Skip to content

“NO WAY!” @ BEA part 3

June 3, 2009

Before I get into my “NO WAY” post, I wanted to share with all of you a picture of myself from a few years ago. I do this purely for vanity, since all of the photos from BEA only show what I look like now – post cancer. I’m ok with the short hair and am getting used to my new after surgery body, but have to admit that I’ve cringed each time I’ve come upon my picture  on the blogs of all the lovely women I met over the weekend. So, indulge me for a bit while I show you what I used to (and hope to one day) look like:

Image0009
Above with my husband, oldest daughter, exchange student and her mom. Below in China a few days after adopting our youngest.

IMG_5059

OK, now I feel better. Back to the “NO WAYS!”

I have to admit that even though I was very excited at the opportunity to meet some of my publishing contacts (Hi Miriam & Valerie!) and the chance to get some new books, I was even more excited to meet some of my favorite bloggers!

Dawn from She is Too Fond of Books was nice enough to let me crash at her hotel on Thursday night. She was a really sweet person and I had fun hanging out with her at BEA and some of the cocktail parties that we went to(especially at Workman Publishers – they sure do know how to throw a nice party)!

OK, so here is the lineup of bloggers I met (aka the longest run on sentence in history):

Said a quick hi to Lenore and Stephanie at the Hachette dinner, spoke on a panel with Natasha, Amy, Julie, Candace, Dawn and Jen (more about that in my post on Friday) got to wave frantically at Lisa Roe when she showed up at our panel, ran into Books on the Nightstand’s Ann and Micheal in an elevator at Workman, got to walk around with Molly, spoke breifly with another Jenn, met Sheila, Amanda and Rachel and Emily (author of Last Night in Montreal) at my blog signing, stood on line with Carey and walked around some more with Nicole (who is my neighbor, but I was excited to see her anyway)!

And that’s not all! I finally (after e-mailing back and forth forever) got to meet Trish!

Trish & me!

Isn’t she cute with her hair in braided pig tails? I also got to sit with Gail and Jay at the Net Galley/Firebrand Booth. I’ve been following Every Day I Write the Book for quite a while and was happy to be able to meet Gail. Jay is a new too me blogger from Bookrastination and super nice guy!

Book blogger signing

Phew! If I missed anyone on that list I’m sorry!!

29 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2009 8:21 am

    Okay, first of all, I love the way you look now – you pull of that crew cut with great flair. Second of all, I distinctly remember standing in line with you to get Neil Gaiman’s autograph! I’m just giving you a hard time – the weekend went by so fast, a lot of it has blurred together for me, and I can’t remember lots of details.

    • June 3, 2009 9:13 am

      Darn it, I knew I was leaving someone out! So sorry!! You are the greatest letting me cut in line like that!

  2. June 3, 2009 8:59 am

    Your post brought some tears to my eyes. I know it must be rough to have to deal with the “new” you but a cancer free you, with short hair is really okay and hopefully you will ease into it soon. Personally, there are not many people out there that could pull off a short hair but I think you do it beautifully 🙂

    • June 3, 2009 9:14 am

      Ti – thanks for the nice comment. It is hard when I look at pictures of myself pre-cancer, but know that the new me shows that I am a survivor!

  3. June 3, 2009 9:02 am

    I just want to reiterate what Kathy said — YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL now! You don’t need to show us old pictures. I think you are amazing in so many ways! Your “new” look shows the woman you’ve become — strong, smart, resilient, etc. Embrace it because you are so special!!!

    I loved spending time with you and getting to know you better! You are so much fun!

  4. June 3, 2009 10:05 am

    Thanks for the great BEA posts. I’m jealous you all got to meet! I’m also very happy for you 🙂

  5. June 3, 2009 10:07 am

    It was great meeting you too!!!!

  6. June 3, 2009 10:11 am

    You are right – the “new” you shows that you are a survivor and I might also add such an inspiration to all who meet you. My BEA experience was greatly enhanced by getting to know you!

