Skip to content

The Laws of Harmony

May 27, 2009

The Laws of Harmony: A NovelSunny Cooper has always been a “half glass empty” kind of girl. After an unhappy childhood spent in a commune in New Mexico, she is still haunted by memories of her little sister who died as a child. Now thirty one years old, Sunny lives with her boyfriend Michael and has a strained relationship with her hippie mother Gwen.  

When tragedy strikes again, details about Michael start to emerge and Sunny realizes that he wasn’t the man she thought he was. After an unsatisfying visit with her mother, Sunny decides on a whim to pack up and head North West. She finds herself in the town of Harmony on a remote island off the coast of Washington State. With the help of some unlikely new friends, Sunny starts to rebuild her life.  But what will happen when her past starts to catch up with her?

I had read a really good review of The Laws of Harmony by Judith Ryan Hendricks over at Lesley’s Book Nook and added the book to my wish list right way (I’ve joked before that Lesley is my long lost twin, since we both seem to have the same taste in books). So when the book turned up on the TLC Book Tour website, I jumped at the chance to get a copy for myself.

The Laws of Harmony is a book about relationships. Sunny’s strained relationship with her mother, her slowly deteriorating relationship with Michael, her relationship with her new neighbors in Harmony, even the one with her uptight new landlord. Hendricks is a master at exploring each of these relationships. I especially love the development of Sunny’s character from a woman determined to keep to herself to someone, with a little push by the well-meaning people in her new small town, who begins to embrace her new friends and trust in people again.

Throughout the book Hendricks gives us a glimpse  into Sunny’s life growing up in a commune, which helps the reader understand her current relationship with her mother and how she became the person she is today. We get to explore a way of life most of us are unfamiliar with and learn how important it is for Sunny to come to terms with her childhood in order for her to grow as a person.

I love the fact that the end of the book gives the reader a chance to use their imagination a little bit. We get an idea of what direction Sunny’s life is headed in, but are left wondering how it all turns out. This book will stick with me, the characters not too far from my mind, and for me this is the mark of a truly great work of fiction. For sure, this is one of the best books I’ve read this year. Maybe a sequel will be in the works? I sure hope so, as I would love to visit the town of Harmony again.

If you would like to read an interesting interview with Judi, please check out Ti’s blog Book Chatter and other stuff. And check back here in a few days for a guest post by Judi herself!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2009 8:02 pm

    I’m looking forward to reading this book.

  2. May 27, 2009 8:50 pm

    I loved Lesley’s review too and your was fantastic. I want to read this one really bad!!!

  3. May 28, 2009 8:33 am

    I’m so happy you liked this one because it was one of my favorites for the year so far too. 🙂

  4. May 28, 2009 10:15 am

    Thanks for the review, Steph! I’m so glad you liked the book.

  5. May 29, 2009 10:33 am

    Hi. I just gave you a blog award!. Come see.

  6. June 2, 2009 8:27 am

    I read this entire book in one day, one big gulp. I couldn’t put it down. I was initially attracted to the setting in New Mexico (where I live), but soon got caught up in the story. A wonderful book.

  7. June 15, 2009 8:33 pm

    How did I miss this post?! Thanks for the nice words about my review. And, yes, I do believe we are reading twins. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Judi Hendricks, Author of The Laws of Harmony, on tour May 2009 | TLC Book Tours

Leave a Reply

