Skip to content

Our next book & friendly authors

May 18, 2007

Thanks to everyone who voted for our June book! With 38% of the vote, The Mermaids Singing by Lisa Carey is our winner. I will post discussion question for The Mermaids Singing on Monday, June 25th. In the meantime, don’t forget that you still have a little over a week to finish Water for Elephants, which we will discuss on Tuesday, May 29th.  

Right after posting the poll for our book club pick, I received a very nice e-mail from Laura Fitzgerald, author of Veil of Roses (which was one of the books up for consideration).  She wanted to know if she could join us for future discussions. I have to say that I was really quite excited that an actual published author wanted to be involved in this little book club. How neat is that! Actually, I felt a bit giddy when Colleen Gleason left a comment awhile back too. Hey, Khaled Hosseini, drop me a line, would ya?

For more information about Veil of Roses, you can visit Laura’s website here or through my links in the sidebar.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2007 10:28 pm

    Cool! I’ve already ordered it from my local library. Can’t wait to dive into it.

    OMG – how cool it would be to have the author involved in the discussion. I’m soooo voting for Veil of Roses if it’s a selection next month. What are your thoughts?

  2. May 21, 2007 10:11 am

    I’m looking forward to reading The Mermaids Singing; just finished Water for Elephants.

    That would be awesome if some authors participated in our discussions! 🙂

    Love the new look of the site!

  3. Donna permalink
    May 23, 2007 1:58 pm

    Pretty cool! Looking forward to the discussions.

  4. Nicole permalink
    May 24, 2007 3:34 pm

    That would be awesome!

  5. Beth permalink
    May 28, 2007 6:26 pm

    I just ordered The Mermaid’s Singing from http://www.paperbackswap.com If you haven’t traded books there, you should check it out. You pay the postage on books you send to other members and pay nothing for books you request. If you tell them Bibliobethica sent you, I get a free credit (good for one book).

    I’m looking forward to reading it – it’s keeps popping up on lists for book clubs.

  6. May 30, 2007 1:33 pm

    I’m going to try and get this book in time for the next discussion! By the way, I love the new look – makes me want to head out to the beach 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. bookgirl’s nightstand | Blog Archive | June Reading Plans

Leave a comment