  7. janicu permalink
    June 3, 2009 10:17 am

    Hair always grows back. I didn’t realize that the short haired lady on the blogger panel was you – I thought it was a rocking fashion statement. You pull it off. Anyway, thanks for the pictures, I hope to meet you one day! 🙂

  8. June 3, 2009 10:33 am

    Thanks for sharing these wonderful pictures! You look beautiful in short and long hair! It’s so nice to hear about all of the bloggers meeting it sounds like an amazing experience! I’m seriously considering going to BEA next year.

  9. June 3, 2009 11:48 am

    It was great to meet you on the street and in the elevator, and I think you look great!

  10. June 3, 2009 12:02 pm

    Wow! BEA was great and your participation on the book blogger panel was awesome. Thanks.

  11. June 3, 2009 12:19 pm

    The short hair shows off your face more. I think it looks great!

  12. June 3, 2009 1:34 pm

    If I say “you’re beautiful inside and out” will it sound trite? You are extremely confident, fun, and smart … yes, a survivor!

    I was happy to share the revolving door in my hotel room with you (we really should have staged a pillow fight pic!)

    Oh, and I’m green with envy that you met the author of LAST NIGHT IN MONTREAL … I read her novel on the train to NY, loved it!

  13. June 3, 2009 2:10 pm

    You are beautiful, before and after…beautiful. I have a friend who just went through chemo, she loves wearing her shirt that says: Bald is Beautiful. Bald says Survivor.

    I almost cried the first time I saw that shirt.

  14. June 3, 2009 5:20 pm

    Your post brought me to tears, as well. I’m sure that it must be hard to feel beautiful in this interim time because of your exterior not looking like what you are used to. But, just remember that this is temporary and your beauty eminates from the inside out!

    Sheri
    A Novel Menagerie

  15. Fiona permalink
    June 3, 2009 9:13 pm

    Hi there, what kind of cancer did you have? I am a 7 year breast cancer survivor – I was diagnosed while still breast feeding my son at only 30 years old. My sis has since battled breast cancer too. She has nearly hit the 2 year mark. My hair is long again now and I feel better than ever! Hang in there!

    • June 4, 2009 7:36 am

      I have breast cancer, stage 2, caught early due to a routine mammo. I am 35 years old. My sister, who is nine years older, luckily doesn’t have bc, but is at high risk since my mom also had it. Congrats on the 7 year mark!!

  16. June 3, 2009 9:59 pm

    Looks like so much fun. I may have to think about going next year.

    You look beautiful!

  17. June 4, 2009 1:07 pm

    Nice picks. I had to chuckle at what you were saying previously and then looking at the picture of you and Julianne Moore. I thought it was a god picture of you. Of course it’s hard to look good when standing next to Julianne Moore. I’m not sure if any of us can.

  18. June 4, 2009 3:34 pm

    Well, I think you look beautiful. You even look good sitting next to Julianne Moore. That’s pretty amazing. But, I can see how you’d miss your hair. I certainly would miss mine. My mother always hated watching her hair fall out, so she got it buzzed whenever she knew she was about to start losing hair.

  19. June 4, 2009 3:58 pm

    Stephanie, you’re beautiful!! And you have a sassy ‘do that is representative of the new survivor you! It’s a badge of honor and triumph. I love that I got to meet you and look forward to the next great meet up!

  20. June 4, 2009 7:26 pm

    You’re beautiful! 🙂 Thanks for sharing the pictures.

    I’m really loving your BEA posts!

  21. June 8, 2009 9:55 pm

    Stephanie, you look gorgeous, then and now! I’m so enjoying reading everyone’s BEA posts and being able to put faces to names now. I really hope that I make it to BEA next year!

  22. June 8, 2009 10:51 pm

    I love your hair as it is. And how it was. The important thing is that you are healthy!!!

    It was so great meeting you in NY!!

    Gayle

    • June 9, 2009 12:17 pm

      Gayle,
      I just realized that I’ve been spelling your name incorrectly. Sorry about that. I should know better, since my middle name is the same as your first, although spelled Gale (I was named after my grandmother’s maiden name)!

Leave a Reply

