Skip to content

Spring Reading Thing Wrap-up

June 19, 2007

I started the Spring Reading Thing challenge with a lofty goal (for me anyway) – read eleven books from a pre-determined list by the start of summer. I started off with a bang, reading three books right off the bat (two of the books came on vacation to Jamaica with me). The following books I finished – the underlined ones link to the review that I wrote:

The Kitchen Boy
A Great and Terrible Beauty
Julie & Julia – My Year of Cooking Dangerously
The Year of Magical Thinking

I think I might have the same problem that Iliana mentioned in a recent post. I get distracted by all the new books in my mailbox from Bookmooch that it is hard to stick with the list. So in addition to the four books that I did finish, I also read Nineteen Minutes, Water for Elephants, My Year of Meats and Molokai, all of which were not on my list.

With the exception of Jodi Picoult’s Nineteen Minutes, all the other books I read were by authors I never read before. My favorites by far were The Kitchen Boy, Water for Elephants, Moloka’i and Julie & Julia. A Great and Terrible Beauty was entertaining, but I found myself a little bored through the middle of it. The Year of Magical Thinking and Ninteen Minutes both were at the bottom of my list.

All in all, it was fun to give myself a little kick in the reading butt and hopefully I will be able to join in on the Fall challenge. That is off course if I still have the time and energy to read after taking care of two kids!!

Remember to stop on by this coming Monday, June 25th to discuss The Mermaids Singing.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2007 2:00 pm

    I just can’t stick with a reading schedule at all! Ah well, it’s fun to be a reader at whim 🙂

    By the way, I finished The Mermaids Singing last week. Can’t wait to discuss!

  2. June 21, 2007 7:24 am

    I read quite a few not on my list. You have some you read that look quite interesting–I may have to read them for fall.

    ~Blessings~

  3. June 21, 2007 8:46 am

    I’m easily distracted too — by any books I happen to pick up at the library or bookstore. Hope to see you again for the fall challenge!

  4. Ellen permalink
    June 21, 2007 2:36 pm

    Yikes…there are sooo many books out there I have never heard of. blessings and hope your kids don’t zap you of all your reading energy!

  5. June 21, 2007 3:05 pm

    I keep seeing Jodi Picoult’s name in several lists — I am going to have to read one of her books and see what she’s all about.

Trackbacks

  1. Spring Reading Thing — Time to Wrap it Up! | Callapidder Days

Leave a Reply

