Skip to content

Nie Recovery Support

August 28, 2008

I’ve been blogging since January 2006, starting with an adoption blog, then working on a craft blog and finally settling in with my most favorite blog of all, my book blog. I can’t imagine life without my blog and have been blessed with so many wonderful bloggers and people visiting my site. It still gives me a little thrill when I get a comment! I’ve always thought about adding a section on my blog with different charities I like to support, and when I heard about the Nie Recovery, I thought it would be the perfect way to start.

I’ve always felt that support in any way can make a huge difference in someones life. While most of us only know each other in this virtual atmosphere, I am amazed by the outpouring of support I see in various blogs. I feel like bloggers, especially in the book blogging community, are unbelievably generous people. Anyway, the reason for this post is to tell you about the Nie Recovery. Stephanie Nielsen (nickname NieNie) is a blogger, wife and mother. On Saturday, August 16th, Stephanie, along with her husband Christian and his flight instructor Doug Kinnear, were in an airplane accident in Arizona. Doug passed away but Stephanie and Christian remain in critical condition at Maricopa Burn Center in Arizona. Christian has sustained burns on over 30% of his body and Stephanie’s body was burned over 80%.

By clicking on the Nie Recovery site, you can find various ways to donate financially, participate in a silent auction or other fundrasing events or even send an encouraging card to the family. Please consider helping support a fellow blogger during such a terrible time. 

Above photograph of the Stephanie and Christian was borrowed from Stephanie’s blog the NieNie Dialogues.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2008 8:38 pm

    Stephanie–I have known the Nielson’s for four years and I’m so grateful you blogged about them today! They are an awesome family and they need all the support and prayers they can get. Thank you!

  2. August 29, 2008 12:07 pm

    This is so sad. Glad you posted about this family. They seem like nice people and I pray for the recovery of Stephanie and Christian.

Leave a Reply

