Skip to content

A little bloggy break

April 20, 2009

Hello my friends! I just wanted to tell you all that I am heading off on Wednesday into New York City to have surgery. As all of my long time blogging friends know, I have recently finished chemotherapy treatments for breast cancer and have two preventative surgeries to go until this whole process is done. I will be staying in the hospital for two evenings, heading back home on Friday, and will be hanging low for a few days after that. I hope to be back blogging (and commenting) by mid-to-late next week.

After my surgery I will  be traveling back into the city once a week for six to eight weeks. Usually I just drive to my doctor’s office (without traffic it takes about 1 hour 15 minutes) but think that I might travel to my appointments via New Jersey Transit, giving me at least an hour each way of uninterrupted reading time! Doesn’t sound to shabby, right? Maybe I’ll even run into Book Club Girl, who is a transit traveler too!

In the meantime, I’ve been reading quite a lot and will be posting reviews of the following books over the next few weeks:

Cover ImageCover ImageCover Image

Cover ImageCover ImageCover Image

Hope you all have a great week. Happy reading!!

38 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2009 8:57 pm

    Good luck, Stephanie. We’ll all be thinking about you. Looks like you have some great books to read! See you @BEA!

  2. April 20, 2009 8:58 pm

    I love your “silver lining” attitude – uninterrupted reading time on NJ Transit!

    We’ll all be thinking of you on Wednesday and over the next weeks as you continue to heal … we’ll see you when you’re back.

  3. April 20, 2009 9:13 pm

    Good luck, hon!

  4. April 20, 2009 9:26 pm

    Good luck, Stephanie! We’ll be thinking of you.

  5. April 20, 2009 9:30 pm

    Good luck!! And happy reading. 😀

  6. April 20, 2009 9:31 pm

    Well, I have not been privileged to read your blog until just recently so I have had no idea of your recent battles! I will certainly be thinking about you over these next few weeks — and I am definitely counting the weeks until I can meet you in person at the BEA.

    On another note — I just saw The Sugar Queen at the bookstore yesterday and I thought it looked VERY interesting. I am anxious to read your review, when you have the time!

  7. April 20, 2009 9:48 pm

    We’ll all be thinking of you and sending positive thoughts your way!

  8. April 20, 2009 9:54 pm

    Good luck! Looks like you have some great books to read while you recuperate.

  9. sprucehillfarm permalink
    April 20, 2009 10:13 pm

    Good luck on Wednesday I will be thinking about you all day and praying for a speedy recovery. Please feel free to e-mail me any time if you have any questions. I will be holding your hand in spirit! 🙂

    Have fun with all of the reading!

  10. April 20, 2009 10:19 pm

    Good luck! I hope it all goes well!

  11. April 20, 2009 10:34 pm

    What a journey. As with every woman or man (my father had breast cancer) that goes through cancer, I know you have a story to tell. We all love you for being who you are, sharing your journey with all of us, and charging forward with your love of books and reading. Thanks for allowing us a special look inside your world. I know we all wish you nothing but the best, and for doctors and nurses that can give you endless expertise and plenty of tender loving care. All my best. I’ll be thinking about you!

  12. April 20, 2009 11:19 pm

    Stephanie, I’ll be thinking of you this week, as will so many others, and I hope you’ll be able to truly feel all the love and care we are sending your way. Your positive attitude is inspiring and it’s so great that you can find the good in this sucky situation (the uninterrupted reading time!) I wish you all the very best this week and look forward to hearing from you when you return home. Looks like you have some great reading material! I really enjoyed The Sugar Queen and will be watching for your review. Take care, my blogging friend. xoxoxo

  13. April 20, 2009 11:49 pm

    Make sure you get as much rest as you can, we’ll all be here when you get back 🙂

  14. April 20, 2009 11:54 pm

    I hope that everything goes well!

  15. April 21, 2009 12:10 am

    I think of you often, will continue to lift you up in prayers!

  16. April 21, 2009 1:31 am

    I hope your surgery goes well and you are feeling better soon!

  17. April 21, 2009 2:59 am

    Good luck, Stephanie! See you soon.

  18. April 21, 2009 7:16 am

    Stephanie, hope you can feel all the hugs being sent out. Also the positive thoughts.

  19. April 21, 2009 7:19 am

    Stephanie, thinking all kinds of good thoughts for you.

  20. maureen desantis permalink
    April 21, 2009 7:51 am

    Good luck…I’ll be sending prayers your way. Enjoy that train reading time:-)

  21. April 21, 2009 8:51 am

    Good luck with everything. I will be praying for you! Get well soon so we can have fun at BEA.

  22. April 21, 2009 11:34 am

    My thoughts are with you Stephanie. I hope everything works out perfectly.

  23. April 21, 2009 11:49 am

    Hey, good luck with your surgeries! Or, you know, good skillz to your surgeons. And happy reading to you! Transit time is totally guilt-free reading time, because you CAN’T be doing anything else!!

  24. April 21, 2009 12:42 pm

    Wishing you all the best Stephanie! Hope all goes well and hope you’ll have lots of good books to keep you entertained on the commute 🙂

  25. April 21, 2009 1:27 pm

    I will be praying for your surgery to go well and that you will be all done very soon. Come visit me in Hawaii. Maybe you can ask dad for this for your birthday. We can read on the beach and you can get a break while we spoil your kids. I say definitely take the transit so you can read, read, read. If you are going to have to go to NY you might as well read. If you get the chance go up to Serendipities one day and enjoy their frozen hot cocoa. It is so awesome!!!!!! HUGS!!!!!!!

  26. April 21, 2009 1:41 pm

    good luck. we’ll be thinking of you and sending you positive vibes.

  27. April 21, 2009 1:45 pm

    Stephanie, good luck with your surgery! I’ll be keeping you in my prayers.

    You’ve been reading some great books lately! I’m looking forward to your reviews.

  28. April 21, 2009 5:39 pm

    Good luck!

  29. April 21, 2009 8:19 pm

    Take Care Stephanie and we’ll all be thinking of you during this time!!

  30. April 21, 2009 8:51 pm

    Best of luck with your appointments. A little extra reading time never hurts and it might help you keep up your energy. Look forward to the reviews!

  31. April 21, 2009 10:48 pm

    i’ll be thinking of you and sending you wishes for successful surgery and speedy recovery. my dad has been fighting cancer for six years and i know the road can be long and filled with speed bumps, detours, and dark tunnels. all the best. xoxo

  32. April 21, 2009 11:00 pm

    Stephanie, I would love to ride on the train with you! I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow and remember, I’m not that far away, please let me know if you need a casserole delivered! Looks like a great collection of books for your recovery!!

  33. April 22, 2009 10:23 pm

    Will be thinking of you and sending thoughts and prayers for a quick recovery and easy travels! You’ve got some great reading ahead of you. I loved The Sugar Queen.

  34. April 22, 2009 10:38 pm

    Best wishes to you!!!! Will be thinking of you and wishing good things your way.

  35. April 23, 2009 4:30 pm

    Sending you all the best for this week Stephanie.

  36. April 25, 2009 7:42 pm

    Oh Stephanie. I’m sorry I don’t get over here much and am so sorry that you have been going through this. I pray that the remaining surgeries go well and that after all this is over you have a long, long, long life of being a survivor and an overcomer. I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers.

  37. April 26, 2009 12:27 am

    I will be praying for you.

  38. March 16, 2011 4:08 am

    Maybe Alcazzarre could help you to solve your problems? You’r welcome pal.

Leave a Reply

