Skip to content

My bedside table & a tiny break

August 6, 2009

TBR pile 2

Tomorrow is Friday, which means that I will be in NYC for the day undergoing the last of my surgeries (you don’t even want to know what time I need to be at Sloan Kettering tomorrow morning – let’s just say that it is early)!  I am this close to putting the last year of cancer treatments and surgeries behind me and am really excited to be on the last leg of this journey.

As I will need a bit of time to recover from my surgery, I won’t be checking my computer all that much over the next week. I have however scheduled some posts to go up, including my review of the new book The Magicians by Levi Grossman, my thoughts about reading (and watching) Sense & Sensibility and also an announcement about our next mini-challenge for Everything Austen, to be hosted late next week by the lovely Nicole over at Books and Bards (click here to find out a few details about it)!

In the meantime, I’ve left you picturse of the book stack next to my bed. I recently put these books on my night stand  to remind myself of the books I plan to read over the next few weeks. 

TBR pile

It’s a lovely stack, isn’t it? I recently received Time of My Life and House & Home, both of which I will be reviewing for TLC Book Tours in September. The Secret Diaries of Charlotte Bronte came directly from the publisher and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society is the August pick for my book club. As for The Lovely Bones, which I read a few years back, I’m tempted to try to read it again before the movie is released (yep, The Lovely Bones will be release in December by DreamWorks Pictures and you can see the trailer here)!!

Hope you all have a lovely weekend and I will be back blogging soon.

55 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2009 1:23 pm

    All the best tomorrow! I’ll think positive thoughts for you!

    I am in awe of the lack of clutter on your nightstand. 0_o You don’t even want to see mine! I keep my books on my dresser because there’s no room next to my bed! haha!

  2. August 6, 2009 1:24 pm

    It is a charming stack. What a treat to have them greeting you when you come home!

    I’m tempted to reread The Lovely Bones before the movie comes out too. I remember when I first read it, I hadn’t read a book that rocked me to my core like that in a long time. It’s been awhile… I wonder if I read it again whether my feelings will be the same as I remember. Or maybe it will take on a new poignancy.

    That would be a fun concept for a book review series, actually. Reread books and discuss how they impacted you then and how they impact you now… hmm…

  3. August 6, 2009 1:24 pm

    I’m sending positive vibes your way. I hope and pray all goes well for you tomorrow.

  4. August 6, 2009 1:26 pm

    Good luck and we’ll miss you here in the blogosphere!

  5. August 6, 2009 1:26 pm

    Oooh. I will be looking forward to your review of the Lovely Bones. That book has so many mixed reviews, but none that are discouraging. looks like a great list!

  6. August 6, 2009 1:27 pm

    First off…good luck with this last leg of surgeries. I wish you a speedy recovery.

    Thanks for sharing that trailer. I read the book ages ago and was not that impressed but the movie looks really good.

  7. August 6, 2009 1:46 pm

    Good luck with everything. I will definitely be thinking of you tomorrow and over the weekend!!!

    Enjoy the books. You’ve got some good ones in that pile!

  8. August 6, 2009 1:48 pm

    I will be thinking about you tomorrow as you undergo the last of the procedures. There is definitely a light at the end of this tunnel!

    I am in awe of the dust-free nightstand 🙂

    The books look wonderful. I have read The Guernsey Literary…. and Lovely Bones and loved them both. I am very anxious to start the Charlotte Bronte diary myself.

    Take your time recuperating, and we look forward to hearing an update soon.

  9. August 6, 2009 2:00 pm

    Good luck – Sloan Kettering is the best! And I too am in awe of the dust-free nightstand!!! Looks like you have some great reading ahead!

  10. August 6, 2009 2:14 pm

    Good luck with your surgery. You have some great books in that stack–I loved The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and The Lovely Bones! I can’t wait to see the trailer for The Lovely Bones!

