Skip to content

In response

December 9, 2008

Sometimes I get a comment that just begs for a response, so I thought it would be fun to do it in post form. I recently wrote a review of the HBO series True Blood and the book i’ts based on, Dead Until Dark. You can read the original post here. Below is a comment I received from Desrine:

I DON’T CARE WHAT NO ONE SAYS…THE HBO SERIES BRINGS THE WHOLE STORY TO LIFE. IF IT’S SO DAMN GRUESOME, U HAVE THE CHOICE OF CHANGING THE CHANNEL AND READ THE BOOK. HBO HAS BEEN AROUND FOR YEARS SO ANYONE THAT DIDN’T EXPECT THE SERIES TO BE SO ‘VIOLENT’ HAS NOT BEEN WATCHING HBO. I HOWEVER PLAN ON PURCHASING THE BOOKS JUST FOR COLLECTION PURPOSES. 

Desrine –

 

First, you really don’t have to WRITE YOUR ENTIRE COMMENT IN CAPS – internet and e-mail manners suggest that writing all in caps is like screaming and yelling in real life. I am sure that was not your intention, now was it?

 

I never said that you or anyone else shouldn’t watch True Blood on HBO, but was instead just stating my own opinion. I didn’t say either that I didn’t “expect” the series to be violent, only that in my own humble opinion didn’t really feel it needs to be. In fact, at the end of my review I mentioned how the series is good, as long as you have a strong stomach.

 

As far as your plan to buy the books for collection purposes, I sure hope you actually read them, instead of then letting them sit on your shelves. Now that would be a shame.

 

– Stephanie

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2008 5:18 pm

    wow…caps…that’s amazing. Good for you Stephanie.

  2. December 9, 2008 5:28 pm

    I don’t think people realize how they come across when they post a comment like that. Especially one with so many grammatical errors. Sigh.

  3. December 9, 2008 5:58 pm

    Not sure if I should laugh or cry. I’ll go with laugh. Purchasing the books “just for collection purposes” and other half understandable sentences, results in my guess: this person really likes the HBO series.

  4. J.S. Peyton permalink
    December 9, 2008 7:34 pm

    How do these people not know that writing in all caps in incredibly obnoxious? Or, that when they do they only draw attention to their stupidity?

    I swear, it’s as some people do nothing more than surf the internet looking for something to be mad about. Idiots.

  5. December 9, 2008 7:58 pm

    Purchasing a book just for “collection purposes” strikes me as very sad. Books are to be read!

  6. December 9, 2008 8:14 pm

    *te-he!*

  7. December 9, 2008 10:09 pm

    Stephanie……I love you.

  8. December 9, 2008 10:11 pm

    Gosh, you’d think you insulted their mother or something. Snort!

  9. Wendy permalink
    December 10, 2008 8:55 am

    Oh my! Well done Stephanie.

  10. December 11, 2008 10:20 pm

    Wow. Someone’s panties are really in a bunch. Maybe Ms. Deserine should switch to decaf.

Leave a Reply

