Skip to content

Book Expo America

March 22, 2009

Book Expo America (BEA) is being held on May 28 – 31, 2009 at the Jacob Javits Center in New York City this year. Since I live only an hours drive out of Manhattan, I’m thinking about attending. 

BEA is a conference geared towards the North American publishing industry. There will be 500+ authors attending, hundreds of new titles on a show floor with 2,000 exhibitors and an autographing area. There is also a New Media Zone area, which is a place on the show floor which shines a spotlight on new media and gives lit bloggers, podcasters, digital content and e book publishers a home at BEA.  There is also going to be consumer panels, including three panels where teens, boomers and bookclub leaders discuss their reading and book buying habits and what influences them to buy a title.

Have any of you book bloggers attending BEA? If so, was it worth your time and money? I know that it is geared towards publishing professionals, but as a book blogger I think it might be interesting to attend. I’m a bit on the fence…

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2009 2:23 pm

    i saw something on this and was seriously considering going…nyc is only a hop and skip from me. hmmm…maybe i can get some more arcs out of the deal…not like i don’t have enough already.

  2. March 22, 2009 2:31 pm

    I went last year and loved every second. I plan to go again this year…we need to have a book blogger meet-up!

  3. March 22, 2009 2:45 pm

    I’ve never been, but I’m going this year.

  4. March 22, 2009 3:36 pm

    BEA sounds great. I’m in Ca. so it’s a bit far for me to travel but if I were closer I would definitely try to go.

  5. March 22, 2009 3:49 pm

    I am giving serious thought to going. We have friends in NYC, so housing isn’t a problem. I would love to hear more info about it as well.

  6. March 22, 2009 4:32 pm

    I’m curious to hear what people answer. It would be a major ordeal for me to get to one of these book events, but I’ve so wanted to attend. I’ll be eager to hear what people say about attending.

  7. March 22, 2009 6:02 pm

    Please go! You’re one of the reasons I started blogging. I’d love to meet you! 🙂 I’m going to get there around noon on Friday and stay for the weekend.

  8. March 22, 2009 10:21 pm

    If we are all settled in by then, that might be a fun weekend. NYC is only a few hour drive up 95 from DC ya know. I’ll keep this idea on the back burner and let you know. Any idea if this event sells out?

  9. March 23, 2009 9:06 am

    I’m not that far from Manhattan either, so I may head on up…depends on the money issue.

  10. March 23, 2009 1:14 pm

    OK, I’ve registered and can’t wait to go!

  11. March 23, 2009 1:17 pm

    This sounds awesome to me. I would go. Who knows when you will get it back in your area again. And don’t forget to stop at Serendipities while you are there for some frozen hot chocolate.

  12. March 23, 2009 2:46 pm

    I’m kind of interested in going, but what do you register AS when you’re a book blogger? I’ve been looking at the form and thinking – hmm, am I allowed to go?

  13. March 23, 2009 6:06 pm

    Hey Steph! So what category did you register under?

  14. March 24, 2009 11:27 am

    I would love to go but I live on the West Coast and I am not fond of flying! If anyone goes, I hope they post what it was like on their blogs.

  15. March 24, 2009 9:43 pm

    I’m so jealous of all those attending! I would love to go but am in a friend’s wedding that weekend.

  16. March 26, 2009 2:04 am

    BEC (BookExpo Canada) was cancelled this year. From what I’d been hearing, not much of a surprise… but there goes my chance of EVER seeing it!

  17. March 26, 2009 6:44 pm

    I’m going to be going for the first time this year. I am looking forward to meeting up with some of the other bloggers who will be attending.

  18. April 14, 2009 7:42 am

    I am so jealous that you all get to go.

  19. rgmargolis permalink
    May 28, 2009 12:51 am

    I’m going to the Book Expo as a first time author so all those coming please stop by the New Market Press table and come chat with me about my book Yiddish Yoga: Ruthie’s Adventures in Love, Loss and the Lotus Position!
    (www.yiddishyoga.com).

    It’s coming out in August at stores near you — and check out my web site at http://www.yiddishyoga.com

    Free bagels for everyone — and a raffle to win a yoga session!

    best,
    Lisa
    Philadelphia, PA

Trackbacks

  1. Book Expo America - please help! « Stephanie’s Written Word

Leave a Reply

