Skip to content

Cupcakes, books & movies

August 19, 2009

It’s been a week and a half since my (final) surgery and I am feeling great! Yesterday I went into NYC to see my doctor for my first follow up visit. Afterwards I headed over to Book Club Girl’s office and we had lunch together. It was so nice to see Jennifer again (last time was when I sat on a panel with her at Book Expo America). We chatted about books (of course) our kids and the 2010 BEA. Afterwards I stopped by Crumbs to pick up some of these yummy delights for my neighbor, who was taking care of my kids for the day. 

Crumbs Bake Shop

While on the train ride to the city I started Her Fearful Symmetry, the highly anticipated second novel by Audrey Niffenegger (I received an ARC of it in the mail on Monday). I’m about one hundred pages in and so far enjoying this creepy story.

Audrey Niffenegger

Speaking of Niffenegger, some ladies from my neighborhood got together to see The Time Traveler’s Wife at the movies last night. I’ve been eagerly awaiting this film since I found out it was being made into a movie. The movie itself was pretty good, but not nearly as good as the book (isn’t that usually the case)? It might have something to do with the casting of Eric Bana as Henry. I just didn’t think he was the right actor for the role. Also, the visual effects used to make Henry dissapear were a little cheesy. It did though make me want to re-read the book (it’s been quite awhile since I read and thoroughly enjoyed the love story between Henry and Clare).

42 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2009 9:11 am

    Did you like the ending? I didn’t like the way they changed it. My hubby thought I was being silly, but I hate it when they do things like that to my favorite books. I can’t wait to read Her Fearful Symmetry.

    That is one yummy looking cupcake!!!

    • August 19, 2009 9:13 am

      Nope, I didn’t care for the ending. Overall I think the movie was well done, but I think it’s nearly impossible to take an entire novel and condense it into a movie. It just doesn’t work well.

      • August 19, 2009 12:22 pm

        That is very true. I was looking forward to that last little epilogue-ish part and it wasn’t there. It really affected my enjoyment of the movie. I really liked Rachel McAdams as Claire. Eric Bana was okay. At least he had a nice butt. LOL

  2. August 19, 2009 9:15 am

    I think I’ll enjoy the movie since it’s been SOOO LLOOONNNG since I read it – although, this book might be a good choice for my personal challenge to try a re-read. YOU LOOK GREAT btw, and I’m happy all is well. 🙂

  3. August 19, 2009 9:35 am

    I really need to read both of these books. I also need to have one of those cupcakes and I don’t even care for sweets!

  4. August 19, 2009 9:42 am

    That does it! It’s going to be 95 today, but we’re making cupcakes at my house – my children thank you 🙂

  5. August 19, 2009 9:47 am

    I’m glad you liked the movie. I actually thought Eric Bana was perfect for Henry as was Rachel McAdams for Clare. Who would you have picked for Henry?

    I liked the ending because if they would have added how the book ended to the movie, it might have confused people!

    I am going to pre-order her new book.

    Glad you are feeling great!!

    • August 20, 2009 7:24 pm

      Good question Julie. I really have no idea who would have made a good Henry, but Eric Bana just didn’t cut it for me!

  6. August 19, 2009 10:25 am

    I’m so glad to hear that you’re feeling great! Seeing Jennifer again sounds like so much fun to me!

  7. August 19, 2009 10:55 am

    I have TTW on my shelf, yet unread! For crying out loud, I bought the book nearly a year ago. What is wrong with me??? I am NOT going to see the movie, though, until the book is finished. Even if I have to see the movie on Netflix! I’m so glad to hear you are feeling well!

  8. August 19, 2009 11:01 am

    Now I feel like making cupcakes, too! That looks delicious…

  9. August 19, 2009 11:01 am

    I finished HER FEARFUL SYMMETRY the other week. It IS creepy!

    I thought the movie adaptation for TIME TRAVELERS WIFE was okay. FOr what it was, it was a cute sad love story. Not as good as the book, but still ok enough.

  10. August 19, 2009 12:05 pm

    I wish my baby would take a bottle so my husband and I could go on a date some evening to see The Time Traveler’s Wife.

  11. August 19, 2009 12:27 pm

    I haven’t read the book or seen the Time Traveler’s Wife movie. Sounds like you had a good time catching up with Book Club Girl. That cupcake looks delish!

  12. August 19, 2009 12:39 pm

    That cupcake looks GOOD! I’m looking forward to seeing the film very much – but you’re right, it could probably never bee as good as the book!

  13. August 19, 2009 12:52 pm

    You’ve made me very hungry looking at that cupcake!! I *loved* the book of Time Traveler’s Wife but have been holding off on seeing the film… Am looking forward to reading your thoughts on Her Fearful Symmetry :).

  14. August 19, 2009 1:07 pm

    Love the look of the cupcake!

    I also saw The Time Traveler’s Wife, on Friday. I haven’t read the book yet. I enjoyed the movie, and am trying to embrace the concept of time travel more fully. I have a copy of Outlander waiting for my attention.

    Enjoy your reading! (I need to get off the computer and get into the books again. I’ve been slacking off!)

  15. August 19, 2009 1:34 pm

    Glad to hear you’re feeling great! Interesting remarks about Eric Bana. Can’t wait to see for myself! :–)

  16. August 19, 2009 1:42 pm

    That is really good news about your surgery and from the sound of the post you are doing well. I certainly hope and pray that is the case.

    Wonderful cupcake, and I love their store logo.

    I rarely if ever ask for or get ARC’s, which honestly is the way that I want it because I’m terrible about reading it, but it is killing me to not have an ARC of Her Fearful Symmetry. I’ve avoided so many reviews from others who got them and I am aching to read it! I’m so psyched for you and am glad you are enjoying it so much.

