Skip to content

2 great movies and some books!

February 28, 2009

First things first – I’m back on the reading wagon. With only ONE MORE chemo treatment to go and no more nausea, I’ve been able to pick up a couple books the last two weeks. It is so nice to be back in the reading groove again. I didn’t realized how much I really missed it until I picked up a book again! Thanks have to go to my Dad, who has been pestering me to read again – love ya Dad! Reviews to come soon!

I was also fortunate enough to see two really good movies this past week (and with little kids at home, that is an unusual occurrence)!  First up was Coraline, which I watched with my oldest daughter, her little friend from school and his mother. Visually stunning and full of lovely music, Coraline is a fabulous movie, but a bit too scary (and racy too – did you guys see that trapeze women with the enormous “you know whats” with only a g-string and pasties) for my six year old. But for me, it was well worth the cash spent.

On Thursday night we got a babysitter and saw Slumdog Millionaire. Again, another total winner! Any Director who can make the slums of India seem somehow beautiful is full of talent. And again, just like Coraline, the music was awesome! The actors all fit their parts wonderfully and there wasn’t one slow point in the entire movie. It deserved the Best Picture win and I was so glad to be able to see it in the theater.

 

If you guys are interested in reading about these movies in-depth, check out Carl V.’s reviews. They are well worth reading.

Carl’s review of Coraline

Carl’s review of Slumdog Millionaire

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2009 11:35 am

    I was shocked at that scene in the movie- we took our four-year-old to it! I turned to make an outcry to my husband and he poked and shushed me: “if you don’t make a big deal about it, she won’t notice.” Still, I think it was outrageous that they put that in a film aimed at kids.

  2. February 28, 2009 11:36 am

    Glad you’re at the end of your treatments and you’re feeling better. I loved both of those movies too!

  3. February 28, 2009 3:11 pm

    Have yet to see Coraline but am planning on it soon. Slumdog Millionaire was an amazing movie.
    Glad to hear you are feeling better and enjoying your books again. Can’t wait for the reviews. 🙂

  4. February 28, 2009 4:45 pm

    I am so glad you are feeling better — and back to reading!!!!!!!!!!

  5. February 28, 2009 5:22 pm

    Ohh, I’ve been wanting to see Coraline. It sounds awesome!

    p.s. I tagged you for a meme. No pressure to play along though…only if you want to! 🙂

    http://emsbookshelf.blogspot.com/2009/02/what-makes-me-happy.html

  6. February 28, 2009 9:26 pm

    I am so glad to hear that you are back in the reading groove and that you only have one more treatment to go. Hooray! I hope that everything continues to go well.

    I haven’t clicked over in a while, but looks like you’ve changed the blog a bit…nice and clean looking! 🙂

  7. February 28, 2009 11:26 pm

    I haven’t seen Slumdog Millionaire yet, but I’m glad you liked it! I’m happy to hear you have only one more chemo treatment as well – good news!

  8. sprucehillfarm permalink
    March 1, 2009 2:13 pm

    I love your new look! Only one more to go Yay 🙂

  9. March 1, 2009 11:39 pm

    This is wonderful news. One more treatment! It’s also wonderful that you can enjoy reading again. It’s like visiting a long lost friend, isn’t it?

  10. March 2, 2009 7:40 pm

    One more treatment?! Yay!

    Slumdog looks great – hope to see it in the theater, but probably will see on DVD.

    Our bookclub this month read The Reader & we saw it Friday night – great book & movie. Quite steamy in the beginning.

  11. March 8, 2009 7:29 pm

    Love the new look of the site Stephanie! And I LOVED Slumdog Millionaire. I actually saw it 4 times in the theaters…crazy, but it was just as good every time. Coraline was great too!

  12. March 9, 2009 8:34 am

    I think I’m waaay in the minority here..I saw Slumdog on Saturday. I thought it was good, but I had a hard time with the love story part of it. I sort of got the feel that Latika was looking for protection from her hellish life and instinctively knew that Jamal might be the one to provide it.

    As usual, I went to see a film that the whole darn world loved and I thought…eh…it was okay..(The Piano….wanted to smack the main character upside the head for most of the movie…..Lost in Translation…loathed it…..) Sigh….I guess I’m just missing some gene that allows one to enjoy these films….

    I’m new to your blog, its very good, by the way! I’m glad you’re feeling better!

  13. thatsthebook permalink
    March 23, 2009 10:02 pm

    Two of the best movies to have come out in a while. I think I liked Coraline more than the other but I’m really interested to read Q&A after seeing it.

  14. September 6, 2011 1:32 am

    I disagree with your blog, I just don’t believe all the “truths” are clear. I did have fun reading it, so keep at it!

Leave a comment