Skip to content

Cover Atttraction – March 18th

March 18, 2009

The Noodle Maker: A NovelI recently came upon these fun posts over at The Printed Page called Cover Attraction and thought I would play along. I’ve been studying Graphic Design for a while now and just love to browse through the bookstore for design ideas and inspiration. So what cover caught my eye this week? The Noodle Maker by Ma Jian (as mentioned at The Striped Armchair) is simple, clean and beautiful – just the type of cover I am usually attracted to.

I also found out some interesting facts about the author on the Random House website:

 

author spotlight

Ma Jian was born in Qingdao, China, in 1953. After working as a photojournalist for a state-run magazine, he left China for Hong Kong in 1987 but continued to return to China, notably to support the pro-democracy activist in Tiananmen Square in 1989. He is the author of Red Dust, winner of the Thomas Cook Travel Book Award; The Noodle Maker, a novel; and Stick Out Your Tongue, stories about Tibet that prompted the Chinese government to ban Ma Jian’s work, and that set him on the road to exile. He now lives in London.

 

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2009 10:28 am

    I have really been attracted to a lot of dark covers lately. I’m not a dark person, as least I don’t believe myself to be dark so I find it interesting. The cover you chose is simple and clean, just as you said and it would definitely catch my eye if I saw it at the bookstore.

  2. March 18, 2009 10:33 am

    I love this cover too! The orangey-yellow of it is so pretty. 🙂

    I’m glad you included that blurb about the author, because I totally thought it was a woman author. Whoops! I’m really bad about figuring out gender with Asian names.

  3. March 18, 2009 11:15 am

    Ti – I too like dark colored covers, but I guess since it’s spring all the light colors are catching my eye!

    Eva – I’m married to a Chinese man and both of our daughters have Chinese middle names and I sometimes can’t tell if an name is male or female either (and assumed, as you did, that this book was written by a woman). Guess I should have asked my husband? 🙂

  4. March 18, 2009 12:11 pm

    I would absolutely pick that book up just by the cover alone. In fact I printed off Eva’s post because I thought she had a lot of books listed that “looked” good!!

  5. March 18, 2009 12:25 pm

    Thank you for posting a Cover Attraction this week. It is simply beautiful. I was drawn to the art work on the bowls.

  6. March 18, 2009 5:25 pm

    That’s very pretty. It sounds like a fun meme to participate in.

  7. March 18, 2009 5:34 pm

    I love that cover too.

  8. March 18, 2009 7:47 pm

    I love this cover too. Simple but yet so eye-catching!

  9. March 18, 2009 8:26 pm

    i’m such a sucker for a good cover…but lately it’s been working against me. 😦 i need to read the book jackets more carefully after picking a book purely on its cover. 🙂
    nat @ book, line, and sinker

  10. March 18, 2009 10:05 pm

    I know squat about design, but I’m totally guilty of buying books because my brain says, “ooh, pretty!” This cover would’ve caught my eye, too.

  11. March 19, 2009 1:43 pm

    I like this cover, too. I love yellows and oranges (so warm!), so that might be part of it.

    –Anna

  12. March 19, 2009 9:47 pm

    It’s a grabber, all right. I don’t like yellow all that much, but that doesn’t put me off because the design is, as you said, simple and clean.

  13. March 20, 2009 7:19 pm

    Very neat cover! It would certainly catch my eye on shelf!

  14. thatsthebook permalink
    March 23, 2009 10:03 pm

    When I was in Korea I came across that book and couldn’t leave it in the store. I must say that it was a great novel. The outside definitely displayed the wonderful things between the covers.

  15. March 27, 2009 10:16 pm

    I mus say that this cover would attract me too. Thanks for sharing it with us.
    🙂
    Kim

  16. March 28, 2009 8:27 pm

    I love this cover too – great color, and I like the stacked bowls 🙂
    I wrote about cover art yesterday, and posted two of my recent favorites.

Leave a Reply

