Skip to content

Blueprints

September 19, 2008

Just a quick couple of things. Today you can see a guest post I wrote over at ReadingGroupGuides.com. This blog is all about book clubs and I feel so honored to get to write a post about my own club. Please stop by to visit me! In other book blogging news, I’ve been inducted into the Kool Kidz Klub – thanks Chartroose for thinking I’m cool (if she only really knew)! To prove I really am a Kool Kid, you can see my shiny new button on my sidebar.

I recently picked up a copy of Oprah’s Home Magazine, mostly due to the fact that this month’s issue is all about books – storage options, funky bookends, inspiring design books and even a glimpse into Oprah’s home library in California.

Home libraries are something that I have an interest in, not only because I own a lot of books, but also because my husband and I are looking to renovate our home in the near future. You can see some of the designs our architect has come up with below. He is in the final stages of completing the blueprints, which we should have within the month. The plan is to add a larger kitchen onto the back of our house, which you can see in the drawing below. Currently, our kitchen and dining room are in the space where the new dining room is placed, which will make the new dining room twice its original size. The kitchen will be an entirely all new space that will be huge in comparison with the one I currently have. My living room, while still being on the small side, will take on a whole new purpose.

blueprints 010

Here is another view. See where it says living room with the double glass doors into the den/study? Well, that den/study is actually my husband’s home office and guest bedroom (you can see pictures of the newly renovated interior here). By closing off access from the dining room to the living room, I’m left with an almost 12 foot wall along the backside of the room. The room itself is not very big, but can’t you just imagine a large bookshelf all along that wall and a nice comfy chair next to the front window? Maybe a wee side table to place a big cup of coffee on in the early morning and some a nice floor lamp right behind the chair?

blueprints 018

This is what the back of my house will look like with the addition of the kitchen and new deck on the left hand side of the addition.

blueprints 019

I am unsure when we will actually get to break ground with this addition. There is still a lot of stuff we need do before hand and with my recent diagnosis the addition has been put on the back-burner. But one day, I will have my new kitchen (and maybe a little library too)!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2008 7:21 pm

    A new kitchen and a real dining room (we have a living/dining and a breakfast nook — stupid ranch houses) are my dreams. My husband says our house cannot be renovated easily, though, so we’re slowly trying to “fix up” in the hopes of moving. Your new kitchen plan looks wonderful.

  2. September 20, 2008 1:10 am

    I hope you get your new kitchen and library soon! I just hope in a couple of years I’ll be in the position to buy a home. Not that I mind renting, but I’d like to have a space that’s really mine. I want a library/craft room with a window seat for writing. That’s my dream.

  3. tammywiz permalink
    September 20, 2008 10:23 am

    Oooh, it must be exciting seeing your future home layout on paper – makes it seem more real. The flow of your main floor looks wonderful. Can I come up to browse and read in your library when it’s done? 😉

  4. tammywiz permalink
    September 20, 2008 10:39 am

    OK, I’m a stooge, I just posted this comment to you on the BookGroupGuide’s site. Anyhoo, it was meant for you…

    Great guest post. I like the way your group comes up with you book selections.

    I agree with what you posted – being led to read a book that you wouldn’t normally choose can be surprisingly enjoyable and spark some of the most interesting discussions.

  5. September 20, 2008 12:10 pm

    I love looking at blueprints! I would love to have a huge bookcase on one of my walls too. Good luck with the addition. It looks like it will be very nice.

  6. September 21, 2008 1:34 am

    Your plans look great! A wall full of books sounds heavenly. I can totally picture that room.
    Someday I dream of having our own house and a little library where all my books can be freed from their current cramped condition.

  7. September 22, 2008 2:19 pm

    I gave you an award over at my blog! 🙂

  8. September 22, 2008 11:56 pm

    Off subject but thanks for your comment on my blog! I just reviewed a particular book on adoption, “I Wish for You A Beautiful Life” that was amazing.

    i enjoyed hearing from you, so thanks!

  9. September 23, 2008 8:04 am

    Getting the blueprints must be exciting!! (Take your mind off other things).

    Oh, I gave you an award!

  10. September 23, 2008 1:36 pm

    I love when ideas become reality in the form of a blueprint. How exciting! The layout looks really nice and functional.

  11. September 24, 2008 6:00 pm

    So exciting! It will be fun when it turns from a blueprint into the real thing.

  12. Shacole permalink
    April 7, 2009 5:24 pm

    Wow that looks great. Its going to be a work of art. Its very pretty, hope u get the house I no it will be a dream come true.

  13. June 14, 2009 4:30 pm

    I just found your blog-I was searching for blueprints for a kitchen addition. Did you ever get started? I guess I need to read ahead on this blog to find out. I am trying to add about 100 sq feet to my kitchen and hate to hire an architect when I THINK I can do it…haha! Good luck with yours.

  14. October 28, 2010 9:34 pm

    well, there are already Light Emitting Diode base floor lamps these days~-`

  15. September 20, 2011 8:02 pm

    Does your site have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email. I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it develop over time. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

