Skip to content

My secret obsession

April 6, 2008

I have this weird habit. It all started when I was a little girl playing with my favorite toy, Legos. I would build these elaborate houses, with interesting window configurations, pitch roofs and unusual designs. I would then sit down to draw elaborate floor plans, which would include bird eye views of furniture, to scale of course. To say I was obsessed with houses and buildings was an understatement. For a while I even thought about becoming an architect.

Now, instead of building with legos, I change and rearrange houses in my head. I can’t help it – along with counting out change before a cashier hands it to me, once I enter a person’s home and the conversation starts to wane I immediately mentally rearrange their home. It could be as simple as thinking about the placement of the couch or as elaborate as the addition of an interior wall, adding a different window or even an entire level. I watch House Hunters on HGTV and am one of those people you see on the commercial who yell at the TV “pick number 1, number 1!”

This is why I’m totally hooked on this blog, which showcases some incredible homes. My most recent favorite post is this one which is all about unusual bookshelves. Hmmm, I wonder if that will fit anywhere in my house?

So fess up, do you have any strange habits?

23 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2008 10:20 pm

    I have recently become addicted to looking at pictures of what people pack in their lunch boxes. There are three flickr groups: mr. bento, bento boxes, and laptop lunchs that I have been following. I find it soothing to look at the pictures.

  2. April 6, 2008 10:57 pm

    I don’t ‘get’ that bookcase.

    I’m just obsessed with getting pregnant and blogging.

    😉

  3. April 6, 2008 11:28 pm

    I knew there was a reason I liked you and your blog, Stephanie. After reading this post, I realize we must’ve been separated by birth. 😉

    Thanks for linking to my post. Aren’t those bookshelves fun? I would love to have a little “bookshelf hut” like this in my kids’ playroom. It’s exactly what I would’ve wanted when I was their age (and, let’s face it, I’d still love to hide out in there to read!) -Julia

  4. April 7, 2008 8:46 am

    Funny obsession you have. But I get it.

    Can’t think off the top of my head what weird obsessions I have, but everyone has something.

  5. Cat permalink
    April 7, 2008 9:24 am

    That bookcase looks like it should be in a kindergarten or elementary school classroom.

    When I was a kid we had this game for the Comodore 64 (yes, I know!) called Dream House. And I could pick the style of house I wanted and paint the walls and buy furniture and put people and animated animals into the rooms. It was the best game ever. And whenever you clicked to paint a wall, or chair, or whatever it made this cool sort of bell-like-tinkling sound that made me smile.

    when we were looking online to buy a house I went through all the ones outside of our price range, just so I could see the photos of the interior. I totally get your obsession!

  6. April 7, 2008 10:37 am

    Oh, I need to you come work on my house! I have an AWFUL eye for interior decoration.

  7. April 7, 2008 10:55 pm

    I was wondering how you rearranged my house. Any suggestions??

  8. April 8, 2008 8:10 am

    Nicole – actually, I think your house is lovely (and if we ever get going on our addition, I would love to have some of the same elements that are in your kitchen in mine)!

  9. April 8, 2008 4:31 pm

    I’m pretty obsessed with the smell of books, particularly new ones. I’ll pick up books in the bookstore and hold them away from my nose, fanning the pages and smelling that marvelous ink and paper smell. It transports me.

  10. April 9, 2008 9:27 am

    OMG – I covet that bookcase!!! Too cool! My similar obsession is starting creative writing projects in my head, coming up with characters and their quirks, and then jotting down some notes. And then – I do NOTHING with the ideas. Yup. No follow through.

  11. hookedonhouses permalink
    April 9, 2008 10:04 am

    Thanks for linking to my site, Stephanie! Isn’t that “book hut” fun? I’d love to have one in my kids’ playroom.

    I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who rearranges rooms in her head! -Julia 🙂

    P.S. I left a comment here a day or two ago, but since it’s M.I.A., I’m trying again. I say that just in case the other one pops up and it looks like I left two in a row! Ha.

  12. April 9, 2008 12:40 pm

    gee, thanks for the new blog obsession! i was experiencing a dry spell and now i can idle away prime ‘sleep’ time in the middle of the night!! 🙂

  13. May 23, 2013 9:32 pm

    I picked up my pack of 20 cigarettes that I bought the night
    before, got a pair of scissors and cut the pack to shreds.
    Not merely do cigarettes taste bad, they really are
    filthy. So, I had to come to the realization that I had nearly died from a habit I
    had told myself I really enjoyed.

  14. June 5, 2013 1:26 pm

    I used to be suggested this web site via my cousin. I am no longer positive
    whether this put up is written through him as
    no one else know such distinctive about my problem.

    You are wonderful! Thank you!

  15. June 9, 2013 1:20 am

    Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely wonderful. I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like
    what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it
    enjoyable and you still care for to keep it
    smart. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is actually a wonderful web site.

  16. June 11, 2013 8:40 pm

    Amazing blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog jump out.
    Please let me know where you got your design. Kudos

  17. July 1, 2013 10:03 am

    Washing should include the face with the use of a cleanser and the whole body with a body
    wash during shower. In fact, it can help lessen spots by up to
    45% during the first two weeks of use. It’s rich in a number of important nutrients, including calcium, iron and potassium, but it also contains B-group vitamins, which soothe inflammation.

  18. July 20, 2013 9:36 pm

    We all know that vitamins and minerals keep us healthy but how much should one consume on daily basis that
    most of us do not know and therefore, fall into problems.

    Anaerobic exercises uses energy sources that are stored
    in the muscles and is not dependent on oxygen. Up until
    a few years ago, only the people of Southeast Asia knew
    of the miraculous nature of this fruit.

  19. July 25, 2013 9:35 am

    Probiotics are essential for our body because
    they help in synthesizing certain fatty acids and vitamins in the body
    to support a healthy body and strong immune system. They test
    them all, noticing which ones produce the greatest gains,
    the most energy, and provide a healthy alternative to banned substances.
    There are a great many specifically targeted dietary supplements,
    developed to ensure you receive the proper intake of the crucial
    nutrients and vitamins your body needs during dieting.

  20. September 15, 2014 2:07 pm

    I always spent my half an hour to read this web site’s articles
    or reviews all the time along with a mug of coffee.

  21. September 19, 2014 1:33 am

    Hey there excellent website! Does running a blog such as this
    require a great deal of work? I have absolutely no understanding of
    computer programming but I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyway, if you have any ideas or tips for new blog owners please share.

    I understand this is off topic nevertheless I simply
    had to ask. Appreciate it!

Trackbacks

  1. Stainless Steel Droppings » Once Upon an Interior
  2. Julia Has a Lot to Thank You For in April « Hooked on Houses

Leave a comment