Skip to content

Our first challenge winners (& Sea Monsters)!

July 15, 2009

Thanks to the wonderfully enthusiastic  blog posts and tweets about my Everything Austen challenge, we now have over 200 people participating!! 

From now until the end of the challenge, you can click on the green Everything Austen tab at the top of my blog to link to your reviews or leave comments about your progress. There is also a complete list of participants there so you can see who else has made the commitment to Everything Austen. Make sure to check back here often as I will be posting about Everything Austen often!

Now for the winners of my first two giveaways!

The winners of the three copies of Ms. Taken Identity by Dan Begley are:

Mike B. @ Liquid Thoughts

BeastMomma   

Lisa of Lit & Life

And the grand prize winner of the DVD Lost in Austen is:

Vicky of Reading and Stitching

Congrats to all the winners! Make sure to e-mail me at wordblog(at)optonline(dot)net with your addresses and I will make sure to get those prizes out to you very soon! Don’t fret – if you didn’t win this time, there will be plenty more chances through the challenge as publishers and authors have been very generous in their contributions for Everything Austen!

Also, check out Debbie’s World of Books as she is currently hosting a giveaway of Mr. Darcy, Vampyre!

Sea Monsters?

Yes, Quirk Publishing has done it again – taken a Jane Austen classic and made it, well, quirky.

From the Quirk website (publishers of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies): 

Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters expands the original text of the beloved Jane Austen novel with all-new scenes of giant lobsters, rampaging octopi, two-headed sea serpents, and other biological monstrosities. As our story opens, the Dashwood sisters are evicted from their childhood home and sent to live on a mysterious island full of savage creatures and dark secrets. While sensible Elinor falls in love with Edward Ferrars, her romantic sister Marianne is courted by both the handsome Willoughby and the hideous man-monster Colonel Brandon. Can the Dashwood sisters triumph over meddlesome matriarchs and unscrupulous rogues to find true love? Or will they fall prey to the tentacles that are forever snapping at their heels?  This masterful portrait of Regency England blends Jane Austen’s biting social commentary with ultraviolent depictions of sea monsters biting. It’s survival of the fittest-and only the swiftest swimmers will find true love!

For those of you who can’t wait for the September 15th release date, take a quick peek at the book trailer here!

31 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2009 3:07 pm

    Congrats to all the winners! And the Sea Monsters book looks… interesting? 🙂 hehe

    • July 15, 2009 3:14 pm

      I know, sea monsters might be pushing it, but I would still want to read it because the premise is just too funny!

  2. July 15, 2009 3:08 pm

    I just wrote about the Sea Monsters on my blog today too! What exciting news. Are you going to read it for the challenge?

    • July 15, 2009 3:13 pm

      I might just read it, since the book trailer looks so funny!

      • July 15, 2009 3:22 pm

        I hadn’t planned to read the Zombie one or this one but I HAVE to after reading all the hilarious reviews. My list is getting longer by the minute!

  3. janicu permalink
    July 15, 2009 3:10 pm

    Congrats to the winners! Coincidentally, I bought myself the Lost in Austen DVD a couple of nights ago (already seen it, but wanted a copy!)

    😉

    • July 15, 2009 3:14 pm

      I too own a copy of Lost in Austen (got it for my birthday) and can’t wait to watch it!!

  4. July 15, 2009 3:21 pm

    Hahah! what an entertaining book trailer!! Hahahha!!

  5. July 15, 2009 3:35 pm

    Congratulations to the winners. I have a feeling the Sea Monsters book will be a hit, but it just doesn’t appeal to me.

  6. July 15, 2009 4:23 pm

    I want to hear what other crazy horror butcherings of period classics people come up with! I’d love it if people stop by my blog and comment with their ideas for the next great follow-up to PPZ. Mine: Persuasion of the Body Snatchers

  7. July 15, 2009 4:32 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen a book trailer before. Let’s just say that was..umm…different! I bought P&P&Z for my daughter last weekend. She loves it and says I really should reconsider and read it. I might, but I’ll draw the line at sea monsters!

