Skip to content

RIP III

August 25, 2008

various photos 015Winter is an etching, spring a watercolor, summer an oil painting and autumn a mosaic of them all. – Stanley Horowitz

As September and October approaches, I’m reminded why autumn is truly my most favorite time of the year. There is something wonderful about watching my daughter get excited over a new school year, crunching leaves under my shoes, picking out the perfect pumpkin, eating sweet apples, watching my kids trick-or-treating, sweater wearing, hot coccoa sipping and last but not least, Carl’s RIP Challenge! Yep, a year has gone by since RIP II and we are now about to start with the third installment. Like any good RIP’er, I already picked out what I planned on reading and could hardly wait to share my list with all of you. I’m participating in Peril the First, in which you pick four creepy books to read between September 1st and October 31st, 2008. I hope to read five books this time (one added for good luck) two of which were on my list last year (obviously, I didn’t actually make my goal from last time). So here are my picks for RIP III!

Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Sleep, Pale Sister by Joanne Harris

Nocturnes by John Connolly

The Spiritualist by Megan Chance

Want to join in on the fun? Just stop by Stainless Steel Droppings and comment on this post to sign up!

various photos 018

31 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2008 12:00 pm

    Yay! So glad you are in. You are the second person I see who is wanting to read The Spiritualist. I hadn’t heard of it before today but it sure looks interesting. I’ll be awaiting reviews!

  2. August 25, 2008 12:44 pm

    wow! It would take me forever to read all of Jonathan Strange!! lol.. and I completely forgot Coraline.. looks like good choices all of them!

  3. August 25, 2008 1:08 pm

    Fall is my favorite time of year, too. I love the crisp, colorful leaves. But where I live it’s still summer- humid heat. Can’t wait till it gets cool.

  4. August 25, 2008 2:46 pm

    I am going to do this as well. You have such a great list! Jonathan Strange will definitely be on my list too since it’s been on my TBR list for too long.

  5. August 25, 2008 3:55 pm

    Oh! Sleep, Pale Sister is my very favorite by Harris! It’s so good and creepy! Good choice!

    The Connolly is very, very good as well. And Coraline! Both good choices as well. I hope you enjoy them!

  6. August 25, 2008 4:31 pm

    Got it fixed, sorry Stephanie. 😉

  7. August 25, 2008 4:35 pm

    Oooh, Coraline… Good choice! 😀

  8. August 25, 2008 7:53 pm

    You’ve some good books there, Stephanie! I enjoyed reading Coraline and can’t wait to read your review on it (and the rest, of course!). 😉

  9. August 25, 2008 8:46 pm

    I love Fall! You’ve got a great list there. I look forward to reading your reviews.

  10. August 25, 2008 9:09 pm

    Jonathan Strange is a great (but long) book. Hope you enjoy it!

  11. August 25, 2008 9:20 pm

    I’m putting my list together! I’m going to try to stick with books I already own, but I’m already seeing lots on other lists that I’d like to add. Sleep, Pale Sister is one I think I need to read!

  12. August 25, 2008 10:00 pm

    Ooooh, you will love slash be totally eeked out by Coraline.

  13. August 26, 2008 2:14 am

    I read three from your list and all are adorable and positively creepy! That’s Coraline (I’m a Neil Gaiman fan so I think I reread Coraline for like four times already), Nocturnes (something I read this month) and Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell (something I read a couple or so years ago). Well, that last one is a chunky book indeed 🙂

    Intrigued at the other two titles though, especially Joanne Harris.

  14. August 26, 2008 2:28 am

    I could not for the life of me finish Johnathan Strange & Mister Norrell… it just dragged on forever in my opinion — going nowhere!

    However, I’ve read other books by Joanne Harris (Chocolat was my first) and I really liked her writing. Highly recommended.

  15. August 26, 2008 11:27 am

    I, too, am looking forward to the change of seasons and all that comes with that. However, going back to work will limit my reading time. I just received a copy of The Red Scarf, by Kate Funivall, and I’m looking forward to getting into it soon. I couldn’t put her other book, The Russian Concubine, down!!!

  16. August 26, 2008 3:31 pm

    Oooo! Good list! I have to agree that fall time is the perfect season. Made even better when you have a good book to read while the soup is simmering in the crockpot.

  17. August 26, 2008 3:39 pm

    Those are some great picks! I am thinking of signing up for this one myself.

  18. Ariel permalink
    August 26, 2008 3:53 pm

    I think I might check out some of those. You should consider Duma Key too. It would be perfect for your list.

  19. August 26, 2008 4:59 pm

    That is a great list! I’ve read Coraline and thought it was just delightful. Happy reading!!

  20. jiggsauce permalink
    August 26, 2008 5:14 pm

    Don’t read Coraline before bed! Buttons for eyes…eek.

  21. August 26, 2008 7:31 pm

    Nocturnes is without doubt one of the best creepy anthologies I’ve ever read. I hope you enjoy it!

  22. August 27, 2008 4:47 pm

    I really want to read Nocturnes. And I’m getting curious about The Spiritualist just from seeing it on so many lists. I hope you enjoy all your picks!

  23. rantsandreads permalink
    August 28, 2008 2:19 pm

    I’m curious to read your review of Jonathon Strange and Mr. Norell. I see it at my library everyday, but its such a thick book, I’m hesitant to pick it up.

    I hope you like Coraline. From what I’ve heard Neil Gaiman say, adults are more freaked out by the books than the kids that its aimed for.

  24. August 28, 2008 2:43 pm

    Oooh, great choices! I read Sleep Pale Sister for the first RIP Challenge and really liked it, and I just read Coraline a few weeks ago – another great read. I have JS & MN on my list of possibilities, too, but I swear that book is like my literary white whale – I keep putting it on challenge lists and then not reading it.

  25. J.S. Peyton permalink
    August 29, 2008 7:45 pm

    I’m going to second all those who say Nocturnes is great! I read this one for last year’s RIP challenge and thoroughly enjoyed it! Nice pool you have there!
    And fall is, without a doubt, the best time of year. =)

  26. August 30, 2008 11:16 am

    I’m really looking forward to the coming of autumn too. I wish it would hurry up!
    I’ve read the first 3 in your pile but Jonathan Strange is my favourite of them. Happy Fall Reading!

  27. September 1, 2008 5:02 am

    Great list of books. Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell is an absolute favourite of mine.

    I’m also (re)reading Coraline for the challenge.

    After reading The Book of Lost Things last year I’m looking forward to trying some of John Connolly’s other books in the near future, so I will be interested to see what you have to say about Nocturnes.

    Look forward to your reviews!!

  28. September 1, 2008 4:49 pm

    Jonathan Strange is one of my reward books for completing RIP III (though I’ll save it for RIP IV). Am thinking of adding on a Gaiman book after seeing him on so many lists! Looking forward to your reviews of the other books…

Trackbacks

  1. Stainless Steel Droppings » Blog Archive » Something R.I.P.ing This Way Comes…for a third time.
  2. Beyond Books » RIP III - Scaring my way through my first challenge!
  3. Coraline « Stephanie’s Written Word

Leave a Reply

