Skip to content

On the bookshelves (or books I want on my shelves)

February 4, 2009

HonoluluEven though there has been a slow-down of reading recently (with the exception of my first ever audio book which I will write about soon) I am still salivating over some of the new books coming out this year.

Honoluluis the new book by Alan Brennert, author of the awesome Moloka’i (which I reviewed here). Due to be released on March 3rd, Honolulu sounds like another epic story by Brennert. I can’t wait.

 

One True Theory of LoveAlso just released yesterday, One True Theory of Love, a novel by Laura Fitzgerald, author of Veil of Roses. You can read all about the new book on Laura’s website here. Laura was the first author to ever grant me an interview on my blog and I really enjoyed her first book, so am very excited for her that her second novel has been released. Since she is a really generous person, she has sent me an extra copy of her book for a giveaway. If you would like to win a copy of her new book, I will post about how you can get it very soon.

 

The Classic Regency Romance - Now with Ultraviolent Zombie Mayhem!Last but certainly not least, I have to mention Pride, Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame Smith. First mentioned the other day on Once Upon a Bookshelf  and then today on Austenprose. Pride, Prejudice and Zombies features the original text of Jane Austen’s beloved novel with all-new scenes of bone crunching zombie action. I have to say that I was totally sold after reading this excerpt over at Austenprose:

 

“Come, Darcy,” said Mr. Bingley, “I hate to see you standing by yourself in this stupid manner. You had much better dance.” 

“I certainly shall not. You know how I detest it.” 

“I would not be as fastidious as you are for a kingdom! I never met with so many pleasant girls in my life as I have this evening; and several of them are uncommonly pretty.” 

Before Mr. Darcy could respond, a chorus of screams filled the assembly hall, immediately joined by the shattering of window panes. Unmentionables scrambled in, their movements clumsy yet swift; their burial clothing in a range of untidiness. 

Guests who had the misfortune of standing near the windows were seized and feasted on at once. Elizabeth watched Mrs. Long struggle to free herself as two female dreadfuls bit into her head, cracking her skull like a walnut, and sending a shower of dark blood spouting as high as the chandeliers. 

If nothing else, you have to admit that it sure is creative! What books are you anticipating release?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2009 11:23 am

    I think i may just have to pick up that Jane Austen Zombie book…that excerpt you provided is hilarious!

  2. February 4, 2009 11:29 am

    That zombie book is something else! I wouldn’t even give it a second thought if I saw it in the bookstore but your excerpt has me laughing.

  3. February 4, 2009 11:50 am

    I had no idea Brennert was coming out with a new novel. How exciting. I loved Moloka’i, so I’m sure this one will be great as well – and how gorgeous is that cover??

  4. February 4, 2009 5:13 pm

    The Tea Rose by Jennifer Donnelly. After Testimony by Anita Shreve it’ll be read.

  5. February 4, 2009 7:49 pm

    All of them look good but now I must read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies….that cover is a hoot!!

  6. February 5, 2009 12:06 am

    I loved Molokai. I’m going to have to get Honolulu!

  7. February 5, 2009 7:30 am

    I’m happy to hear about Honolulu. I really enjoyed Moloka’i!

    I’m anxiously awaiting Pat Conroy’s new book in September. It’s called South of Broad. Then there’s Jodi Picoult’s new one called Handle With Care (due out in March). And Elizabeth Berg’s upcoming release called Home Safe.

  8. February 5, 2009 12:00 pm

    Ah yes Jodi Picoult and Sarah Addison Allen’s new book are on my TBR list.

  9. February 5, 2009 12:37 pm

    One True Theory of Love sounds really good! And I totally want to read some blogger opinions on Pride and Prejudice and zombies

  10. February 18, 2009 11:10 pm

    I know some teens in my library who would be much more willing to read Jane Austen if there was some guaranteed zombie action!

  11. February 27, 2009 4:44 pm

    Hi Stephanie,

    I managed to snag an ARC of Honolulu, and it was absolutely great! I just reviewed it on my blog, http://www.luxuryreading.com, giving away a copy too.

    It’s a must read!

  12. March 3, 2009 10:02 am

    I loved Molokai. I’m so excited he has a new one coming.

Leave a Reply

