Skip to content

Creative use of old books

July 2, 2009

Have you guys seen this great Etsy crafter who calls herself Spoonful of Chocolate? She makes beautiful handbags from recycled books. Check out what she created with a two different copies of Pride and Prejudice!

Pride and Prejudice- Jane Austen Book Handbag- Retro/Funky green

Pride and Prejudice- Jane Austen Book Handbag- Retro/Funky green

Or another version of Jane Austen’s classic (I know you Everything Austen participants will appreciate it).

Jane Austen Pride and Prejudice Book Handbag- Maroon and Gold

Jane Austen Pride and Prejudice Book Handbag- Maroon and Gold

Arent’ they lovely? According to Spoonful of Chocolate no pages were harmed during the purse making process. She takes gently used books (and only uses the covers) then takes the sleeve and wrap it back on to the fully intact book and donates that to a Refugee Center in Arizona.

She has many different designs, include the ones below from Alice in Wonderland and The Wizard of Oz.

DO NOT BUY- Retro Alice in Wonderland Book Handbag- Beige and Pink

The Wizard of Oz Book Handbag- Purple and Yellow
 To see more designs, check out her Etsy shop here.

35 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2009 1:30 pm

    oh my gosh! Those are adorable!

  2. July 2, 2009 1:55 pm

    Thanks for sharing these with us.

  3. July 2, 2009 1:57 pm

    Super cute!

  4. July 2, 2009 2:08 pm

    So SO cute. And useful! Also very whimsical. Must get one for myself…

  5. July 2, 2009 2:17 pm

    Oh my god. Love. Them. And quite affordable, too, considering what you can spend these days for a unique handbag.

  6. July 2, 2009 3:29 pm

    Oh my, these are awesome! I love them and would love to have one too.

  7. July 2, 2009 3:57 pm

    I’ve not seen these precisely, but the gift shop at the downtown branch of the Seattle Library sells something similar.

    Of these pics, the Jane Austen one is my fave–I love the colors, not to mention the author….hmm…an EverythingAusten prize perhaps?

  8. July 2, 2009 4:14 pm

    so cool. interesting way to recycle books.

  9. July 2, 2009 6:33 pm

    Wooow, that is really creative!!!!!!
    I’m going to try to make my own, I think it a very nice idea, wooow, really nice!!
    I’m shocked! jajaja, really goood, Thanks for posting it!

  10. July 2, 2009 7:57 pm

    How creative! I absolutely *love* these!! Thanks for sharing this :).

  11. July 2, 2009 8:27 pm

    That is so cool….I’m going to try to make my own!!

  12. July 2, 2009 9:22 pm

    Wow they are so awesome!!!!!!! I may have to get me one 🙂

  13. July 2, 2009 10:01 pm

    Those are two cute! I wish I were that creative.

  14. July 2, 2009 10:01 pm

    I wish there was an edit button on comments…I meant too say too cute, not two cute.

  15. July 2, 2009 10:41 pm

    Ooooooh! I love these. Hmmmm. . . what book would I have as my purse?

  16. July 2, 2009 11:34 pm

    How fun!

  17. July 3, 2009 12:05 am

    Wow. Fantastic!

  18. July 3, 2009 12:48 am

    These are gorgeous!

  19. July 3, 2009 12:58 am

    Oh! Those are lovely! I feel less guilty about these book crafts since the actual book is going to be donated!

  20. July 3, 2009 2:44 am

    Ooh…they’re lovely!!!

  21. July 3, 2009 5:25 am

    Oh wow! These are wonderful! I’d so love to have them.

    Thanks so much for sharing! =)

  22. Susi permalink
    July 3, 2009 7:20 am

    This is so cool – I want one!

  23. July 3, 2009 1:51 pm

    Such pretty things. What a great idea

  24. July 3, 2009 11:17 pm

    Wow! These are really well done – it’s such a good idea, but the execution is remarkable!

  25. July 3, 2009 11:50 pm

    Beautiful!
    I especially love the dark red one… I wish I had the creativity and ability to make myself one!

  26. sdechantal permalink
    July 4, 2009 12:02 am

    oh wow…. so many ideas…..

  27. July 4, 2009 10:24 am

    These are awesome!

    I will be buying one…if there are any left!

  28. July 4, 2009 10:25 am

    I don’t understand how someone can remove the entire cover like that and not be hurting the book- I’ll have to go over to her etsy shop and see how she explains it- but they do look gorgeous! Wow.

  29. July 5, 2009 11:16 am

    I don’t know if it’s by the same person, but I have a book purse made out of Pride & Prejudice 🙂 It’s very summery. I really like it!

    I would definitely take part in your challenge for Jane Austen except that I think I’ve covered most of the ground for that author (except for all the retellings and sequels, that is), so I will just enjoy reading everyone else’s posts about it. Great idea!

  30. July 6, 2009 11:49 am

    I haven’t seen these seller’s purses before but I have seen some similar and I think they are just great. I’ve been wanting one forever 🙂 I keep thinking maybe I could try to make one but given that I don’t really sew other than book pages that may be a problem! haha…

  31. July 7, 2009 8:31 am

    Oh my GOD, those are fantastic! I especially love the Alice in Wonderland one. Off to look at her shop.. (thanks for the headsup!)

  32. July 7, 2009 2:33 pm

    These are amazing. I want one and can think of a couple of good books for gifts! I’m checking it out!

  33. July 8, 2009 6:22 pm

    Wow! Thanks for posting about this! I think I know what a few friends are getting for Christmas this year.

  34. July 13, 2009 2:48 pm

    I am absolutely in love with these! I can’t wait to come across the perfect one for me!

  35. Priscilla Gonalez permalink
    September 13, 2010 4:29 pm

    I was trying to find the Pride and Prejudice bag but can’t. Can you please send me the link so I may buy it.

Leave a Reply

