Skip to content

Everything Austen X Two (our first mini-challenge)!

July 3, 2009

The lovely Laurel Ann from Austenprose has come up with a fabulous idea for all of us Everything Austen participants – check out Everything Austen X Two! She is raising the ante of my proposed six Austen inspired books or movies for the Everything Austen Challenge to twelve (more like a maxi-challenge than mini-challenge)! That’s two Austen inspired books or movies a month. Plus, crafty endeavors can be included on your list (just see the gorgeous stitching project Mary Kathryn is working on below). 

jaa

Feel like taking this challenge to another level? If so, here is how  you do it!

If you are already signed up with the Mr. Linky on this post but have decided to increase your challenge list to twelve items, there is no need to re-sign up on my blog – just stop by Austenprose and leave a comment on this post to let her know you are participating!

Otherwise, if you are just now deciding to sign up, follow the protocol for  signing up on this post with a list of either the initial six Austen-inspired items or twelve! Then just stop by Austenprose to let Laurel Ann know that you are in for doubling your list.

Please note that you are under no obligation to increase your challenge list – if you are comfortable with six items for the next six months, then just keep your list as it is. If you do feel like taking on more items, just know that you will be in the running for a copy of a book or movie of your choice from the Austenprose reading/viewing list!

everythingausten1Remember, the deadline to sign up for Everything Austen (regardless of whether you will be reading/watching/crafting six or twelve Austen-inspired things) is July 15th! I will announce our first challenge winner (a DVD of Lost in Austen) on that day!

Also remember that you can now find on the top of my blog a tab entitled Everything Austen. Make sure that each time you write a post about the Everything Austen challenge on your blog (other than your original list) to stop back here and click on the Everything Austen tab and use that Mr. Linky to link to your posts, that way everyone can follow along with your progress!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2009 1:24 pm

    I am in. I will add the other six items in my list later on. I might put up a post on my blog by tomorrow..

  2. July 3, 2009 2:44 pm

    I’m in too! How could I resist especially when I’ve been thinking about all the other Austen things I’d like to do! 🙂 I’m off to update my list.

  3. July 3, 2009 2:59 pm

    Deb~I’m not surprised to see you doing this, too!
    Stephanie~count me in on the x2. I already listed more than 12 on my intro post :).

  4. July 3, 2009 6:14 pm

    I’m in too. I actually updated my challenge list with more Austen goodness before seeing this.

  5. July 3, 2009 6:47 pm

    I love the cross stitch! So pretty.

  6. July 3, 2009 8:00 pm

    The crafty side is calling to me!! I feel some scrapbook pages coming on!

  7. July 3, 2009 9:30 pm

    Thanks Stephanie for letting me ride along on your coatails! Such a great idea to begin. Hope everyone has fun reading, viewing and crafting.

    Cheers, Laurel Ann

  8. July 3, 2009 10:36 pm

    I’ve joined in too!

    I’m not sure how I’m going to handle all the work and projects and this challenge, but I just couldn’t resist an opportunity for more Austen. =)

  9. sdechantal permalink
    July 3, 2009 11:01 pm

    yipes 12? I will have to think about that…. I am still in an Austen free Zone at this point having never watched her or read her. I am in on the original challenge.

    One Persons Journey Through a World of Books

  10. July 4, 2009 6:27 am

    I’m making my 6 projects list at this moment.
    When I’m ready and have blogged my 6 projects, I’ll post to Mr. Linky.
    Thanks for all the fun!
    :o)

  11. July 4, 2009 6:28 am

    Oops about the smiley. 😀

  12. redpipes permalink
    July 5, 2009 10:31 am

    I’m so excited to be taking the challenge! I stumbled upon this blog and challenge after reading Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict. I was left with so many questions that I decided to see what others were saying.

  13. July 5, 2009 11:50 am

    What a great idea… I already know what my additional six will be. 🙂

  14. July 5, 2009 6:08 pm

    I’ve decided to join in on the initial challenge.

    We are going to Jane Austen country in a couple of weeks and will be making visits to some sites 🙂 Woo hoo, cann’t wait.

    My daughter is a huge JA fan so we have books and DVD’s. We are interested in doing a sampler.

    I’ve put the link up at my stitching site http://stitchacrosstheborder.blogspot.com and will do a blog post tomorrow with my 6 items.

  15. July 6, 2009 3:14 am

    I’m in. I already blogged about the challenge, but not sure I actually signed up. But I have my six and will add 6 more tomorrrow. And I will sign up with Austenprose.

  16. July 6, 2009 3:22 am

    Oops, forgot to post the link with by blog post about my picks. I will edit it tomorrow to add the six others.
    http://bookmagic418.blogspot.com/2009/06/everything-austen-challenge.html#links
    I hope I signed up correctly!

  17. July 6, 2009 3:37 am

    Okay, I did sign up before but got the link wrong. Am now on Mr Linky with correct link to my blog post. Sorry about all the comments!!

  18. July 6, 2009 11:52 am

    I know I’m still going back and forth on whether to join but you are making it very hard for me to resist! haha.. Love the idea of crafting Austen too.

  19. crankymommy2 permalink
    July 6, 2009 12:56 pm

    Okay since there is already 12 on my list AND I must watch S & S and Emma I will be doing this challenge too. Thanks for the movie ideas!

  20. July 7, 2009 2:32 pm

    I’ll probably do more than 6, but 12 is just too much pressure. Maybe if I had more time.

  21. Nikki permalink
    July 7, 2009 3:00 pm

    I’m so in! I’ve already watched several movies and read Persuasion this month…does it still count?

  22. July 11, 2009 12:11 pm

    Count me in,,,I am making my list in my head as I type this…thanks for the challenge…

  23. July 11, 2009 5:56 pm

    I just realized that there are five actors in S&S that are in HP movies, not just four! Elinor and Marianne’s mother Mrs. Dashwood, the actress plays Madam Pomphrey in the movies! Just an update!

  24. jennifermorrill permalink
    July 13, 2009 11:52 am

    Okay Okay I am doing it. I had alread upped my list to 9, so I am going to add the movies, Persuasion, Mansfield Park, and Northanger Abbey since I have never seen any of them. I’m also going to read Mr. Darcy Vampyre, as my jut in case I can’t find one of the other books or movies.

  25. July 22, 2009 5:17 pm

    This is so tempting! Okay, I’ll do it.
    http://emilymnk.livejournal.com/24019.html

Leave a comment