Skip to content

Speaking of Vampires

November 25, 2008

Since I was on the subject of vampires, I figured I would write a quick post about Twilight the movie. Last night I went to see the movie with my eighteen year old niece and two girlfriends (ages withheld since we are all no longer 18).

I read Twilight almost two years ago and really enjoyed the book, feeling that it was probably the strongest of the entire series. I was also pretty excited when Robert Pattinson was picked to play Edward Cullen, since I enjoyed watching him as Cedric Diggory in Harry Potter. Is he not full of adorableness in this picture in his Hogwarts uniform? So I was surprised while watching the film that this actor, who I felt would be a great Edward onscreen turned out to be just ok. I don’t really feel it was Pattinson’s fault. I actually thought that all the makeup and ultra close ups did Edward no favors. OK, I know he’s supposed to look undead, but I think he looked more creepy then the ultra-sexy, irresistible Edward is supposed to look like. He reminded me of some stalker guy than Edward the vampire hero. And what was with Jasper? That guy just really creeped me out.

What did I enjoy about Twilight the movie? Well, I thought the actor who played Bella’s father was perfect – that’s exactly how I imagined Charlie to look and act like. I also thought Jacob was well cast and would imagine that Taylor Lautner will grow into the role nicely. The Cullen family, with the exception of Jasper, were all how I imagined them. The music in the film was appropriate and the baseball thunderstorm scene was really good and translated nicely to film.

All in all I thought the film was pretty good, but not nearly as satisfying as the book.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2008 11:32 am

    I’m seeing the movie on Friday with two of my sisters, two daughters (20s) and a niece who is 14. My sisters are the only ones who haven’t read the book but are interested because of all the hype. As I was reading your post the thought occurred to me that maybe we’re not supposed to be so attracted to vampires, lol. That said, how’s the chemistry between the Edward and Bella actors?

  2. November 25, 2008 11:34 am

    I haven’t seen the film (and likely won’t), but I REALLY don’t like Robert Pattinson as Edward. Like you said, he is way too creepy and intense looking. Also, the dude needs to stop wearing his hair so tall all the time, I do not dig it.

  3. tothewire permalink
    November 25, 2008 11:35 am

    I agree, the book (books) are better than the movie.

  4. chanknits permalink
    November 25, 2008 11:38 am

    Thanks for the most comprehensive review I’ve seen yet. I still plan to drag my husband to see it on Thursday! (He can just get a tub of extra-butter popcorn and go to sleep for all I care…)

  5. November 25, 2008 12:33 pm

    I really don’t have any interest in the movie…I want to keep my imaginings of the book intact, if that makes sense.

  6. November 25, 2008 1:10 pm

    Completely agree. Jasper was just odd. What happened to him being the one to calm everyone. He was freaky.

    Rob Pattinson had his moments. I liked when he wasn’t making faces at the camera, which didn’t happen much, but that was when he looked most normal. Walking into the school, smiling with his arm around Bella for example.

    All in all, I wasn’t a fan. Still love the book, though. 🙂 Perhaps New Moon will have a bigger budget and therefore be better.

  7. November 25, 2008 1:59 pm

    Bookfan – I thought the chemistry was good, although the relationship between the two wasn’t as developed as in the book. I remember thinking what a soulmate Edward was to Bella when reading the novel – in the movie he just seemed to be her personal stalker.

    Mari – I totally agree with your assesment of Edward. The shots when he was walking around, or when you could see his whole body and not just close ups were way more natural and convincing. I would probably see New Moon, only to find out how Jacob develops as a character. I might even end up going over to the “Team Jacob” side!

  8. November 25, 2008 2:20 pm

    I really loved this movie in spite of the plotlessness. I really thought edward looked hot, but that could be my penchant for vampires. LOL

  9. November 25, 2008 2:23 pm

    I like Robert Pattinson too, and I also agree with you that he was just okay as Edward. It’s too bad, really–the role was just too campy and corny for him to pull it off effectively.

    My older daughter and I both think that the guy who played James should’ve been Edward. Talk about hot!

    I had trouble with Kristen Stewart too. The scene where she’s in the hospital bed begging Edward not to leave her was laughable. Also, the hilarious scene when she’s writhing on the floor after being bitten further demonstrated her
    mediocre talent. Every time she went cross-eyed during that momentous occasion, I’d start snorting. I wish they had cast a better actress in her role.

