Skip to content

Everything Austen – My List

June 28, 2009

First, I just wanted to let all of you know that I have personally visited each blog that has signed up for the Everything Austen challenge. I’ve also tried to leave a comment, with the exception of blogs that only allow Google account members to comment (and one or two blogs that I wasn’t able to submit my comment, no matter how hard I tried)! So if I didn’t leave a comment on your blog, I apologize. I do know that you are there and appreciate that you have decided to join in!!

everythingausten2I’ve been so busy with getting everything ready to kick off my Everything Austen challenge (including arranging giveaways, setting up guest posts and getting reviews written) that I nearly forgot to compile my own six things for the challenge.

I’ve noticed that a few of you have gotten creative with your challenge list. Just check out Tildesquilts who will not only be making three recipes from The Jane Austen Cookbook, but will also be starting on a “Fassets of Austen” quilt!

Now on to my personal challenge list! I’ve added more than six items, that way I can be a little flexible.

To read:

To watch:

The Lost Memoirs of Jane AustenThe Plight of the Darcy Brothers: A tale of the Darcys & the BingleysLost in Austen: Create Your Own Jane Austen AdventurePride and Prejudice and Zombies: The Classic Regency Romance - Now with Ultraviolent Zombie Mayhem!
Lost in AustenSense & Sensibility (Special Edition)

Bridget Jones's DiaryMr. Darcy, Vampyre

Check back here on Wednesday, July 1st for the official kick off of Everything Austen and my review of Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict.

27 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2009 9:40 pm

    You’ve created a lot of excitement with your challenge. I hope you have fun with it!

  2. June 28, 2009 9:42 pm

    It sounds like a lot of fun. I can’t wait till the reviews start coming in!

  3. June 28, 2009 9:55 pm

    Wow! You’ve really put a lot of work into this challenge! Hats off to ya! And I was whiney about simply committing to a challenge (then did 3, how ’bout that?), while you’ve been running all over the blogosphere arranging things for us.

    You are my new hero 🙂

    LOL… Make sure you have fun and enjoy the challenge, too, though 😉

  4. June 28, 2009 9:56 pm

    I am so excited about this

  5. janicu permalink
    June 28, 2009 10:16 pm

    Yay, we’re both reading the Lost in Austen Create Your Own Jane Austen Adventure book! I’ve already peeked and it has drawings inside which is pretty cute. I have also avoided death so far by my choices, but I didn’t know how many couples were in a reel, so I lost points there, sigh. 🙂

  6. June 28, 2009 10:56 pm

    Thanks for stopping by everyone’s blogs. I know I very much appreciated the comment.

  7. June 28, 2009 10:59 pm

    Ooh! I just thought of a question. Would it be ok if we deviated from our original lists? What about posting more than six Austen related thing? TIA!

    • June 29, 2009 10:30 am

      Absolutely – I’m not a stickler for rules, so if you planned on reading Emma but decide to switch to Northanger Abbey, then go ahead!

  8. June 28, 2009 11:43 pm

    I’ll be joining – will post about it tomorrow. you also forgot about the wonderful Jane Austen: A Life, by Claire Tomalin, for book bios 😀 Very fun idea, Stephanie!!

  9. June 29, 2009 1:55 am

    Stephanie, you’ve outdone yourself putting together the Everything Austen challenge! I could see schools using some of these ideas to invigorate their students.

  10. June 29, 2009 10:58 am

    Stephanie,
    I cannot believe I haven’t come across your site before now–I must thank Laurie Viera Rigler for leading me here! What a fabulous idea your challenge is!!! I’m definitely signing up. I’m currently hosting an “AustenFest” on my blog (Laurie is my special guest today :)), so I’ll add the Everything Austen Challenge graphic, write up my personal list and make an announcement about your event later this week… Looking forward to seeing how your wonderful idea progresses through the rest of the year!!

  11. medicasali permalink
    June 29, 2009 12:21 pm

    I really cannot wait to start this challenge and see what fun posts you have in store for us! The posts you made so far have been so fun and we haven’t even started yet! I also sincerely appreciate you taking the time to visit everyone’s blogs and comment. You were the first to comment on my blog and it was such a special treat 🙂

    Meg
    http://yesterdaystuna.com

  12. June 29, 2009 8:26 pm

    Can’t wait for the challenge to start!

  13. June 29, 2009 8:32 pm

    why do I even bother making a list?
    There’s just so much good Austen/-ish stuff out there!

  14. June 29, 2009 9:28 pm

    I am super excited for this challenge! We have one of the same books on there…The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen.

    I have read all of Jane Austen’s books and Sense and Sensibility is fab! Emma is by far my favorite though…but that’s for another discussion LOL

  15. sdechantal permalink
    June 30, 2009 8:35 am

    These all look so good! I have to start getting involved in some of the challenges but then I look at mt TBR pile and *sigh*….

    How do you do it? 🙂

    One Persons Journey Through a World of Books

  16. June 30, 2009 10:28 am

    Oh, I’m glad we’re allowed to delineate from the original list. Because I certainly watch/read more of Austen than I’ve planned in the list =)

    Great idea Stephanie, I can imagine this getting very exciting. Also thanks for taking the trouble to leave comments. Very much appreciated 🙂

  17. June 30, 2009 12:03 pm

    This challenge is going to be super fun . I just couldn’t resist I put up details about it on Book Blogs. I didn’t know if u had already done so. In any case I felt no Austen fan should miss this challenge.

  18. Maraline permalink
    July 1, 2009 6:29 am

    This sounds like such a great challenge and I love Jane Austen so it is a perfect match for me. I hope I’m signing up correctly….lol

  19. July 1, 2009 6:42 pm

    I love the flexibility of your challenge!

  20. July 2, 2009 10:00 am

    i’m also reading ‘the plight of the darcy brothers’ for a review at the end of august! i can’t keep up with an entire austen challenge, but i’m going to swing by to see how you guys are doing–and i’ll put in my 2 cents on TPofTDB. 🙂
    enjoy!!!!

  21. July 15, 2009 3:11 pm

    “Lost Memoirs” is on my list too! and I saw the “Secret Diaries of Charlotte Bronte” at the bookstore the other day.

  22. August 2, 2009 2:04 am

    Ooo sorry about all the above… :S

Trackbacks

  1. The only thing about living in the world of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice would be the prospect of having to marry Mr.Collins…one may have to “invent electricity and kill [oneself]“! « ..:Always Dreaming:..
  2. The only thing about living in the world of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice would be the prospect of having to marry Mr.Collins…in that circumstance, one may be forced to “invent electricity and kill [oneself]“! « ..:Always
  3. The only thing about living in the world of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice would be the prospect of having to marry Mr.Collins…in that circumstance, one may be forced to “invent electricity and kill [oneself]“! « ..:Always
  4. The only thing about living in the world of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice would be the prospect of having to marry Mr.Collins…in that circumstance, one may be forced to “invent electricity and kill [oneself]“! « ..:Always

Leave a Reply

