Skip to content

LOOK at this library!

May 20, 2009

I found these pictures over at one of my favorite non-bookish blogs Hooked on Houses. Diane Keaton just put her Spanish Colonial Beverly Hills mansion on the market for about $11.9 million. Just look at her library!

I just adore the stenciled letters on the ceiling, the built in bookshelves and the huge light fixture, although have to say I would probably want a couch that doesn’t look so uncomfortable! What do you guys think? Is this your dream library?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. janicu permalink
    May 20, 2009 9:42 am

    The only miss is that the bench looks not that comfy and so many doors into the room mean less shelves for books. Otherwise.. pretty droolworthy.

  2. May 20, 2009 10:11 am

    I love Hooked on Houses too!

  3. May 20, 2009 10:30 am

    Is it just me, or do those large, stenciled letters remind anyone of Big Brother? I normally enjoy letter stencils but it seems a bit over the top in that space.

    That bench has got to go, although I see a comfy chair in the pic as well. The room itself doesn’t appear to be used much. It doesn’t have that “lived in” feeling.

    When we were looking for a house we came across one that had a custom library that was built into a loft space. The owner adding a spiral staircase and all of the shelves were carved by hand. I walked up those stairs and practically drooled all over the carpet. It was darkish.. which I tend to like but had plenty are lighting available when needed. It has huge, oversized leather chairs and smallish handcarved end tables. It was gorgeous! It even overlooked the pool and you could hear the trickle of water from a fountain. I wanted to buy that house but the rest of the layout did not work for us.

    That was my dream library and I have a loft now! All I need is money and time 🙂

  4. May 20, 2009 10:39 am

    Yes definitely a comfy couch instead of that one but wow! I could totally see myself spending hours and hours in there. Sigh.

  5. May 20, 2009 11:32 am

    I love the stenciled letters! It makes it look like a bookstore, but I don’t see what’s wrong with that – I would love that library!

  6. May 20, 2009 11:35 am

    Sooooo pretty. What I really like about it is it would actually be achievable to make something like this in your own home! Unlike the awesome Beauty and the Beast style libraries that I could never ever have.

  7. May 20, 2009 11:57 am

    Oh my! I am completely in love…..completely.

    I so want a lib like that in my house. Dream.

  8. May 20, 2009 2:56 pm

    Yes to the comfortable couch – something overstuffed. I would also like white shelves and carpet. And two doors should be ample allowing more room for more shelves.

  9. May 20, 2009 3:15 pm

    My couch would work soooooo much better in that room. Therefore, I think it should be mine. 😀 Although the big words are a little creepy…it’s almost like they’re shouting.

  10. May 20, 2009 6:28 pm

    I love the high light-filled ceiling!! The couch has to go, but the mission style leather chair and ottoman will work for me 🙂

    I wonder if the number 3 has some significance, or if a decorator just thought it would look fun …

  11. May 20, 2009 8:13 pm

    I love the stenciled letters but only if the fonts are not that big. And I’d definitely get a more comfy couch to lie on, hehe.

  12. May 20, 2009 10:31 pm

    Wow. That is a GORGEOUS library! I want!!

  13. May 21, 2009 5:44 am

    They need some big wide squishy chairs, but other than that it is perfection! Love the stencils!

  14. May 21, 2009 9:09 am

    Very nice, and kind of surreal as the light fixture makes the perspective look skewed. I agree the couch is pretty but does not look comfortable – perhaps it’s to keep you awake?

  15. May 21, 2009 9:30 am

    WOW!!!!!!! I want to live in there. It is AWESOME! Thanks for posting these pictures. That place looks like heaven to me!

  16. May 21, 2009 10:12 am

    What a beautiful librabry. I would love to have one like that that would include a fireplace! How serene

  17. May 21, 2009 10:28 am

    Isn’t that library cool? I just like that it’s kind of different and quirky, even though it wouldn’t really fit my own personal style (or comfort level).

    Thanks for the shout-out, Stephanie! -Julia 🙂

  18. May 21, 2009 5:31 pm

    That bench looks miserable! You’d think she would have sprung for some comfy chairs. But, wow. Love it, otherwise.

  19. May 24, 2009 3:02 pm

    Oh I love it! I think I could use some of these ideas…

Leave a Reply

