Skip to content

2008 book challenge

December 27, 2007

bookshelf 008

I just love seeing pictures of stacks of books, so here I am showing you my 2008 TBR (to be read) Challenge bookshelf. I figured that this is one challenge that I could easily manage since I have plenty of unread books sitting on my shelves just waiting to be picked up (yeah, sure, I don’t have a book buying problem). Anyway, here is my list of the twelve books I hope to read in 2008:

1. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

2. The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver

3. The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde

4. The Stolen Child by Keith Donohue *

5. Case Histories by Kate Atkinson

6. Suite Francaise by Irene Nemirovsky *

7. The World of Suzie Wong by Richard Mason

8. The Secret History of the Pink Carnation by Lauren Willig

9. The Constant Princess by Philippa Gregory

10. The Tea Rose by Jennifer Donnelly *

11. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

12. The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly *

The books with an asterisk were ones I received from my family for Christmas. Since we are able to use these books for other challenges along the way, I figured that The Book of Lost Things and The Stolen Child might be great picks for Carl’s Once Upon A Time Challenge in the spring. 

In addition, we are able to pick twelve “alternative” books to supplement our original list, just in case I want to switch them out. The other twelve are as follows: The Reading Group Guide by Elizabeth Noble, Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke, The Alchemist’s Daughter by Katharine McMahon, Bread Alone by Judith Ryan Hendricks, I Know This Much is True by Wally Lamb, Swapping Lives by Jane Green, The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette by Carolly Erickson, Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress by Dai Sijie, The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler, The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri, Summer People by Brian Groh, Sister of My Heart by Chitra Banerjee Divakarani.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2007 11:59 am

    I’ve read #2 and #9. You will enjoy them. TPWB is kind of odd, though.

    I’ve got such a stack of books to get through! It might take me two years. But this week I read Mosaic by Amy Grant, and The Lotus and the Cross by Ravi Zacharias. Both were short, yet satisfying reads. I’m still working on The Queen’s Fool. You got me hooked on Phillipa Gregory, girl!

  2. December 28, 2007 12:04 pm

    The lineup looks great! I’ve only read #2 and have #1,3 on my must read someday list. So many books! sigh…

  3. December 28, 2007 8:41 pm

    I’m doing the TBR Challenge, also. I noticed that we both have The Constant Princess and The Handmaid’s Tale on our lists. I’m looking forward to starting and wish you luck with it.

  4. December 28, 2007 10:04 pm

    I’m so jealous of The Book of Lost Things! I keep my TBR books combined w/ my read ones according to genre on my shelves, so I can’t do a picture like this. 😦 I enjoyed yours, though!

  5. December 28, 2007 10:08 pm

    Oh, The Handmaid’s Tale is an amazing book. I also really love The Poisonwood Bible, but not as much as The Handmaid’s Tale. And I think Suite Francaise is on my challenge list, too!

  6. December 28, 2007 10:41 pm

    Oooh, I love that picture 🙂 I just answered my question by coming over to your blog! I was wondering if you got the new softcover version of The Book of Lost Things and I see that you did! I really want that one for all of the extras in the back…such a cool book. Enjoy your reading, excellent choices!

  7. December 28, 2007 11:40 pm

    WOW, this seriously must be inherited. I read “A Thousand Splendid Suns” It was awesome.

  8. December 29, 2007 2:28 pm

    The Book of Lost Things and The Stolen Child are on my list of books to read as well.

    The Eyre Affair is a really fun book, I enjoyed it quite a bit.

  9. December 29, 2007 8:39 pm

    You will LOVE Poisonwood Bible and Suite Francaise -especially the “true” story behind it and the author’s notes….chilling.

    Gosh, I read The Handmaid’s Tale probably 10 years ago…..

    I guess now that our domestic adoption debacle is over, I best get on to losing myself in books.

    Hugs to you for all the support. I truly, truly appreciated all of your warmth and emails.

    K

  10. December 31, 2007 3:38 pm

    I really liked the Pink Carnation and am looking forward to the 4th book in the series due out this spring. Willig is an entertaining writer.

  11. Ariel permalink
    January 1, 2008 12:13 pm

    I loved A Thousand Splendid Suns even better than the Kite Runner and I read the Poisonwood Bible a few years ago and thought it was good. On my to be read list is The year of Living Biblically One Man’s Humble Quest to Follow the Bible, Shakespeare: The World as Stage(Eminent Lives) by Bill Bryson, and What the Dead Know. I also want to get a hold of Mark Bittmans How to Cook Everything Vegetarian. Hope you have a wonderful New Year!

  12. January 2, 2008 3:21 pm

    I just finished The Tea Rose myself and was sad to see it come to an end – I loved it. I also read The Secret History of the Pink Carnation and thought it was fabulous – total fluff, but sooo entertaining 🙂 Enjoy!

  13. January 4, 2008 2:54 am

    Looks like a great list. I’m almost finished with Summer People (for my book club) and I’m going to start A Thousand Splendid Suns as soon as I’m done. Can’t wait.. I’ve heard so many good things! Are you going to read these books in the order you’ve listed? If so, we may be reading 1000 SS at the same time.

  14. January 6, 2008 11:39 am

    You’ve picked some fabulous books! A Thousand Splendid Suns made my Best of 2007 list (I’d probably rate it #3 in the list). Bread Alone is a favorite (I’ve read it twice). I Know This Much is True is a fantastic read. The Poisonwood Bible is incredible. Kingsolver does a superb job with the voices of the women. Such a memorable story. Ah, and The Tea Rose. Loved it. The sequel is in my challenge stack.

    I wish I could spend more time re-reading some of these favorites.

  15. January 8, 2008 1:23 pm

    Of course, this is only my opinion, but I think you should switch out one of your books for I Know This Much is True by Wally Lamb. That is in my top 3 favorite books of all time.

  16. January 9, 2008 3:40 pm

    You’ll love #1. It’s such a moving story and well he’s a truly gifted writer. I read the Wally Lamb book when it came out and enjoyed it but I enjoyed She’s Come Undone more. I have yet to read The Other Boelyn Girl it’s on my TBR book.

Trackbacks

  1. Books in the mail (and four chunksters)! « The Written Word

Leave a Reply