  11. justicejenniferreads permalink
    August 6, 2009 2:15 pm

    I hope the surgery goes well!
    The stack on your nightstand truly does look LOVELY!
    Can’t wait to hear what you say about the Secret Diaries of Charlotte Bronte and especially The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (I’ve heard wonderful things about it!)
    You reminded me that I still need to get around to reading Lovely Bones. Another book to add to my list!

  12. August 6, 2009 2:43 pm

    Good luck with the surgery…will be sending positive thoughts your way! Enjoy the books.

  13. August 6, 2009 3:26 pm

    I’ve got my fingers crossed for you that the surgery goes well. We’ll miss you but know that you’ll have lots of great reviews when you feel up to it!

  14. August 6, 2009 3:37 pm

    I’m wishing you the best and keeping you in my thoughts!

  15. August 6, 2009 3:44 pm

    Wishing you all the best.

  16. August 6, 2009 4:00 pm

    What a lovely way to spend your recuperation. I tempted to reread “The Lovely Bones” my self. But I loved it when last I read it and what happens if I don’t feel the same way on rereading it?

  17. August 6, 2009 4:02 pm

    Lovely photos, and I hope all goes well.

  18. August 6, 2009 4:56 pm

    Positive thoughts and warm wishes on a smooth recovery. I love seeing books piled up pretty! I have Potato Peel Pie on my TBR list — look forward to your review. ~~ Kim

  19. August 6, 2009 5:15 pm

    Love your stack! I have “Time of my Life” to read too, and I can’t wait to read it!
    I’m sending a bunch of positive thoughts your way for your recovery 🙂

  20. August 6, 2009 5:24 pm

    Best wishes for a succesful surgery and recovery.

  21. August 6, 2009 6:51 pm

    I will be praying for you and hope to hear from you soon. Good luck… I can’t believe Lovely Bones is going to be a movie. Not sure if I would want to see it. I am looking forward to Time Traveler and Pope Joan. Hope it comes down here.

  22. August 6, 2009 7:01 pm

    All the best for the surgery. Love, prayers and positive thoughts are coming your way.

    Fiona 🙂

  23. Georgina permalink
    August 6, 2009 7:17 pm

    You look absolutely stunning. I am in a hurry and totally sidetracked with facebook. This morning I heard about The Blue Notebook and found you in my search and follow up and passing it on.
    I would love to keep in touch.
    I also enjoy moretolife.org You may really value what they have to offer.
    i am from New Zealand: definitely a woman so not impersonating a man. Married with 2 adult children. Tapping on doors as to how I might get involved with an organisation serving the poor. See me on Facebook: Georgina Knox my maiden name.
    God bless you with your surgery. Love to connect with you.

  24. August 6, 2009 7:19 pm

    I am so glad that this part of your journey is nearly over. I wish you all the luck. Those are some great books in that pile. I read lovely bones a while ago and cannot wait for the movie. I just finished up Guernsey, which was one of the best books I’ve read this year.

  25. August 6, 2009 7:47 pm

    Will be thinking of you tomorrow … hope all goes well.

  26. August 6, 2009 7:58 pm

    My whatever god you believe in be with you tomorrow! Good luck and god speed!

  27. August 6, 2009 8:10 pm

    Good luck and all the best with everything, Stephanie!
    Love your stack!

  28. August 6, 2009 9:29 pm

    Hope you have a great reading week recuperating from everything. All the best with everything!

  29. August 6, 2009 10:10 pm

    Those books look so lovely together…I like the color combo. 🙂

    Good luck tomorrow and best wishes for a speedy recovery!

  30. August 6, 2009 11:56 pm

    My prayers are also with you. I just finished House & Home for TLC. I really liked it!

  31. August 7, 2009 1:25 am

    Sending lots of positive thoughts your way. Lovely stack of books – The Lovely Bones is one book I keep meaning to get a hold of!

  32. August 7, 2009 2:13 am

    Good luck with your surgeries. Many good thoughts of healing coming your way!! I keep meaning to pick up The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. I don’t think I can reread The Lovely Bones for the movie, I was basically balling my eyes out for 3 days reading it!