    I’m so torn about seeing the movie, and Eric Bana is certainly one of the reasons I haven’t rushed out to see it yet.

  17. August 19, 2009 3:33 pm

    It’s been so long since I’ve read the book, that I don’t think the movie would bother me. I really have to re-read the book.(But I said that about the last harry potter flick and was able to spot all the errors they made…)

  18. August 19, 2009 3:42 pm

    I usually feel like the movie is never as good as the book. I’ve come to just accept that and enjoy the film for what it is. I don’t have too high hopes for this one, but I do want to go see it!

  19. August 19, 2009 4:24 pm

    The cover of HER FEARFUL SYMMETRY looks like it feels AWESOME. I think this title was one of my Friday Finds last week.

  20. August 19, 2009 5:46 pm

    I would like to eat that cupcake.

  21. August 19, 2009 7:32 pm

    I’m so happy to hear you’re feeling great! And that you have a great book to read. 😀

  22. August 19, 2009 8:11 pm

    Glad to hear you’re doing well!
    The cupcake looks yummy! I need to read that book soon! I’ve heard the movie is good but of course the books are always better! 😉

  23. August 19, 2009 9:46 pm

    glad to hear you are feeling good these days.
    ooo, looking forward to getting the new Niffenegger as i did enjoy Time Traveler’s Wife. gotta see the movie soon too.

    btw: i have something for you here…
    http://vvb32reads.blogspot.com/2009/08/lets-be-friends-award.html

  24. August 19, 2009 10:19 pm

    So happy to hear that you’re feeling great!! That cupcake looks heavenly!! I haven’t watched the movie yet but I so want to. Loved the book and can’t wait to read her new one!

  25. Kals permalink
    August 20, 2009 12:23 am

    Good to know you’re feeling great! 🙂 The cupcakes make me hungry ! LOL 🙂

    Here’s an award for you:
    http://atpemberley.blogspot.com/2009/08/lets-be-friends-award.html

  26. August 20, 2009 3:45 pm

    Arrghh! I want to read HER FEARFUL SYMMETRY so much! I need a good creepy read. I have it preordered, but I won’t object if it magically appears on my doorstep 🙂

    The cupcake looks delicious! I’m glad you and Jennifer had a chance to meet up again!

  27. August 20, 2009 7:07 pm

    Good to hear you are enjoying: Her Fearful Symmetry; I’m jealous–looking forward to it.

  28. August 21, 2009 9:11 am

    crumbssssssssssss!!! that place is evil–the cupcakes are huge! there’s one in westfield where my hubby grew up (and where his mom still lives) and the line is always out the door!

    i’m green with envy that you got an arc of AN new book! can’t wait to see how you like it. feel good and enjoy those cupcakes!

  29. August 21, 2009 1:22 pm

    mmmm… that cupcake looks delicious! I am glad you are feeling better and I can’t wait to see The Time Travelors Wife!

  30. justicejenniferreads permalink
    August 21, 2009 4:01 pm

    Those cupcakes look absolutely delicious – I want one!

    I need to read Time Traveler’s Wife so badly – I’m so behind! I ordered it today so I should be able to dig in soon. I really want to read the book before I see the movie.

  31. August 21, 2009 5:42 pm

    It’s been a long time since I read TTTW, so maybe I’d be ok seeing the movie (and not noticing what was changed). I have low expectations for this flick, so who knows, maybe I won’t be disappointed.

    I have to say that in the case of the book being better than the movie, Julie & Julia doesn’t fall into this category. I thought the movie was just as good, if not better than the book. I haven’t read My Life in France (it’s on my list), but I did read Julie & Julie and thought it was very good. BUT, the movie was GREAT! Lots of humor and tenderness. Definitely a Nora Ephron film. If you haven’t seen it, go, go, go!! You’ll love it.

  32. August 22, 2009 4:05 pm

    So glad to hear that your surgery went well and you’re feeling great. Those cupcakes looks soo good as well as meeting up with Book Club Girl Jennifer must have been a treat as well.

    I read TTTW years ago and loved it and am still looking forward to the movie.

  33. August 23, 2009 12:01 pm

    Glad to hear your recovering so well from your surgery.

  34. August 25, 2009 5:22 pm

    That cupcake looks delicious! I am glad you are doing well after your surgery as well.

  35. August 26, 2009 6:18 pm

    Ah, I saw the mention of the surgery. SO, happy to hear it all went well and you are feeling great. That is just wonderful to hear! 🙂

  36. August 28, 2009 4:27 am

    I’m so glad to hear that your final surgery is behind you and that you’re feeling good. 🙂

    I’m not sure what to expect from The Time Traveler’s Wife movie but it’s been ages since I read the book so maybe I won’t notice too much any changes. I’m looking forward to reading Her Fearful Symmetry. Lucky you to get an ARC!

  37. thecrowdedleaf permalink
    August 28, 2009 2:18 pm

    Found your blog when I searched for pictures of the cover of The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen. Scanned through your posts and found this and had to let you know that I think doing nothing but reading Audrey N. with a cupcake sounds like an amazing thing to be doing right now. 🙂 I haven’t read Her Fearful Symmetry yet, so jealous of all the folks that got ARCs! But I am looking forward to it.

    Love your blog, I’ll definitely be adding you to my blogroll. If you want to check mine out it’s http://thecrowdedleaf.wordpress.com/.

    Alayne

  38. August 30, 2009 7:05 pm

    WOO – so glad that this was your final surgery, and that you’re feeling good!!! So exciting!

  39. August 31, 2009 3:14 am

    Find the owner.

Leave a Reply