  10. November 25, 2008 2:48 pm

    Chartroose – good point about the hospital bed scene – she just came off pathetic.

    I don’t know, I just felt that the book left me wanting Edward and Bella to be together forever. The movie on the other hand felt that this relationship was way too strange and unhealthy. I really should re-read the book.

    Oh, and Sassymonkey wrote a great review that you guys can read here: http://www.sassymonkeyreads.ca/?p=2271. I love her comparison of Jasper to Edward Scissorhands!

  11. November 25, 2008 6:24 pm

    That wasn’t how I pictured Charlie at all. In my mind he was a little greyer and had a bit of a beer belly. That being said, Charlie’s casting was perfect.

  12. November 25, 2008 6:26 pm

    It’s been fun reading everyone’s reaction to the movie. Some thought Edward was perfect, others, like you, not so perfect. I love how we are all so different! I thought Edward (Robert I should say) was just fine, but I’m very intrigued with Jacob. I totally agree with you about Charlie and Jasper!

  13. November 25, 2008 8:34 pm

    I haven’t watched this movie yet, but I’ve finished the series and thought the first instalment is still the best amongst all! I can’t wait to watch the movie!

  14. November 26, 2008 10:40 am

    I haven’t seen the movie yet (still) but plan to at some point between now and Monday. Just a random comment – I clicked on the link you provided for the actor who plays Jacob and it was one of those “wow, I really am old” moments – he is exactly 20 years younger than I am (1992 v. 1972). UGH. How did this happen so quickly?

  15. November 26, 2008 10:55 am

    i have heard the same thing from so many people. From the previews i did not picture the characters to look as they were cast when i read the book. i will wait for dvd. your

  16. November 26, 2008 2:47 pm

    I agree with you on that. I think they could have made him less creey and more handsome if that makes sence. I agree with the jasper thing too. What was up with that? Di he even say one word? he was a major charicter is scenes in the book. They totally missed the ball on that one! Jacob was my favorite!

  17. November 27, 2008 2:19 am

    I totally agree with you about Jasper. What was up with him? I hope his character is developed a bit more in the next movie.

  18. November 27, 2008 1:29 pm

    Sorry to hear the movie wasn’t as good as the book. They are practically raving about this movie.

  19. November 28, 2008 1:09 pm

    It’s crazy but I don’t even know if I will go to see this movie. I’m sorta appathetic about the whole Twilight Saga now…

    I’m sorry, I’ve been out of touch for a while and I missed your “Big C” news. I just want to give you my support and prayers and for you to know I’m routing for ya!

  20. November 28, 2008 1:09 pm

    P.S. I’m addicted to True Blood on HBO, I love it! Makes Twilight seem so Disney.

  21. November 30, 2008 6:18 pm

    I’m always the last person on the planet to see a movie. I’ll probably get around to watching Twilight around the year 2030.

  22. December 1, 2008 8:09 pm

    Edward was just plain creepy in the movie! And you’re right, Jasper was so weird looking.

    I liked the movie, but I think that had more to do with Bella than anything else. Movie Bella was way more likable than book Bella, in my opinion. Book Bella was too whiny for me.

    We talked about this at lunch and my friends all agreed that we liked book Edward and movie Bella. Less whining, less creepiness. Too bad they can’t be together.

  23. December 3, 2008 12:04 am

    I thought Pattison as Cedric was great, but Pattison as Edward just didn’t do it for me. I actually thought their relationship was horribly unhealthy in the book, so I actually thought the movie was excellent in that that was so blatant. Just my opinion. 🙂

  24. robertlover permalink
    January 4, 2009 12:55 am

    AWW i miss rob he used to hav a crush on me in junior high now i wish i wuld hav given him a chance!

  25. SUPRIYA permalink
    June 21, 2009 1:19 am

    THE WAS NOT GOOD AS BOOK the book was far better than the movie i m not at all happy to see the movie

  26. SUPRIYA permalink
    June 21, 2009 1:21 am

    THE movie WAS NOT GOOD AS BOOK the book was far better than the movie i m not at all happy to see the movie

  27. December 17, 2009 10:30 pm

    Do you tweet and have a twitter account so I can follow you?

  28. Anne permalink
    October 16, 2011 1:42 am

    i agree too

Leave a Reply

