Skip to content

Book booty #7 & Weekly Geeks

June 12, 2008

misc 069

I really enjoy historical fiction, so when I got Nefertiti in the mail I just couldn’t wait to jump in. I will be posting my review of this book next week, along with a giveaway, so make sure to stop on by!

Since I showed a picture of one of my kitties yesterday, I figured I would post a picture of the other one. So sitting next to a copy of Dedication, which I received from Simon & Schuster, is cat number two named Dumpling. She is a beautiful cat, but unlike Howard, is not very nice. Kind of like an old antique – pretty to look at, but NO touching! Anyway, Dedication is written by the two women who wrote The Nanny Diaries, which I thoroughly enjoyed. This one sound pretty good too! Anyway, check out what Dedication is all about (and even read an excerpt on the website).

dedication book 015

As I’m wrapping up my Book Booty series (ARGGGH, I’m all outta booty Mateys – sorry, I couldn’t resist) I figured I would include my Weekly Geek post also. This week Is “Photo Week” where we can post photos of anything bookish. For the last few years, my husband has been using one of our bedrooms in our home as an office. It is a nice size room, with a full bathroom attached. Recently we decided to convert this room into a guest bedroom/office and clean it out in the process.

Here is the before picture (keep in mind it also became our dump n’ split room, where we would dump our junk and run out really quick)! Since I’m a mother of two and in my mid-thirties, I thought it was high time that we grew up and got rid of the junk room once and for all!
 

leah's bday & visit from Robert 023

I know, pretty bad, right? After some fresh paint, cleaning up and our new pull out couch, the room has been transformed into a space that I just love.

guest office room 002

OK, so my husband has actually cleaned up his area next to (or on for that matter) his desk, but that is something he will be tackling this weekend. My daughter, the ham that she is, insisted that she be in the picture. With the recessed lights my husband installed, that comfy couch is my new favorite place to READ (see, I told ya I’d get something bookish in there)!

For some more Weekly Geek photos, check out these cool sites!

 

24 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2008 1:38 pm

    Another beautiful kitty cat!

    I really enjoyed the Nanny Diaries so I’ll have to check out that book too.

    That couch does look like a cozy place to read 🙂

  2. June 12, 2008 2:34 pm

    What a lovely room re-do. Very nice!

  3. June 12, 2008 2:42 pm

    I enjoy before & afters. and another cool cat. This also reminds me to go read Nicole’s blog, she just reviewed Nefertiti and I only half read it – going back to make sure I comment. 🙂

  4. June 12, 2008 3:50 pm

    Oh my, that looks so cozy and inviting! Hey, is Joe available to transform our junk room? He does great work. ;0)

    I love the term “dump ‘n split” – so true!

  5. June 12, 2008 4:16 pm

    I’m very envious of that room. Looks like a perfect reading room. Enjoy it!!

  6. boundtobebookish permalink
    June 12, 2008 4:19 pm

    Hi, Stephanie! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I do love my Kindle, but I also buy books, too! :] You know how we bookish people are! I love what you did with your spareoom! A reading space is always so nice to have. Your daughter is darling. Love your blog, and I’ll be back soon.
    Your Bookish Dame, Deb

  7. June 12, 2008 5:58 pm

    I had 2 orange tabbies growing up, and they were both the nicest cats ever! It’s hard to imagine such a nice looking cat not being friendly! I really like the way your office looks–very inviting, yet functional. Do you want to come organize and decorate mine?? 🙂

  8. Kristina permalink
    June 12, 2008 9:23 pm

    I love your new room! It reminds me of watching HGTV. I love before and after pictures of decorating!

  9. June 12, 2008 9:28 pm

    The room looks great! I like your decorating style.

    Hey, so I started selling used books online, and therefore I shop for used books a couple times a week. I’m telling you, it is so hard to just by books for resell when I’m a book junkie. So far, I’ve only picked up 3 or 4 for myself. I think that’s pretty good. But what I’d really be inclined to do is “One for the bookstore, and one for me.” Repeat.

    Must be self-disciplined!

  10. June 12, 2008 10:03 pm

    Laura – It’s funny, but I’ve heard just the opposite about orange cats (or red tabby cats) – everyone I’ve ever heard from thinks that they are nuts!

  11. June 12, 2008 11:02 pm

    What a great transformation of that room! Excellent!

    Your daughter is adorable -as is your kitty 🙂 I assume they’re both readers??

    I can’t wait to read Dedication – looking forward to your review, too.

  12. June 13, 2008 9:43 am

    I love your kitty pictures!

    Your room looks great. Unfortunately our master bedroom is our “dump and split” room because it’s easiest to keep Allison out of there. I HATE IT. I just don’t have time and energy to do anything about it right now. Some day we will clean it up and make it the sanctuary that it should be. Some day, wish I knew when. Sigh.

    Boy that was cheerful! 🙂 Have a great day!

  13. June 13, 2008 10:15 am

    Your guest room looks gorgeous. I love the warm yellow paint. So comfy. Your daughter’s beautiful!

  14. June 13, 2008 3:48 pm

    I recently read Nefertiti and posted a review. It’s very interesting and has great characters!

  15. June 13, 2008 7:21 pm

    I can’t wait to see your review on Nefreti, it looks really good (as far as the cover goes!!).

    Have a great weekend!!!

  16. Wendy permalink
    June 14, 2008 10:36 am

    I love your term “dump and split” room. That totally describes a room in our house as well. I’m thinking we’ll have to grow up and face it this summer! The new room is gorgeous–as is Leah.

    Hope all is well with you and your family!

  17. June 14, 2008 7:45 pm

    Your “new” room is so nice – I love the color you guys used on the walls. And, I think it’s just too cute that your daughter wanted to be in the pic 🙂
    Can’t wait to read your review of Nefertiti!

  18. June 15, 2008 6:46 pm

    Love the room makeover! Especially the rug – so pretty.

  19. June 15, 2008 8:11 pm

    That looks good!

    My goodness your little girl is a doll!

  20. June 15, 2008 11:36 pm

    Stephanie — the room looks great! Maybe I could sneak over and used it to read away from my kids!

  21. June 15, 2008 11:37 pm

    Stephanie — the room looks great! Maybe I could sneak over and use it to read away from my kids!

  22. June 20, 2008 11:24 pm

    I used to have an orange female that was like Dumpling, pretty but not very friendly.
    Nice job on the room!

  23. Rania permalink
    October 1, 2008 11:10 pm

    Whats fictional about Nefertiti?!?!

Trackbacks

  1. Blueprints « Stephanie’s Written Word

Leave a Reply

