Skip to content

Such a Pretty Fat

July 29, 2009

Such a Pretty Fat: One Narcissist's Quest To Discover if Her Life Makes Her Ass LookBig, Or Why Pie is Not The AnswerDo you like your memoirs with a dose of sarcasm, plenty of snark and a little bitchiness? If so, you MUST check out Jen Lancaster!

Author of best selling books Bitter is the New Black and Bright Lights, Big Ass, fellow blogger Lancaster is hilarious as she chronicles her weight loss journey in Such a Pretty Fat, One Narcissist’s Quest to Discover If Her Life Makes Her Ass Look Big, or Why Pie Is Not the Answer.

For anyone who’s ever thought about going on a diet, are currently watching their calorie intake or are contemplating all the diet programs available (i.e. if you are a typical weight obsessed American, keep reading) then this truly funny memoir of Jen Lancaster is right up your alley.

From trying to blame her laziness on the noxious fumes coming  from her broken furnace to stress eating (worrying about the nineteen cheesecakes she’d be compelled to eat if her husband gets laid off) Jen recounts various attempts throughout her adult life to lose weight.

Such a Pretty Fat is filled with plenty of laugh-out-loud moments and put a smile on my face. But it’s not just full of snarky comments. Lancaster really needs to lose weight in order to be healthy and just wants to find what works for her (and that comes in the form of Barbie, her personal trainer).

Some of my favorite passages:

When recounting her ordeal of knocking over someone’s wineglass at a local restaurant with her over-sized butt, Jen’s friend Angie says:

“I’m sure it wasn’t that bad. Besides, I saw you a month ago, and your butt was fine. I’d noticed if it was seventeen feed wide.” Of course, Angie is a mom and routinely lies all day – for example, That fluffy bunny on the side of the road is covered in delicious raspberry jam! And he’s napping; shhh, don’t wake him! – so I’m not so quick to believe her.

AND

I’m aware that I do well when I have a deadline, but anything with a due date is linked to compensation. Checks with my name on them certainly propel me toward achievement, and I’m sure I’d lose weight if I were being paid. Unfortunately, there aren’t a lot of employers out there needing people to “be less fat.” A pity, really.

OR when the author writes about visiting her local J*nny Cra*g weight loss center:

A trim brunette in her mid-thirties leaps out of her chair to greet me before I take the seat across from her desk. The receptionist leapt when I came in, too. And walking down the hall, I saw another counselor leap up from her desk when her client entered. Awful lot of leaping going on here. I’m sure that’s not going to be annoying at all.

Yep, even though Jen Lancaster has plenty crazy and funny stuff to say in Such a Pretty Fat, her message is clear – work out and watch what you eat and you too can lose the weight. I enjoyed Such a Pretty Fat and can’t wait to read Jen’s newest book, Pretty in Plaid: A Life, A Witch, and a Wardrobe, or the Wonder Years Before the Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smart-Ass Phase, which is in bookstores now.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2009 12:56 pm

    Sounds like a really fun book. Thanks for the review!

  2. Laura H permalink
    July 29, 2009 12:56 pm

    Looks funny , I ordered it from the Library. Thanks

  3. July 29, 2009 1:19 pm

    I’ve heard that her books are hilarious. I’d like to try one soon.

  4. July 29, 2009 2:03 pm

    I loved the excerpts you highlighted her…makes me want to read this one!!

  5. July 29, 2009 2:13 pm

    I’ve only read Bitter is the new Black, but it had me laughing so loudly it prompted my husband to ask me what I was reading! She is HYSTERICAL!

  6. July 29, 2009 3:30 pm

    This author does sound funny. Thanks for your review!

  7. July 29, 2009 11:32 pm

    We read this for our book club earlier this year. She does have her moments of extreme funny…. I for one will never look at ice cream the same again. 🙂

  8. July 31, 2009 6:24 am

    I SO LOVED this book and really enjoyed reviewing it. It was a strange impulse buy at Walmart & I’m so glad I did!

    LOVED IT!

  9. July 31, 2009 10:54 am

    this woman cracks me up…seriously. i’ve read most of her books and can only aspire to be so amusing. my witty bon mots usually fall flat, but lancaster is the MASTER of snark. 🙂 glad you enjoyed it.

  10. August 1, 2009 3:05 am

    I haven’t heard of this author before but this book sounds hilarious – the title alone is enough to hook me in!

  11. August 1, 2009 7:26 am

    Sounds hysterical!

  12. August 1, 2009 10:39 pm

    Sounds like a fun read. I’ll keep it in mind.

    –Anna

  13. August 2, 2009 2:26 am

    Sarcasm and snark? Gotta have me a book that has those!

  14. August 2, 2009 3:21 pm

    Test!

  15. August 3, 2009 6:10 pm

    I read this one a few weeks back and loved it! Her sense of humor matches my own and there were several parts I could relate to – not the fashionista ones, though, I’m clueless in that department. Have you read her prior two books? I am waiting on copies from the library and just hope they’re as funny as this one.

  16. October 28, 2010 2:52 pm

    when i browse videos on youtube, i always look for those videos with funny stuffs in it`,”

  17. April 3, 2013 3:18 am

    Howdy! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My website looks weird when viewing from my iphone4. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to correct this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

