Skip to content

Rest, rest and more rest

April 29, 2009

You would think after having major surgery all I would be doing is lounging around the house with fuzzy slippers on (which is probably what I should have be doing) but instead we’ve had a few people visit , gone back into the city for a doctor’s appointment and have spent lots of time playing outdoors, which means I haven’t been giving myself too much time to heal (how’s that for a run on sentence)!

So this morning I put on those fuzzy slippers and after taking my meds have comfortably plopped my butt down on the couch, where I hope it will stay for the rest of the day. I’ve got all the things that require a relaxing day – babysitter for Maya, cup of coffee, glass of water, cell phone, laptop and my recent read, Such a Pretty Fat by Jen Lancaster, a laugh-out-loud memoir about dieting.

Such a Pretty Fat: One Narcissist's Quest To Discover if Her Life Makes Her Ass LookBig, Or Why Pie is Not The AnswerI’m feeling good after surgery, although still pretty soar. I had double mastectomy/tissue expander surgery. The tissue expanders are like temporary implants, but quite small. Each week (starting next Tuesday) I will have the expanders filled with saline, slowly enlarging them. This should take approximately 6 to 8 weeks to end up with the size I want. Then, after giving your body a rest for an additional 8 weeks, I’ll have a second surgery where they will take the expanders out and put in the breast implants. For right now, the expanders make me feel like I’m wearing a bra five times too small – not all too comfortable, but something I can manage.

I’ll be spending a bit more time on the computer this morning, maybe take a little nap (my painkiller sometimes makes me sleepy) and will get back to reading my book. Hope that you all have a relaxing day too!

24 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2009 10:04 am

    Oh wow, yes you definitely need to let your body rest! I commend you..you are an amazing woman, an inspiration!

  2. April 29, 2009 10:06 am

    Hi Stephanie, Glad to hear you’ll be donning your monkey slippers and plopping on the couch.. exactly what you need, I’m sure!

  3. April 29, 2009 10:07 am

    Please take care of yourself. You’ve been through so much. I agree with Jenn, you are an amazing woman.

  4. April 29, 2009 10:56 am

    I’m happy to hear that surgery went well and that you are active, though I suspect this day’s rest is what the doctor ordered and will be something you need to recover more quickly. I’m glad you will be curled up on the couch today. happy reading.

  5. April 29, 2009 11:17 am

    Wow! You are doing really well but I am glad you have decided to take a break and rest a bit. Your body will thank you!

  6. April 29, 2009 11:20 am

    Rest up don’t let it catch up with you :)Enjoy your book!

  7. April 29, 2009 1:33 pm

    Rest up and enjoy your reading. Sending happy healthy relaxing energy thoughts your way. 🙂

  8. April 29, 2009 5:11 pm

    Rest, rest, rest! You seem to be doing well.

  9. April 29, 2009 8:25 pm

    Hey Stephanie! I hope you stuck with your plan and stayed embedded in the couch today. Rocky and I are filling our days in the hotel with movie rentals, review reading, CNN watching (getting sick of hearing about the Piggy Flu) and napping. Only thirteen more days in Oki and then it’s back to “The Real World.”
    Take care!! BTW, are you going smaller, same or bigger? TMI?

  10. April 29, 2009 9:17 pm

    I have the monkey slippers in green… so comfy! I really liked Such a Pretty Fat. I, too, make great key-lime martinis and think Jen Lancaster is great in this book. Don’t get caught laughing too hard and bursting a stich or two!

    Hugs and prayers.

    Sheri

  11. April 29, 2009 10:07 pm

    Glad you’re taking care of yourself – hope you keep doing it and feel better and better!

  12. April 29, 2009 10:47 pm

    Make sure to rest, rest, rest! (though it is so nice to see you writing again and “hear” your voice on the blog). You are amazing.

  13. April 29, 2009 11:08 pm

    Have lots of rest and happy reading! 🙂

  14. April 30, 2009 8:56 am

    Never underestimate the importance of rest in the healing process…my boss, a nurse, as well as my mother agree 🙂

    Take care, Stephanie, and enjoy this extra reading time!

  15. April 30, 2009 6:16 pm

    Glad you came through surgery good! Even more happy that you seem to doing well afterward. 🙂 Enjoy your book!

  16. April 30, 2009 7:41 pm

    Glad to hear that everything went well Stephanie. Take care.

  17. April 30, 2009 8:25 pm

    I hope you’re still resting!

  18. May 1, 2009 1:51 am

    i’m thinking of you and hoping you’re feeling a bit better each day. 🙂

    as for jen lancaster–she might be just what the doctor ordered! i love her stuff and was treated to an advance copy of ‘pretty in plaid’, to be released on 5/4. i laughed so hard that i got tear stains on the pages (which i blogged about!). i’m posting a review on 5/4…and jen is going to be in nyc on 5/7. i’m a bit of a rabid fan!

  19. eileensblog permalink
    May 1, 2009 1:47 pm

    Please rest, and rest for me too while you’re at it! Hope you’re fully healed soon!

  20. May 4, 2009 11:59 am

    I’m glad the surgery went well, and that you’re getting some rest! Take care of yourself. Most importantly (hee hee), enjoy your reading time.

  21. May 5, 2009 10:49 am

    I’m finally catching up on emails and blogs after our little get-away trip. I’m so glad the surgery went well and that your recovery is going so smoothly. Enjoy your reading time! I’ll answer your email questions later this week. Take good care, Steph!

  22. May 6, 2009 11:48 am

    I couldn’t believe you were back on Twitter the day after your surgery! Good to see that you’re putting your feet up and resting! We love to hear from you, but your healing comes first … now, go take a nap 🙂

  23. May 8, 2009 9:54 pm

    Fuzzy slippers are such a nice feeling on your feet. My good friend Heather had the same procedure done a few years ago. I’m glad to see that you’re in good spirits and taking care of yourself!!

  24. May 11, 2009 8:40 am

    I stumbled over your blog. I give you alot of credit with the surgery and what you are going through. I hope you have a speedy recovery. I will be praying for you. Get better soon. All those trips to NYC from NJ, and procedures. I don’t think I could do it. But you do what you have to do.

Leave a Reply

