Skip to content

New sites, chemo & a tree!

December 7, 2008

Paperback Frenzy

Have you guys seen the site Paperback Frenzy? It’s a review site where various bloggers submit their own reviews to be published on one central site. I was lucky enough to be contacted by the guy who thought up this great idea and will now be posting my book reviews not only here on my own blog, but also at Paperback Frenzy. Please stop by to check this great site out. I think you’ll find lots of familiar blogger faces there too!

Mothers With Cancer

I will be also posting my thoughts on living with cancer over at the site Mothers with Cancer. My first post (under the pen-name “scwrites” isn’t up yet, but I hope it will soon). I am thrilled to be able to contribute to a site with so many wonderful women living with this disease. Just this past Friday I had my first chemo treatment to treat my breast cancer. It’s now Sunday afternoon and I am feeling ok. They gave me an arsenal of anti-nausea medication, which have been helpful to hold off much of that yuckiness that comes with some many chemo drugs. I’ve also been living mostly on dry toast and soup these past two days, since even with all the preventative meds I still do feel a little sick and will just have to wait it out and hope that I’ll be feeling better in a few days.

wicked - kids singing - xmas tree 061 

Luckily, my husband has been doing all the hard work around the house this weekend and even brought me home a lovely Christmas tree. It was nice to be able to watch my husband and my girls trim the tree while I relaxed on the sofa.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2008 3:06 pm

    Stephanie.. You hang in there and try to get as much rest as possible. As I type this, your blog started to snow on me! LOL! Living in California, this may be the only snow I see this Winter.

    Beautiful tree, BTW.

  2. December 7, 2008 4:06 pm

    What a gorgeous tree and living room. So festive and relaxing looking.

    I love the snowy bench header image, and I see your blog snows like mine. 😉

    Hang in there with the chemo and stuff. My mum went through all this 10 years ago and I know how hard it is. I hope you have the same cancer-free results as she did in the end. *hugs*

  3. December 7, 2008 5:04 pm

    I’m sending you positive, feel-good thoughts. Your tree is beautiful!
    Thanks for the link to Paperback Frenzy. I’m going to check it out.

  4. December 7, 2008 5:14 pm

    Your hubby and girls did a great job. Thanks for the info on the new sites.

  5. December 7, 2008 5:29 pm

    Hey there. You were on my mind all day Friday. I was keeping you close in thought and hoping that you didn’t feel sick after your treatment. You are such a courageous woman and an inspiration to many with your optimism.

    Your tree looks lovely & glad you were able to enjoy the tree trimming, even if it was from a different angle this year.

    Take care of you!

  6. December 7, 2008 6:00 pm

    The tree is lovely! Keep resting. I’ve been thinking of you…

  7. J.S. Peyton permalink
    December 7, 2008 6:19 pm

    Thanks for the links! I hope that you’re able to get a lot of rest and feel better in a few days.

  8. December 7, 2008 7:08 pm

    I second the notion that you should get all the rest you can. You deserve it. And your blog is snowing on me as well…we got our first bits of snow this weekend…though it was a dusting and is nearly melted now.

    Great looking tree.

    I’m glad to hear that you are posting about your cancer struggles to provide others with inspiration.

    Finally, thanks for letting us all know about the paperback frenzy site.

  9. December 7, 2008 7:38 pm

    Your tree looks lovely – and what a cozy place to sit, rest, read, and recover!

    Thanks for the links – off to check them out:)

  10. December 7, 2008 8:38 pm

    I’m glad you’re not feeling too bad. I hope that continues.

    Beautiful tree!

  11. December 7, 2008 9:56 pm

    Oh, that looks like a very cozy spot to curl up and read! It’s good to hear that you’re not doing too badly, but I still hope you’re resting up and feeling much better soon!

  12. December 8, 2008 10:09 am

    Hugs for you! what a beautiful tree. 🙂

  13. stacybuckeye permalink
    December 8, 2008 10:37 am

    What a great tree! I hope Santa brings you great health for Christmas!

  14. December 8, 2008 7:03 pm

    Well, I really enjoy the fact that your blog snows! I wish I was that talented! haha

    Very nice Christmas tree. I haven’t even given mine much thought… Just one more thing to worry about, I suppose.

    Take care of yourself!

  15. December 8, 2008 8:18 pm

    The tree looks beautiful, Steph. How sweet of your husband (and kiddos) to get it set up and decorated. I think we’ll skip the whole decorating thing this year.

  16. December 9, 2008 12:01 pm

    I’ve been thinking of you. I hope your treatment goes as well as it can. Hang in there!
    I love your snowy blog and that beautiful tree!

  17. December 10, 2008 4:25 pm

    Aw, what a pretty tree. I bet your girls are so excited. Sending lots of good thoughts your way.

Leave a Reply

