Skip to content

The Time Traveler’s Wife Movie!

June 18, 2009

YAY! The trailer is finally here (and thanks to Marg for posting it first)! Below is a peek at The Time Traveler’s Wife, coming to theaters August 14th. You can visit the official movie website here.

This was one of my favorite books and I just can’t wait to see it come on the big screen! I’m not a big Eric Bana fan (too many HULK flashbacks) but have to say that he seems to fit this role nicely. Now my only dilemma is whether I should try to re-read the book before the movie, or wait until afterwards…

29 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2009 3:25 pm

    I’m really excited about the movie! My only fear is that I’m going to continuously cry at the end. It’ll probably happen.

    Regardless, the trailer looks great!

    • June 18, 2009 3:27 pm

      Please, I got teary eyed watching the trailer! Must remember to bring tissues!!

  2. June 18, 2009 5:11 pm

    I think I’ll see the movie first, then read the book! : )

  3. June 18, 2009 5:11 pm

    Oh, read the book. It’s wonderful. I don’t usually think this about books I love, but it should actually make a pretty good movie.

  4. June 18, 2009 5:14 pm

    Oh. Re-read, you said. Sorry. Shoulda stuck to lurking. Dorky comments are forever.

    • June 19, 2009 10:28 am

      Don’t worry, I leave plenty of dorky comments (most of which have spelling errors, since I can’t spell to save my life)!

  5. June 18, 2009 5:17 pm

    I’m not sure if I want to see this. As you know, I was one of the few that didn’t love this movie. Although, I seem to like the main character more watching the trailer than I did reading about him in the book.

    • June 19, 2009 10:27 am

      Awww, come on!! See it with me. Maybe you’ll like it better on the big screen!

  6. June 18, 2009 6:07 pm

    I have to admit the trailer made me feel intense sadness. The book is so subtle and rich, and the trailer makes it look so hokey and over the top. I mean, seriously, running into each others’ arms? Lovely interpretation of the subtle gestures that conveyed the love story in the book . . .

    deeeep sssiiiiiigh.

    • June 19, 2009 10:27 am

      Good point, although sometimes those subtle gestures you mention are best in written form! Most of the time a movie can’t convey emotions like that as well as a good book can. I have hopes though that this one will be ok.

  7. June 18, 2009 10:44 pm

    I’ve noticed several people have said they don’t like Eric Bana and I wondered why! I don’t think I’ve ever seen him, but he looks good in the role, just from looking at the trailer.

    • June 18, 2009 11:38 pm

      Well, he played the Hulk in Ang Lee’s movie, which was just terrible. He sure does look alot better in this though.

  8. June 18, 2009 11:37 pm

    I don’t know if I can bear to watch the movie. I was sobbing by the end of the book.

    And I don’t remember that much kissing in the book…according to the trailer they kiss every 30 seconds. Must’ve made learning the lines quite easy. 😉

  9. thekoolaidmom permalink
    June 19, 2009 12:41 am

    Oh no… for me, Eric Bana will forever be the sexy and honorable Hector of Troy. He’s such a delicious Aussie 🙂

    This book’s on Mt. TBR, and I guess I’ll have to speed it up and read it before August 14.

    so many books, so little time!

  10. June 19, 2009 2:37 am

    It’s me… Sheri… jumping up and down and up and down. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this book and I LOVE LOVE LOVE Rachel McAdams. OH! I cannot wait!

    Sheri
    A Novel Menagerie

  11. June 19, 2009 7:59 am

    Oh I am reading that book right now! Cool!

  12. June 19, 2009 2:22 pm

    I loved the book and am a bit cautions about the movie. The trailer looks great but it does remind me of a more typical hollywood love story. Nothing wrong with that but the book was not exactly that you know. Still, it’s been a while since I’ve read the book so I should be able to see the movie without noticing all the differences and hopefully just enjoying it! 🙂

  13. June 20, 2009 12:21 pm

    One of my all-time favorite books! I hope the movie does it justice.

  14. June 20, 2009 8:41 pm

    Loved the book and love Rachel McAdams, so I’m really excited to see this movie. I’m trying to get my mom to read it so we can see the movie together since it comes out on her birthday, but she’s hesitant because it made me bawl on the Jersey turnpike.

  15. June 20, 2009 10:09 pm

    Okay I’m going to be honest here. I absolutely loved the book, without hesitation. HOWEVER, the trailer was a little underwhelming. It didn’t get me interested in or hooked on the concept. Hopefully the movie will be better… the opposite of movies where the trailer is good and the movie is bad.

  16. June 20, 2009 10:56 pm

    I loved the book and after seeing this trailer (which made me get choked up), I can’t wait to see the movie. Wish I lived close enough to go with you!! Thanks for posting the link to the trailer!

    • June 21, 2009 8:57 pm

      That would be so fun! I wonder how much a flight from Newark to Nebraska would cost? 🙂

  17. June 22, 2009 10:08 pm

    I am so excited about this movie! I know you said that on my blog, but I haven’t read any blogs in a few days. I have been busy!

  18. June 23, 2009 2:09 pm

    I think I’ll like this movie. I am waiting for Friday when “My Sister’s Keeper” is out. I think me and Nessa are going to see this one.

  19. June 24, 2009 4:37 am

    This trailer looks wonderful! Time Traveler’s Wife is one of my favourite books, and I’m so excited to see this is coming out soon

  20. June 25, 2009 5:25 pm

    I have nominated your blog for an award – check out my blog!

Leave a Reply

