Skip to content

You Make My Day (MWAH)!

February 18, 2008

imagemakedayThanks so much to Bookgirl’s Nightstand, SMS Book Reviews, Bookfoolery & Babble and Star Spry for sending me a “You Make My Day” award. It was such a nice surprise! And if that wasn’t enough head swelling goodness, I then received a big smooch from Bookie and Eva! Thanks chickas!

Now it’s time to pass on the love. Here are really great blogs who deserve BOTH awards!

Lesley’s Book Nook– What can I say about Lesley that hasn’t already been said? Her blog is filled with awesome reviews, she gives great advice AND she can cook! Love her!

Stuff Dreams are Made on– Chris is just like the sweetest blogging guy out there – I love the fact that he replies to each and every comment left on his blog. It sure doesn’t hurt that this blog is a great read too!

Booking Mama– Julie P. is pretty new to the book blogging community, but I just loved her recent review of Girls in Trucks. I’m also like the fact that we seem to have the same interests – reading, cooking, scrapbooking and of course being stay-at-home moms!

All Things New– Joannah was one of the few bloggers to follow me over from my adoption blogging days to my book blog. She writes a lot about her life as a teacher, being a newly wed and also her hopes and dreams of becoming a mother.

Books on the Brain– Lisa has only been blogging since late last year, but all ready her blog is jam packed full of reviews and tidbits of her life as a mother, wife and book club babe. Plus I swear she must be a long lost sister of mine – we seem to like the exact same books!

The Little Bird Book Review– I stumbled upon this blog a few weeks ago. The author is a compulsive reader who writes really great reviews on her book blog, just not nearly often enough for my taste. Need more reviews!

Trish’s Reading Nook– There are lots and lots of reviews on this site – it’s a great place to stop by when you want to add more books to your TBR pile!

Tiny Little Reading Room– You just got to love a blogger who readily admits that she has “gotten herself in a few too many reading challenges this year.”

Ruby is Coming– Another non-book blogger, Kim writes about politics, her current move to a new city and the long wait for the adoption of her daughter Ruby. Having said that, she is a reader too and once in a while posts a review.

Girls Just Reading– Lots and lots of book reviews all on one blog. It is a great resource if you want to figure out what book to read next.

Of course, this list is only a drop in the bucket of the close to 150 blogs I regularly keep up with. Thanks to all those bloggers out there who help make this stay-at-home mom keep her sanity!

If you want to spread the good vibes, please nominate other bloggers for the MWAH and You Make My Day awards. Go ahead, you know you want to.

On another note, would you guys be so kind to keep my family in your thoughts right now? My mother was put into the hospital on Friday night with some sort of infection. Right now we still don’t know what is wrong and are waiting for the results of her blood cultures and bone marrow biopsy. Needless to say, we are all worried…

26 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2008 10:10 am

    Sorry to hear about your mom. I hope it turns out to be nothing too serious. Healthy thoughts on their way.

  2. February 18, 2008 10:40 am

    I’m sending good thoughts your way; bone marrow biopsies are so painful. I hope your mother is back to her old self soon! 🙂

  3. February 18, 2008 10:47 am

    Actually Eva, the biopsy was pain free! My mom said the doctor really took her time to make sure that she was comfortable throughout the whole procedure.

  4. February 18, 2008 11:51 am

    Your family (and especially your mom) are all in my thoughts and prayers. Thanks so much for the mention. You did make my day!

  5. Wendy permalink
    February 18, 2008 12:11 pm

    Sending good thoughts and prayers your Mom’s way. Hope she is feeling better very soon.

  6. February 18, 2008 12:28 pm

    First of all, I will include your mother in my prayers today.

    Second, thank you for the mention in today’s post. You are such a sweetie! And I’m excited to check out some of those book blogs. I’m currently reading The Virgin’s Lover, by P. Gregory. You really got me hooked on her books.

    🙂

  7. February 18, 2008 1:18 pm

    Definitely keeping your mother in my prayers. I hope everything is A-OK.

