Skip to content

Once Upon a Time III

March 20, 2009

It’s that time of year again! First day of spring brings a dusting of snow to my New Jersey neighborhood and to the book blogging community the Once Upon a Time III Challenge hosted by Carl V.! I’ve been stockpiling books to read for this year’s challenge for over a month and am so excited to get reading!

OUAT2

I’m going to participate in the “Quest the First” challenge, which is to read five books that fit somewhere within the Once Upon a Time III criteria. They might all be fantasy, or folklore, or fairy tales, or mythology…or your five books might be a combination from the four genres.

A few of these titles were on my list during last year’s challenge (which I never ended up reading) and two of them are “new to me” books.

Godmother, The Secret Cinderella Story
A Wrinkle in Time
The Stolen Child

Once Upon a Marigold
Book of a Thousand Days

Thanks again Carl for hosting such a fun challenge. I am so excited about getting started!

If you too would like to participate in the Once Upon a Time III challenge, just stop by here to sign up.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2009 10:16 am

    What a lovely looking pile of books 😀 Happy reading!

  2. March 20, 2009 10:30 am

    Good luck.

  3. March 20, 2009 11:20 am

    good list! i read the stolen child some time ago.. i’ll be interested in your review on that one!

  4. March 20, 2009 11:39 am

    I love “book pile” pics. Your stack looks like a lot of fun.

  5. March 20, 2009 11:56 am

    I’m excited that you are joining in! That stack of books looks wonderful. Once Upon a Marigold is a delightful book that I just adore. The rest are all books I too want to read at some point.

  6. March 20, 2009 12:17 pm

    it snowed here today?!?! that’s the bummer of living by the beach…we don’t get as much snow as the rest of the state. 🙂

    i love the shot of your books. enjoy the weekend.

    nat @ book, line, and sinker

  7. March 20, 2009 12:29 pm

    I love your bookstack photo! I love A Wrinkle in Time, and enjoyed Book of a Thousand Days. Enjoy your reading and I look forward to your reviews!

  8. March 20, 2009 12:48 pm

    Natalie – yep, just a little snow this morning – it was gone by 10 a.m. Hope this is the last snow of the season!

  9. March 20, 2009 1:11 pm

    Ooo…I’m wanting to read Godmother too. Looks good!

  10. March 20, 2009 1:47 pm

    Looks like a wonderful pile of books! I’ve been wanting to read Book of a Thousand Days for a while, but can’t seem to get around to it. And I loved A Wrinkle in Time! I’ve never heard of Once Upon a Marigold, but the name alone has me enchanted, so I can’t wait to hear what you think of it. Have fun!

  11. March 20, 2009 2:02 pm

    I am so happy to see you reading A Wrinkle in Time. I LOVE A Wrinkle in Time! I also like Book of a Thousand Days and The Stolen Child, so I think you are in for a treat! Happy Reading!

  12. March 20, 2009 2:57 pm

    You have a great list of book. I enjoyed A Wrinkle in Time. Haven’t heard of any of the other books you are reading, so look forward to your reviews. My post is up here

  13. March 20, 2009 2:59 pm

    I read the Stolen Child Last Year and really enjoyed it. A Wrinkle in Time is a classic that I haven’t read since I was a kid. Hmm. Maybe I will have to re-read it. I am looking forward to your reviews.

  14. March 20, 2009 3:09 pm

    What a beautiful stack of books. They almost look too pretty to open and read. Almost. I look foward to seeing you blog about them.

  15. March 20, 2009 4:10 pm

    What a wonderful list – I’m sure you will love The Stolen Child. It is such a good book!

  16. March 20, 2009 5:28 pm

    That sounds like a fun list! I’ve only read A Wrinkle in Time of those, and heard of Godmother: The Secret Cinderella Story only today. They all sound intruiging, though! (*chants “I shall not look them up yet”*)

  17. Vasilly permalink
    March 20, 2009 6:53 pm

    You have a great list! The Stolen Child and A Wrinkle in Time are great reads! Good luck!

  18. March 20, 2009 7:18 pm

    The Stolen Child and a Wrinkle in Time are great stories (I plan on re-reading the latter). Enjoy!

  19. March 20, 2009 9:50 pm

    Oh … great list! I haven’t done mine yet, but I’m getting some really good ideas!

  20. March 20, 2009 10:39 pm

    I love your picture. I hope you enjoy the books!

  21. March 20, 2009 10:49 pm

    Those look like some great books! I have read Book of a Thousand Days and I LOVED it!

  22. March 21, 2009 10:55 am

    Nice pic. I must get around to reading A Wrinkle in Time someday, so many people love it.

  23. March 22, 2009 8:23 am

    I never heard of Once Upon a Marigold so I clicked on your link- but it took me to Book of a Thousand Days on amazon. Was that an error?

  24. March 23, 2009 1:43 pm

    The Stolen Child is excellent! As is A Wrinkle in Time. Have fun!!

  25. March 23, 2009 9:18 pm

    Another fantastic photo of books. They make me feel all happy when I look at them. I remember loving A Wrinkle in Time when I read it as a summer reading choice as a kid. I was just thinking how I need to reread it soon!

  26. March 26, 2009 1:04 pm

    Ooh, great list! Enjoy! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Once Upon a Time III « Regular Rumination
  2. Stainless Steel Droppings » Blog Archive » Once Upon a Time III

Leave a Reply

