Skip to content

The Art of Mending

June 14, 2007

I had never read an Elizabeth Berg novel (although I have often browsed through them at the bookstore) so when I received The Art of Mending in the mail via BookMooch, I dived right in.

In an interview in the back of the mass market The Art of Mendingpaperback, the interviewer states that readers thought none of the characters are fully likable and that this book could be described as the most difficult of her novels to read. The narrator Laura, a middle aged quilt designer, has to confront her family after her sister comes out with some allegations of abuse from her childhood.

I can understand her opinion that the book could be a bit difficult to read, due to the subject matter (alleged abuse) but instead of being a downer, I found it to be more about forgiveness, hope and redemption. I found the characters to be realistic (I mean, who has a family full of truly likable people anyway)? The story moved along briskly and I was immediately drawn into it. As The Washington Post book reviewer wrote “Books, like quilts – like families – have their stories to tell about love, conflict and loss, and the ways the present is shaped by the past.”

After reading The Art of Mending, I look forward to reading another one of Ms. Berg’s novels.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2007 3:23 pm

    I used to read Berg, but once I read Until the Real Thing Comes Along I found I just couldn’t read her ever again. I was so disappointed in that book, probably the most disappointed I have ever been in a book. Perhaps it’s time to give her another try though.

  2. June 19, 2007 10:02 am

    I like your impression of the book “…I found it to be more about forgiveness, hope and redemption…”

Leave a comment