Skip to content

Special Deliveries (and a word about my mom)

February 22, 2008

new books3The lovely Julie at Three Rivers Press has done it again! Just like last month, I received a nice package in the mail today which included three new books: Blind Submission by Debra Ginsberg, Blood is the New Black by Valerie Stivers and Cotton Song by Tom Bailey. I’m really in the mood for a light read right now, so I think Blind Submission will fit the bill. The story revolves around Angel Robinson, assistant to a literary agent, who is busy juggling both her boss’s prima donna demands and the strange quirks of authors. After receiving a mysterious manuscript, bit by bit in her e-mail, Angel suddenly realizes the anonymous author is watching her, since the manuscript is creepily based on Angel’s real life. The Boston Globe is quoted on the back of the book – “A neatly crafted satire of the contemporary publishing world…Ginsberg does a fine and funny job.” I also think the book cover is pretty cool.

A Novel

I am also trying to work out a great giveaway (think new historical fiction) courtesy of Three Rivers Press and will be sure to blog more about it once it is confirmed.

In the mail were two more packages, one of which included the new Barnes & Noble First Look book, The Sister by Poppy Adams. I was really surprised when it arrived since I hadn’t heard back from Barnes & Noble and assumed that I hadn’t been picked to participate.

Lastly, I got an e-mail from Karen Neches, author of Earthly Pleasures offering to send me her book. I just fell in love with the premise of the book and new I had to have it. The story revolves around Skye Sebring, a hospitality greeter inside the pearly gates of Heaven.
new books2When she meets lawyer Ryan Blaine during his brush with death after a motorcycle accident, she falls so deeply in love that she follows him back to Earth, a world with strange customs she knows nothing about, until she discovers that all of life’s lessons can be learned from the lyrics of five Beatles songs. Doesn’t that sound cute? Again, I really like the look of the book cover and appreciate getting a free copy.

Lastly, thank you all for commenting on my last post – all of your prayers and good thoughts made a difference and now my mom is resting at home. She has an illness we hope to be able to manage and will now have to take things one day at a time. Thank you again for your support.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2008 4:01 pm

    Glad you’re back! You are one lucky dog — I am so jealous! I just received my copy of Earthly Pleasures today too! Glad to see you’ll be participating in THE SISTER too!

  2. February 22, 2008 4:47 pm

    Oh I’m so jealous! They all sounds great!

  3. February 22, 2008 4:51 pm

    I’m glad your mom is doing better.

    I’m looking forward to reading your reviews of these new books.

  4. February 22, 2008 7:28 pm

    So happy to hear that your mom is back at home. I’m sure that will help her feel better soon.
    Can’t wait to hear about all of these books – some sound fab!

  5. February 22, 2008 8:16 pm

    Glad mom is at home and doing better!

    And what a great selection! New books always makes me happy (until I face the reality of my overwhelming TBR pile). 🙂

  6. February 22, 2008 9:58 pm

    How weird, I’m currently reading Earthly Pleasures, and I’d never even heard of it before I saw it at the bookstore. And now it pops up on your blog.

    I never heard back from Barnes and Noble First Look either, and I also got a copy of The Sister yesterday.

  7. February 22, 2008 10:35 pm

    Glad to hear your mom is better, and all your reading sounds yummy 🙂

  8. February 23, 2008 1:57 am

    Wow! You had all kinds of good book stuff happening today. I knew Julie P. and Trish were doing First Look, but now I find out you and softdrink (hi fizzy!) are too. How cool! THis is my first time doing it and I am really excited. I was never notified by B&N either and only found out I was “in” when The Sister arrived on my porch.

    Glad to hear your mom is ok too. That’s great news. My dad had a quadruple bypass today (very sudden and unexpected) so I spent many hours at the hospital yesterday and today (and more to come this weekend). Nothing like a health scare to bring a family together 🙂

  9. February 23, 2008 3:49 am

    I am glad to hear your mother is doing well also and enjoy those great gifts.

  10. February 23, 2008 11:37 am

    Glad to hear your mom is doing better!

    I had the same experience with the B & N First Look Club. I was expecting some other books, but that showed up, and I had forgotten all about signing up!

  11. Wendy permalink
    February 23, 2008 12:04 pm

    I’m so happy to hear that your mom is home.

    Earthly Pleasures sounds like a fun read, I’ll definitely be adding it to my list!

  12. February 23, 2008 2:06 pm

    Looks like you got some really good titles. I was also surprised to receive The Sister. It looks good – I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it.

Leave a Reply

