Skip to content

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

January 12, 2008

From the book jacket:

The story of The Boy in the Striped Pajamas is very difficult to describe. Usually we give some clues about the book on the jacket, but in this case we think that would spoil the reading of the book. We think it is important that you start to read without knowing what it is about. If you do start to read this book, you will go on a journey with a nine-year-old boy called Bruno. (Though this isn’t a book for nine-year-olds.) And sooner or later you will arrive with Bruno at a fence. Fences like this exist all over the world. We hope you never have to encounter such a fence.

I read The Boy in the Striped Pajamas based on the review recently written by Sassymonkey. At just over 200 pages, the book is a slim novel but packed a powerful punch. What might not be apparent to most young kids who read this for the first time (it is a YA novel) most adults will quickly realize that Bruno’s story revolves around his families involvement with Adolf Hitler in Nazi Germany. I don’t really want to say anymore, since I do believe that The Boy in the Striped Pajamas is best read without any preconceived notions. I will say thought that this book should be on many middle and high school reading lists, since it would be a wonderful tool for a teacher who wants to introduce her class to the difficult and heartbreaking subject of the Holocaust.

Apparently this book has been made into a movie by Miramax, although I can’t seem to find a release date for it anywhere on the internet. You can read more about the author, John Boyne, and his other novels at his official site here.

By the way, I picked up The Boy in the Striped Pajamas from my local library. I figured it probably makes good financial sense to jump on the bandwagon and start borrowing books instead of buying them. Thanks to Carl V. for reminding all of us to use our public library!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2008 1:46 am

    This one is on my wishlist! It’s been there for awhile and I’m looking forward to it…Had no idea it was being made into a movie though! I’ve gotta get to the library and read it soon before the movie comes out. I hate seeing movies before I’ve read the book!

  2. January 13, 2008 9:36 am

    I’m not sure what I think about it being made into a movie. Really not sure.

    Glad you liked it. 🙂

  3. January 13, 2008 12:33 pm

    I definitely should use the library more. Thanks for the reminder. It comes at a good time, too, with the Christmas bills flooding in!

    THis books sounds really interesting. THanks for the review.

  4. January 14, 2008 4:05 pm

    I loved this book. I read it last spring and quickly recommended it to my book club – we had some great discussions about the book. I thought it was really well done and was one of my favorite reads of 2007.

  5. January 15, 2008 9:15 pm

    Hi I just found your blog. Great reviews. I’ll be stopping back again. This one sure sounds interesting. By the way, where did you get the image that’s on your header? I think it’s beautiful.

  6. January 16, 2008 1:04 am

    Don’t forget to check out paperbackswap.com, a cool book swaping website where all you pay is shipping! Love your site, stephanie!

  7. January 19, 2008 10:56 pm

    Wow, this sounds great. Onto my wishlist!

  8. January 22, 2008 1:42 pm

    Wow! This book was amazing. I thought it was really well done. I had a feeling of what the ending would be, but it still came as a shock. I really wish I could discuss this with my book club, but it’s too “short” for them! 😦

    I’ll be reviewing this book on my own blog in the next couple of days.

  9. January 25, 2008 2:45 pm

    I just came across this book on a library’s list of adult book club reads. I love books that can cross age barriers and encourage discussion. Since you recommended it so highly, I will definitely check it out. Thanks!

  10. March 16, 2008 11:27 pm

    I keep noticing this book at the children’s book store where I work, but I’ve never taken the time to read it. Your review is intriguing, so maybe it’s about time I picked it up.

  11. November 2, 2008 7:02 am

    Thank you for your website 🙂
    I made with photoshop backgrounds for youtube, myspace and whatever
    my backgrounds:http://tinyurl.com/6kw9wq
    take care and thank you again!

  12. January 26, 2009 2:04 pm

    This was a truly phenomenal book that I finished in 2 days. I knew of the horrors of this historically dark era but told through Bruno’s eyes just changes the the impact that history has on the reader. This was well written and should not be missed or overlooked, truly one of the most memorable books I have read.

Trackbacks

  1. Review - The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas « Hey Lady! Whatcha Readin’?
  2. Review: The Boy in the Striped Pajamas « Book Addiction

Leave a Reply

