Skip to content

Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict

July 1, 2009

everythingausten2Today is the first day of the Everything Austen challenge (there is still time to sign up – check here for details)! To kick off the challenge, I’m reviewing Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict below. The author, Laurie Viera Rigler was so enthusiastic about Everything Austen that she mentions the challenge on her website and will be writing a guest post and having a giveaway here later this summer! Thanks so much Laurie!

We’ve also almost hit the 100 mark for participants, which I am thrilled about (I had hoped to get at least 50 people involved, so I’m amazed that it is almost double). Thanks again for signing up!! Remember, you can now find on the top of my blog a tab entitled Everything Austen. With the exception of your initial sign-up post, each time you write a review from your challenge list on your blog please click on that tab and use the Mr. Linky there to link to your posts, that way everyone can follow along with your progress!  Thanks!

Imagine yourself waking up in a different world, in a different body, during a different time period. Might be kind of confusing, right? For Jane Mansfield, a young lady living at her parents estate in England during 1813, confusing is only the half of it. One morning Jane wakes up to find herself in Courtney Stone’s body, in a small apartment in LA, in the year 2009. Frightened by the fact that her body and her voice are not her own, Jane not only is unfamiliar with the modern world, but also has to deal with some of Courtney’s problems (including her job as an assistant, paying bills and driving a car). Then there are Courtney’s girlfriends Paula and Anna, who believe Courtney’s strange vocabulary is due to her obsession with all things Austen in combination to the head injury she sustained recently. Also there is sweet Wes (who is disliked by Courtney’s girlfriends after they accuse him of covering for Frank, who was engaged to Courtney and who cheated on her). Between navigating the minefields of Courntey’s life and trying to figure out the bizarre dating rituals of men and women in the year 2009, Jane is beside herself.

Jane, a lady used to embroidering and serving tea all day, now has to make her way in modern America. Soon she is drunk with her new found freedom, but between memories which are not her own and emerging feelings for Wes, Jane isn’t quite sure what world she really belongs to anymore and is having a hard time figuring out how to get back to her real world, or if she really wants to.

Parallel to the story told in Laura Viera Rigler’s first book, Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict, in which Courtney wakes up in Jane’s body in 1813 England, Rude Awakeninigs of a Jane Austen Addict  is a fun read. The plot chugs along steadily and there are plenty of cute and funny moments to keep this book a light read.

I do not know how I have come to be in this time, in this place, in this body. But I do know that any place where there are six novels by the author of Pride and Prejudice must be a very special sort of heaven.

I also have to point out how grateful I am to the author Laurie Viera Rigler. In January I read Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict. I really enjoyed the book, but was left flabbergasted by the ending (in my opinion it left too many unanswered questions). I was hesitant to pick up her newest book, thinking that I might in fact be disappointed again in the ending. Boy, was I surprised! Not only did I feel like she wrapped up the storyline nicely, but afterwards I read the last few chapters of Confessions and felt that it too now made more sense!

All in all, both Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict and Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict are fun books for any Austen fan and if you’ve added these to your challenge lists, then I hope you enjoy them as much as I did!

34 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2009 8:40 am

    This one sounds good. I enjoyed the first one.

    I finished Loving Darcy and couple of days of ago and will post my first Everything Austen challenge book sometime today!

  2. sdechantal permalink
    July 1, 2009 8:49 am

    Let the games begin! 🙂

  3. July 1, 2009 9:04 am

    These sound like interesting reads! So excited for the challenge!

  4. July 1, 2009 9:17 am

    I’m very excited to read this one — I really loved Confessions Of A Jane Austen Addict! I hope to pick it up this week. I’m glad to hear you weren’t disappointed, and that it answered some of the lingering questions you had! That’s the only thing that bothered me a little about the first book… too many unexplained things.

    Yay — so glad Everything Austen has officially kicked off! I’m so excited about this challenge!

  5. July 1, 2009 10:04 am

    Oh, these both sound good – I might have two swap out two on my challenge list for these, or add more to the list, the more the merrier, right?!

    I have a few books to get to before I start the challenge off with a re-read of Pride & Prejudice but can’t wait.

    Happy challenge all!

  6. July 1, 2009 10:51 am

    I haven’t read them, but it sounds like I’ll be looking for them for the challenge! I have three books ready, and am deciding which movies I’m going to watch, before I do the post….maybe I’ll just do the post, and leave three blank spaces! Are we allowed that?

  7. July 1, 2009 11:03 am

    i haven’t read either and am wondering if it is necessary to read the first one first? i like the idea of jane being in our century.

