Skip to content

A mini update (and mini challenge)

January 14, 2009

I just wanted to give a little update as to what is going on (and what I have been enjoying) recently.

  • This Friday will mark my fourth chemo treatment, which means that I will officially be half finished with my treatments! In general I feel pretty sick for four or five days after each treatment, so I must admit that I dread my chemo appointments. Having said that, I am just grateful that I’m half done and can’t wait till mid-March rolls around and I can be finished with this part of my cancer experience.
  • I’ve been reading very little recently (although I do have a couple more reviews sitting in draft form waiting to be published). One of the strange side-effects of chemo is that it makes my brain feel very “fuzzy” which means it is very hard to concentrate on reading and books.
  • So, instead of reading, I’ve been concentrating on knitting and joined the Dewey’s Knit-a-long mini-challenge and started working on a baby blanket for my girlfriend who is going to have a little girl this March. It’s a bit slow going, but the pattern is really cool and I can’t wait to share a picture with all of you!
  • While working on my knitting, I have been indulging in a little PBS Masterpiece Theater and really enjoyed the first movie, Tess of d’Urbervilles. Did you see it? If not, you can watch it on-line until January 19th. It is well worth your time and now I can’t wait to actually read the book one day. Next up on Masterpiece Theater is Wuthering Heights. You can see the whole schedule of programs here.
  • Even though my reading well has run kind of dry recently, I will be having an awesome giveaway at the end of the month to celebrate the publication of the second book one of my favorite authors (and lovely lady) so please stay tuned for that, ok?

deweyskalmed

22 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2009 11:27 am

    It’s so nice that you can adopt a positive attitude and be thankful that your treatments are half over. I’ll pray for you during this difficult time.

  2. January 14, 2009 2:16 pm

    I’m happy to hear that the knitting is going well. I am also happy those treatments are nearly finished. I send you warmest wishes.

  3. January 14, 2009 2:34 pm

    I’m glad you’re almost halfway finished!!! As to the nausea . . . I’ve found that doctors refuse to believe chemo still causes nausea. “We have newer, better drugs!” they say. Oddly, being poisoned in order to be cured still does throw off a body. I’ll be thinking about you, praying you feel just a bit better each time.

  4. January 14, 2009 4:44 pm

    You’ll be in my thoughts, Stephanie.

  5. January 14, 2009 6:39 pm

    Congrats on being halfway done!

    I can’t wait for Wuthering Heights. Tess was so sad but it was beautiful.

  6. January 14, 2009 7:08 pm

    I wish you luck getting through the rest of your treatments. My aunt went through chemo, and it was never painless to watch her go through such an ordeal, so my thoughts are with you. Can’t wait to see pictures of that adorable baby blanket!

  7. January 14, 2009 7:53 pm

    I felt exactly as you do after my 4th treatment. Especially since it meant I was off the Adriamycin and Cytoxan and could begin on a less toxic drug.

    I was soooo relieved, although I still had a hard time the day before each subsequent treatment. Getting myself mentally prepared was always the hardest part.

    Sounds like you are doing great. I wish you ALL the best!!

  8. January 14, 2009 9:35 pm

    Stephanie, you’ve been in my thoughts. Sounds like you have a good attitude about the treatments. Hang in there and know many people are sending you positive thoughts, etc.

  9. Bobbie Crawford-McCoy permalink
    January 15, 2009 10:36 am

    Hi Stephanie,

    You’re one tough woman! I hope, so very much, that chemo gets rid of all traces of cancer!! I’m sending healing thoughts and hopes for energy and strength for you, especially when you are experiencing the incredible lows.
    I hope the rest of the treatments are as easy on you as humanly possible.
    I’ve never knitted but I’ve always wanted to know how. I can’t wait to see the pictures when you post them up! 🙂
    Enjoy the lovely movies Stephanie. There is something quite soothing about watching some classic films.
    (((hugs)))

    -Bobbie

    Book Reviews By Bobbie
    http://bookreviewsbybobbie.wordpress.com/

  10. January 15, 2009 11:01 am

    Thanks for this update! I’m glad you’re halfway done with chemo. And thanks for the Masterpiece Theater link!

  11. January 15, 2009 4:55 pm

    Hooray for being over the hump with the chemo! Continued good vibes are being sent your way, and I can’t wait to see a pic of the blanket!

  12. January 18, 2009 10:06 am

    Thanks for joining us for the knit-a-long, Stephanie! I hope you start feeling better soon, although I know chemo is a long haul. Working on a baby blanket sounds like a lovely thing to concentrate on, and how nice that your friend is going to have a little girl!

  13. January 18, 2009 1:04 pm

    Hope you don’t mind a random comment from a book-blog-hopper, but hang in there and the best of luck with the rest of your chemo. My Mum has just finished a run of 8 treatments that she thought would never end – but of course they do, and the effects fade fast in the relief that follows 🙂

    Best wishes 🙂

  14. January 19, 2009 1:22 am

    I’m sorry you’re having problems reading, but enjoy your knitting!! 😀 And I’m so glad you’re halfway through your chemo.

  15. sprucehillfarm permalink
    January 20, 2009 1:58 pm

    Congrats on being halfway! It will be a bit easier from this point on 🙂

  16. Lee permalink
    January 20, 2009 6:04 pm

    Chemo is terrible but it will end, and you’ll reap the rewards. Hang in there, we’re all thinking of you and sending our prayers.

  17. January 21, 2009 5:38 pm

    Yay for halfway done. I’m so impressed by your positivity – I’m sure it will go a long way toward helping you beat this cancer. You’re in my prayers, as always.

  18. January 22, 2009 9:39 pm

    Thank you for the update Stephanie! Sending you tons of well wishes and glad to hear it’s half-way over!

  19. Dawn H. permalink
    January 23, 2009 2:19 pm

    Glad to hear you are ahlfway through the treatments. Hang in there! and always look forward to the time when you will not have any treatments!

    Your chemo angel
    Dawn

  20. January 27, 2009 7:09 pm

    Glad to hear your almost done with chemo. And the blanket is absolutely beautiful! After seeing the picture of what you’ve made, I have to find somebody to teach me how to knit.

  21. February 10, 2009 12:27 am

    Yay for heading towards the home stretch! Good luck on the knitting. I am a terrible knitter. I had one of those kits that ANYONE could learn to knit… anyone but me!

  22. February 10, 2009 6:03 pm

    You’re over the hump. Woo-hoo!

Leave a Reply

