Skip to content

Weekly Geeks & BBAW

August 28, 2008

It’s time for another Weekly Geek! This week Dewey has asked that we host a book photo tour. You can take a photo of your personal bookshelves, pictures of your book club or share with everyone your favorite place to read. Since my bookshelves are a bit dusty and my book club isn’t meeting for another month, I figured I would show you one of my favorite places to read. The weather here in the North East has been delightful the last few days, so I’ve been squeezing in some reading time on my back deck. As you can see below, I’m one hundred pages into Keeping the House by Ellen Baker. You can read a synopsis about the book on the author’s website. So far I’ve found it to be a really lovely read.

stuff 034

On another note, the Book Blogger Appreciation Week Award nominations are now open. Haven’t heard about BBAW? You can check out all the details here. If you would like to nominate your favorite blogs for an award, send an e-mail to BbawawardsATgmailDOTcom with your choices. Please note that you DO NOT have to have a blog to make a nomination.  Nominations will close on August 31st.

And the categories for the Book Blogger Appreciation Week Awards 2008 are:

Best General Book Blog
Best Kidlit Blog
Best Christian/Inspirational Fiction Blog
Best Literary Fiction Blog
Best Book Club Blog
Best Romance Blog
Best Thrillers/Mystery/Suspense Blog
Best Non-fiction Blog
Best Young Adult Lit Blog
Best Book/Publishing Industry Blog
Best Challenge Host
Best Community Builder
Best Cookbook Blog
Best History/Historical Fiction Blog
Best Design
Most Chatty
Most Concise
Most Eclectic Taste
Best Name for a Blog
Best Published Author Blog
Best Book published in 2008
Best Meme/Carnival/Event
Most Extravagant Giveaways
Best Book Community site
Most Altruistic Blog
Funniest/Most Humorous Blog
Best Sci-fi/fantasy/horror/spec-fic blog
Best Commenter/commentator

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2008 12:40 pm

    Great idea for a photo tour. LOL I really don’t have a favorite place to read, but I read a lot on transit. LOL next time I will have to make someone take my picture reading on the subway!

  2. August 28, 2008 2:41 pm

    I read Keeping the House for LibraryThing’s Early Reviewers program when it first came out in hardcover. I love the artwork on the paperback version! I remember liking the book okay but having some issues with it.

  3. August 28, 2008 2:47 pm

    It looks very peaceful out there! Mine (if I ever get it done) also includes a deck photo, although lately, my deck is plagued by BEES.

  4. August 28, 2008 3:52 pm

    Serena – I think you should ask someone to take a pic of you on the subway, just make sure they don’t jump off the train with your camera!
    Lesley – I’m actually really enjoying Keeping the House – did you review it?
    Dew – sorry about the bees – luckily, it’s be a relatively bug free summer!

  5. August 29, 2008 5:12 pm

    I picked up Keeping the House recently, so I look forward to your review.

  6. August 30, 2008 12:31 pm

    I read outside too on my lawn swing. Of course the swing is ancient, but comfortable so it is still a favorite place of mine. Although the kids will go out there to read or play their DSLite’s on it and then there is no room for me. How did this happen. Anyway we are lucky enough to have this weather all year around so that makes it cool for reading although it would be fun to cozy up in a chair by a light while it is dark and snowing outside, that I kind of miss.

  7. August 30, 2008 4:28 pm

    I read outside also, especially around 7pm when it just starts cooling off.

Trackbacks

  1. Recent Links Tagged With "publishing" - JabberTags

Leave a comment