  33. August 7, 2009 2:28 am

    Good luck with your surgery. Its good to know that you plan to read and relax too. The stack looks so tempting. I wish you a quick recovery.

  34. August 7, 2009 2:44 am

    Good luck with everything! I really want to read the Guernsey one and Secret Diaries sounds interesting as well. Thanks for the trailer, definately looks good! I might even reread Lovely Bones as well!

  35. August 7, 2009 8:37 am

    The stack is indeed very lovely, something you just want to jump into reading and stay in bed until they’re all done 🙂

    Good luck with the surgery and I’m very happy for you that it’s finally coming to an end.

  36. August 7, 2009 8:56 am

    It’s a lovely stack. They all look so pretty and new.

  37. August 7, 2009 9:42 am

    Good Luck!!! I’ll be sending positive vibes your way!!! And, I love the stack – so pretty!

  38. August 7, 2009 10:31 am

    Thinking of you! I hope it all goes well and that you recover quickly.

  39. August 7, 2009 11:07 am

    You’re in my thoughts and prayers!! Take care of yourself and rest!!

  40. August 7, 2009 3:28 pm

    What pretty book spines. 🙂

    Good luck!

  41. August 7, 2009 8:17 pm

    You’re in my thoughts & prayers. Glad you’re on the last leg of your journey to good health & recovery.

    Wishing you all the best my friend…

  42. August 7, 2009 10:07 pm

    So glad today was the last of the surgeries! Sending fast-healing thoughts your way, Stephanie. Take good care :).

  43. August 7, 2009 10:57 pm

    Hey Stephanie,

    Praying for you here. Good book choices to read during the recovery. 🙂

    Get well soon!

  44. August 8, 2009 3:07 pm

    Good luck Stephanie, though I think I saw you tweeting a moment ago, I’m so glad it went well. Rest up, read up and we look forward to your blogging return!!!!!!

  45. August 8, 2009 7:45 pm

    I hope you are recovering and resting well, able to enjoy some reading time and TLC. Here’s to getting through this last round!

  46. August 8, 2009 9:52 pm

    Best of luck with the surgery tomorrow – wishing you a speedy recovery!

  47. August 9, 2009 9:58 am

    wishing you a speedy recovery–i’ll be thinking of you!!

    as for your book stack–i’ve read 3 of the five and LOVED TGLAPPPS. 🙂 enjoy.

  48. August 9, 2009 1:13 pm

    stumbled upon your blog. wonderful! can’t wait to sift through some of your book recommendations 🙂 have a great week

  49. August 9, 2009 7:08 pm

    Good luck for your surgery and treatment – sending you best wishes and thoughts.

  50. August 9, 2009 10:24 pm

    I hope everything went well, Stephanie. Warm thoughts and wishes coming your way. And I hope you can get through all those books, conveniently placed by your bedside! take care and heal well.

  51. August 10, 2009 3:40 pm

    No more surgeries!!! Here’s hoping you have just enough energy to read, but not enough that anyone expects you to do anything else.

  52. August 12, 2009 6:43 pm

    Stephanie, My best wishes go out to you. I hope you are feeling better and on the mend. Will you be reading The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society soon? I am anxious for your impressions. I understand there are Austen references and allusions.

    Cheers, LA

    • August 13, 2009 9:07 am

      Thanks so much for the kind words. I’ve already made a dent in that pile, having read Time of My Life and House & Home over the past couple days. Both were great reads and I can’t wait to publish my reviews next month. I will be reading The Guernsey Literary book soon, since I will be discussing it with my book club early September.

  53. August 14, 2009 8:19 pm

    I had no idea you were undergoing treatment. I’m a 10-year cancer survivor, and it feels so great to look BACK on the experience. I know you will love it, too. Cheers

  54. August 26, 2009 6:16 pm

    Oh Stephanie I’m so behind on my blog reading… I hope all went well with the surgery and am sending you lots of hugs and healing vibes!

Leave a Reply

