! I’d love some bookshelves.
    Jean Plaidy was a favorite of mine. I haven’t read her in years.

  3. January 16, 2008 11:25 pm

    We used to have tons of Jean Plaidy books in our house – my mom was a big fan. Somehow I never got around to reading one – must have been before my love of historical fiction 🙂
    Have fun with your new books!

  4. January 17, 2008 10:34 am

    This Much I Know Is True is an awesome book! I read it years ago and just loved it. Poisonwood Bible can be a tough read but, is absolutely worth it. There are many Biblical allusions in the book to keep you thinking!
    Peace~
    Tina

  5. January 17, 2008 1:09 pm

    Wow! I’d love to get books sent to me so that I could review them. How can I be like you? 🙂

    I’m so glad you’ll be tackling I Know This Much Is True and The Poisonwood Bible. I Know This Much Is True is in my top 3 favorite books of all time, and The Poisonwood Bible is in my top 10 favorite books of all time. I’ve heard that Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell is awesome…I just need to pick up a copy somewhere.

    I’m currently reading The Boy in the Striped Pajamas thanks to your blurb about it…

  6. January 17, 2008 2:08 pm

    How do you get on a publisher’s list for books? I’m curious to know how this works. Did they seek you out or did you seek them out?

  7. January 17, 2008 2:47 pm

    I am also in need of more bookshelves – I’m showing that page from the other blog to Jim! He is good at making things from wood.

  8. January 17, 2008 5:26 pm

    Free books – cool! I always love getting books to review without spending any actual money. Funny that you’re also on a book diet. You may have mentioned that to me, but I’d forgotten.

    And, yes, of course a girl can dream. I dream of moving to a bigger house. It’s not likely to happen, but I keep wishing. 🙂

  9. January 18, 2008 5:17 am

    I dream of more book storage too! I’m probably going to join the Chunkster Challenge too since I realized that 4 books I’m already planning to read this year are chunksters. I haven’t read anything by Lamb but I did enjoy both The Poisonwood Bible and Jonathan Strange.

  10. January 18, 2008 11:32 am

    woooooooooooooo extra book storage. that looks just lovely!

  11. January 18, 2008 1:43 pm

    Free books are so awesome!! Lucky you! Sounds like you have some big reading plans. Can’t wait to hear about the books you are going to read!

  12. January 19, 2008 6:01 pm

    I need extra storage too! They’re everywhere!

  13. January 19, 2008 10:54 pm

    Jean Plaidy was one of my favorite writers when I was a teenager. I think she helped turn me into a lifelong fan of historical fiction.

    And it seems like you’ve got plenty of company having Jonathan Strange on your 2008 reading list, me included!

  14. January 20, 2008 9:59 pm

    Count me in for the bookshelves too, hehe.
    I like your blog, so I will add your link to my blogroll. 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

  15. January 21, 2008 6:07 pm

    Wow, it’s like Christmas all over again at your house! That’s quite a bookstack you got in the mail – lucky you:)

    I envy you the bookshelves, and the nice room to put them in. It sounds heavenly.

    Thanks for visiting my blog today 🙂 I’m new to the bookblogging world, so I’m happy to meet new friends to add to my list.

  16. January 29, 2008 12:52 am

    Love your shelf design. Will you and your husband build the shelves yourselves? We are remodeling right now. In the process one of the bedrooms is going to become my library. One wall will look much as you’ve planned yours. Only I haven’t drawn mine out yet.

    I loved Poisonwood Bible. Am reading Jonathan Strange right now and am enjoying it a lot.

  17. January 30, 2008 7:49 pm

    I would kill for some free books! Occasionally, I get some via The Paperback Book Swap but they typically don’t have what I want and I have to give away my books if I want new ones.

    I’m hoping you’ll read Now Face To Face soon. I found the book at my last trip to Borders but I’m not sure if I can part with my money. The last book I bought, because of Amazon reviews, was absolutely dreadful and I seem to, for the most part, agree with your reviews.

Trackbacks

  1. cover girl | View for info
  2. Free books! « The Written Word
  3. Special Deliveries (and a word about my mom) « The Written Word

Leave a Reply

