Skip to content

Sour Cream Coffee Cake

December 13, 2008

Bethany is hosting a cool contest to win a cookbook – all you have to do is post a favorite holiday recipe! 

 

I posted this recipe last year and it still remains a hit! This yummy dessert is the perfect accompaniment to a hot cup of coffee (or hot cocoa for that matter). I have made this Sour Cream Coffee Cake over and over the past eight or so years. Make sure you grease the pan real well with melted butter and flour. If not, your cake may come out in two pieces. It tastes best if made one day before serving and is delicious served for dessert or even for a brunch. Enjoy!

 

SOUR CREAM COFFEE CAKE

  • 1 cup butter, room temperature
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 cups cake flour
  • 1 cup sour cream

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease bundt pan with melted butter and flour. Cream the butter and sugar with an electric mixer until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time. Fold in the sour cream and vanilla. Fold in salt, baking powder and cake flour. Spoon half of the batter into a greased bundt pan. Using the back of a spoon, make a slight indentation in the batter and add the following filling:

  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar

Spoon remaining batter over the cinnamon-nut filling. Bake for approximately one hour. Remove from pan after 15 minutes and sprinkle with powdered sugar right before serving. Serves 10 to 12 people.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2008 1:11 pm

    Mmmm – sounds delicious! Thanks, I think I might make this for Christmas morning.

  2. December 14, 2008 10:30 am

    Ooh, this looks so yummy! I’m very fond of coffee cake. I’m going to try it.

  3. December 14, 2008 2:38 pm

    This sounds so delicious! I love anything coffee flavoured, so I really have to try this recipe.

  4. December 14, 2008 11:00 pm

    This sounds so wonderful! Definitely going on my To Be Baked list. 🙂

  5. December 18, 2008 2:16 am

    You posted this recipe on one of your blogs and I did make it and LOVED it. I’ll be making it for Christmas and thinking of you and thanking you when I get it out of the oven.

  6. December 18, 2008 5:52 am

    I love sour cream anything! I wonder if apples would work as a substitute for the pecans though-I’m not big on nuts in my desserts…hmmmm….

Leave a Reply