  8. jennifermorrill permalink
    July 15, 2009 5:54 pm

    HAHAHA! Sea Monsters. Oh my! It’s taken everything I have to make myself agree to read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies for this challenge. The whole idea of it seems wrong…but at the same time possibly entertaining.

    I really wonder if Jane Austen will roll over in her grave, turn into a zombie and come eat our brains for reading it!

    Congrats to the winners! I’m having fun so far!

  9. July 15, 2009 6:13 pm

    OK, too much! I read the Zombies book and I think that was enough for me. I imagine it will be a no go on the sea monsters for me.

  10. July 15, 2009 6:27 pm

    That looks too funny!! Congrats to the winners!!

  11. July 15, 2009 6:56 pm

    My challenge books that I intend to read are

    Sense and Sensibility
    Pride & Prejudice
    Mansfield Park
    Emma
    Northanger Abbey
    Persuasion
    Lady Susan

  12. July 15, 2009 8:30 pm

    Congrats to the winners. Now on to the challenge!

    Two down, ten to go!

  13. July 15, 2009 9:02 pm

    I’m so excited to be a winner! But sea monsters? Is Quirk going to destroy every Austen? Aren’t they men enough to go after someone with more bulk–say, Tolstoy?

  14. July 15, 2009 9:08 pm

    I have a sense of humor so I think Zombies and Sea Monsters look terrific! I want to read both in the worst way! Oh yeah…go Steelers ;-P

  15. July 15, 2009 9:42 pm

    That book trailer is soooo funny!

    Congrats to all the winners – I really hope I’m a winner soon LOL.

  16. July 15, 2009 10:22 pm

    Congrats to all the winners!

    I wonder what Quirk will have next…

  17. Vickie permalink
    July 15, 2009 11:54 pm

    I am so excited to win!!! Thank you so much!!

  18. July 16, 2009 12:01 am

    Ha ha! I loved that book trailer.

    I just wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for a Kreativ Blogger Award.

  19. July 16, 2009 6:55 am

    I am so excited that I won! I just sent my contact information.

  20. July 16, 2009 2:40 pm

    Sea Monsters? Oh my! haha.. I can’t wait to see what they’ll come up with for the rest of the books 🙂

    Congrats to the winners!

  21. July 16, 2009 3:19 pm

    Hi, Stephanie. Although I am not participating in the Everything Austen Challenge technically, I did pick up a copy of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies today. The cover is so funny! The fact that it’s a NY Times bestseller also influenced my decision to put it in my cart. I hope to read it soon.

  22. July 16, 2009 3:49 pm

    sea monsters-lol, love it! definitely adding it on to my Everything Austen reading list.
    congrats to the winners!

  23. July 16, 2009 4:01 pm

    It’s great that publishers and authors are contributing to the challenge. 😀 Congratulations to all the winners!

  24. July 16, 2009 6:08 pm

    Congrats to the winners!

  25. July 29, 2009 7:27 pm

    congrats to the winners.

  26. Kim Gregor permalink
    August 1, 2009 11:06 pm

    Hi,

    My list is:
    Pride & Prejudice
    Sense & Sensibility
    Emma
    Northanger Abbey
    Mansfield Park
    The Jane Austen Book Club.

    Thanks, KG

  27. September 28, 2011 5:33 pm

    My husband and i were now more than happy when Louis could finish up his reports through your ideas he grabbed from your own site. It is now and again perplexing to simply always be giving away techniques that many people could have been making money from. Therefore we realize we have the writer to give thanks to for that. The explanations you’ve made, the easy website menu, the friendships you will help instill – it is all sensational, and it is helping our son in addition to our family do think the idea is exciting, and that’s seriously serious. Thanks for everything!

Leave a Reply

