Skip to content

The Reading Mother

April 5, 2008

Yesterday I attended a funeral for a friend. She was a wonderful women, wife and mother of four grown boys. At her funeral one of her sons read the following poem, which I found beautiful and thought you guys would enjoy also.

The Reading Mother by Strickland Gillilan

I had a Mother who read to me, sagas of pirates who scoured the sea,

Cutlasses clenched in their yellow teeth, “Blackbirds” stowed in the hold beneath.

I had a Mother who read me lays, of ancient and gallent and golden days;

Stories of Marmion and Ivanhoe, which every boy has a right to know.

I had a Mother who read me tales, of Celert the hound of the hills of Wales,

True to his trust till his tragic death, faithfulness blent with his final breath.

I had a Mother who read me the things, that wholesome life to the boy heart brings

Stories that stir with an upward touch, oh, that each mother of boys were such.

You may have tangible wealth untold; caskets of jewels and coffers of gold.

Richer than I you can never be – I had a Mother who read to me.

 

Photo from googleimages

 

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2008 9:36 am

    Oh, what a beautiful poem…..made me cry.

    Sorry about the loss of your friend.

  2. April 5, 2008 10:44 am

    Beautiful poem and a wonderful tribute to their mother.

  3. April 5, 2008 5:13 pm

    Gorgeous poem, and what a wonderful tribute.

  4. April 5, 2008 5:23 pm

    Lovely, lovely poem. Thank you for posting it for us.

    I’m so sorry to hear about the passing of your friend.

    Take care.

  5. April 5, 2008 8:08 pm

    That is a beautiful poem. My condolences.

  6. April 5, 2008 9:15 pm

    Wow-I teared up there: what a great poem. I’m sorry for your loss.

  7. April 5, 2008 10:23 pm

    Sweet poem and sweet picture to go with it.

  8. April 6, 2008 12:03 pm

    Thanks for sharing Stephanie. I have such fond memories of my parents reading to me when I was little. I can’t wait till I have little ones of my own to pass down the joy.

  9. April 6, 2008 3:34 pm

    Lovely poem. So sorry to hear of the death of your friend. Peace to you and her family

  10. April 11, 2008 9:12 pm

    Wonderful poem, my reading mother died on March 2. Thank you so much!
    I’m a new visitor but will be back often!

  11. debbie mitchell permalink
    December 9, 2011 11:51 am

    I know this poem well. My mother also read to me. Because of her, I became a reading teacher. My mother will be 90 today. Her eyes are not good enough to read. Now, we read to her. I am so sorry for your loss. Peace and comfort to your friend.

Trackbacks

  1. The Long-Awaited Wild Swans Post « A Striped Armchair

Leave a Reply