  8. February 18, 2008 2:16 pm

    I’ll keep your mother in my prayers Stephanie! I hope everything turns out ok. Thanks so much for passing the award on to me with those kind words 🙂 And I definitely feel Tiny Little Reading Room’s pain! I’m in WAY too many challenges as well. I’ve finally learned to just stop signing up for them though :p

  9. February 18, 2008 2:27 pm

    Okay thanks for the cool book sites. Like I don’t have enough to do that you need to lure me in with books.

    Congratulations on the award. For someone who didn’t think they would have enough time to blog you obviously did a nice job.

    I put a nice song on my blog for mom. I am going to try to give a picture of it to the doctor who has to see Vanessa about traveling. He goes all over the world and sees all kinds of weird crap. I am hoping he is in next week. Vanessa is going to East Timor on June 16 the connecting with Surf the Nations in Bali on July 2. The East Timor trip is out of my church so my pastor has done this every year. Picked 12 young adults to go to East Timor and then connect with the Bali missionaries.

  10. February 18, 2008 2:48 pm

    Best wishes for your mother!

  11. February 18, 2008 6:15 pm

    Oh, I’m sorry to hear about your mother. Very disconcerting and unsettling.

    Big hugs for you and your family, and thoughts and prayers coming your way. Keep us posted.

  12. February 18, 2008 6:18 pm

    Thank you for the kind words and awards, Stephanie, but most importantly, yes, your mom (and you & your family) will be in my thoughts. I know how scary the unknown can be – been there a few times with my brothers. Try not to worry too much. Easier said than done, I know. Hang in there, get lots of hugs from your girls, and know your friends are thinking of you.

  13. February 18, 2008 7:11 pm

    I too will keep your family in my thoughts. I hope that everything turns out okay. On another note, those awards are a great idea!

  14. February 18, 2008 9:18 pm

    Sending positive healthy vibes out to your mom. I’ll be thinking of you and your family at this uncertain time.

    Thanks for the mention and for the cool awards! This is a first for me.. very exciting!

  15. February 18, 2008 9:36 pm

    I hope that your mom’s tests turn out ok. Hopefully it’ll be something that a heavy dose of anti-biotics can handle.

    Thanks for the shout out for our site again!!

  16. February 19, 2008 2:49 am

    I’m sending good thoughts your way, Stephanie. Hope your mother is well and that she will return home soon!

  17. February 19, 2008 6:32 pm

    Congratulations on your well deserved award! And thanks for recommending lots of new book bloggers for me to go off and meet 🙂

    I’ll keep you and your mom in my thoughts~ hope all is well.

  18. February 19, 2008 7:08 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about your mom being in the hospital. Sending lots of good vibes her way and praying all will be well! Hugs to you.

  19. February 19, 2008 7:08 pm

    Keeping your mom and family in my thoughts.

  20. February 20, 2008 12:18 am

    Oh wow, I’ll keep your mom and your family in my prayers. xo.

  21. February 20, 2008 10:41 am

    Best wishes for you and your mom—I’ll be thinking of you.

  22. Paulette permalink
    February 20, 2008 1:24 pm

    Hi Stephanie

    Because you are such a reading buff and I am not I was hoping you may beadle to give me some help. I am taking a Human Growth and Development class for my masters and I have to read a book on children’s psychology and would love it to be related to adoption. If you have any suggestions I would love to know. You can email me or stop by and leave a comment on Love you Forever. Love watching your family grow.

  23. February 21, 2008 12:54 am

    Definitely I’ll keep your mother in my prayers. Hope it’s nothing major.

  24. February 21, 2008 6:47 pm

    What a treat to come by here and see my name! I had no idea. 🙂

    Best wishes to you and your family. Hope your mother has a speedy recovery.

  25. February 21, 2008 11:43 pm

    Aw, thanks!! Seeing your comments always makes my day and your blog is a super one.

    I hope things are better with your mom, I’m thinking of you.

  26. May 31, 2010 9:34 pm

    I do not believe I’ve seen this described in such an informative way before. You actually have clarified this for me. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