    • July 1, 2009 12:30 pm

      I would suggest you read her first book Confessions before this newest one since they are both companion books. Happy reading!

  8. July 1, 2009 11:19 am

    Wow! that sounds like such a great book. Now I might have to change my list just fit that one in, or add it as an extra book just for fun 🙂 I’ll have to add this book to my wishlist then (which just exploded a few days ago) 😛

  9. medicasali permalink
    July 1, 2009 11:27 am

    These books sound really good! I have a feeling that I’m going to want to read/watch more than just 6 Austen items during this challenge so I may have to check them out!

  10. July 1, 2009 12:21 pm

    One down! I am planning on reading this one for the challenge too. Can’t wait!

  11. July 1, 2009 12:25 pm

    I haven’t read either of those books but think they both sound like great fun.

  12. July 1, 2009 4:20 pm

    Geez, I’ve got to get my hands on a copy of Rude Awakenings!

  13. July 1, 2009 6:41 pm

    I have this one on my list because I thought the first one was so much fun.

  14. July 1, 2009 7:25 pm

    I just loved both of these books! These are definitely reread books for me. I can’t wait to see what Laurie comes up with next.

  15. July 1, 2009 8:05 pm

    You have website, You need to advertise it on the internet, You need to share traffic, You need comfort. Here is free for all webmasters around the world.
    Would You like to receive FREE Unlimited Hits to Your Site? Please note xAutohits.com

  16. July 1, 2009 10:07 pm

    This one sounds good. I haven’t read the first, but they’re both on my TBR list!

  17. July 1, 2009 10:07 pm

    I haven’t yet written my review of RUDE AWAKENINGS, but I feel much as you do – fun book which is a great companion to CONFESSIONS. Laurie has a wonderful way of sharing some life lessons without clonking us on the head with them.

    Your Everything Austen challenge is quite a hit! I’ve been remiss at the challenges I have signed up for, so I’m not putting my name on any others until I whittle down the list. Have fun with it!

  18. July 2, 2009 1:58 am

    I have this one on my list and according to my book is quite interesting.You may be able to give a little summarized in your blog ,so it attracts more people to read.

  19. July 2, 2009 1:53 pm

    I loved both books. Like you, when I finished reading Confessions I hoped for more from Laurie. I think she came through big time with Rude Awakenings. So much fun!

  20. July 3, 2009 12:47 am

    Both of these books are on my list and now I’m looking forward to them even more!

  21. July 3, 2009 11:59 pm

    I’m so glad to read you liked that one and that the ending was more satisfactory! I read the book a year ago and was so stunned by the ending that it was all I could remember. This week I re-read it, and now knowing there would be a “sequel”, I was happier with it. I ordered “Rude Awakenings” and can’t wait to start reading it!

  22. July 4, 2009 12:15 am

    I remember being mildly disappointed in “Confessions”, but my memory is like a sieve, and I have no recollection as to why! (one of the reasons I started writing reviews is to help me remember more about books I’ve read). I’m hoping that my problem with it was the ending (which I don’t remember) and that this book will clear it up for me :-).

    This one sounds like fun, and I have it on my challenge list. Thanks for your review and for this challenge.

  23. July 4, 2009 4:04 am

    This sounds great! Confessions is on my list, and I can’t wait to read it – I think I’m going to save it for a little later on in the challenge and concentrate on movies/tv first (I am now officially addicted to Lost in Austen!!)

  24. July 4, 2009 1:09 pm

    Great review! I got Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict at the library this week.

  25. July 6, 2009 8:18 pm

    Stephanie, does a person need to read Confessions first? I got Rude Awakenings this weekend but didn’t realize there was a novel prior. What do you think?

    • July 6, 2009 8:41 pm

      Michelle,
      I think you will enjoy Rude Awakenings more if you read Confessions first, since the author refers to the first book in the second one. Happy reading!

  26. July 11, 2009 9:21 am

    These books sound good. I’ll have to check them out.

  27. July 11, 2009 10:09 am

    What a fun idea for a book. I’ll have to check this one out 🙂

  28. July 12, 2009 9:31 pm

    SO glad to read your review. I am in the minority in that I did not love “Confessions.” I was too frustrated by the ending! I had no idea there was a second book in the works…so now my interest is piqued!

  29. July 13, 2009 1:46 pm

    Great review – I can’t wait to read this. There is a long hold list at the library, so sadly it might be awhile!

Trackbacks

  1. Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict, b Laurie Viera Rigler – A Review « Austenprose
  2. TODAY » I am updating my Everything Austen challenge.
  3. Stuff I Want To Read Because The Reviews Told Me To « Fuzzy Cricket

Leave a Reply

