Skip to content

Good Books from Good People

November 14, 2008

I want to highlight two books that recently came on my radar. Since being diagnosed with cancer, I’ve been going lite on the review copies. I’ve only asked a few authors/publishers for books I really, really want to read and as for the authors/publishers who e-mail me directly, I’ve for the most part politely declined, telling them that I am currently going through medical treatment.

Anatomy of a BoyfriendRecently I received e-mails from two women, both who are trying to get books reviewed around the blogsphere. The first was from Daria Snadowsky, the author of Anatomy of a Boyfriend. Then there was Nicole Bruce, Marketing Assistant of The Book Report Network, who e-mailed me about the book Man of the House by Ad Hudler. Both books sounded interesting to me, but I didn’t want to get bogged down with review copies and I let them know that I would not be able to give the books they were requesting a review on my full attention at this time. Then, both women responded in a most gracious way.

A Novel (Ballantine Reader's Circle)They both, in separate e-mails, said they would still like to give me their books, if only to give me something fun to read during my treatments. No review required, just a nice gesture and some good books. So now I am in possession of a new copy of Anatomy of a Boyfriend, signed by the author and also a copy of Man of the House, sent to me by Nicole.  

I haven’t had the chance to read either book, but I just wanted to let you all know how unbelievably kind these two people are. So make sure to read them, buy them, send them to your best friend. Maybe even buy them for someone this holiday season. They are from good people.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2008 3:39 pm

    I hope those books help take your mind of off your treatments at least for a little while.

  2. November 14, 2008 6:11 pm

    That’s so sweet! I hope you enjoy both of them. 🙂

  3. November 14, 2008 6:59 pm

    That’s excellent!! I hope you enjoy them when you get around to them. I’ll be looking for copies of both to snatch up for myself or others for the holidays.

  4. November 14, 2008 7:35 pm

    That was so gracious of them!

  5. November 15, 2008 3:23 am

    That is so wonderful.

  6. November 15, 2008 9:37 pm

    I hope your treatments are going well, Stephanie. I’ve heard good things about Anatomy–hope you enjoy it.

  7. November 17, 2008 6:35 am

    That’s so nice of them, they do indeed sound like good people. I already have Anatomy and will read and review it soon. I’ll put the other one on my wishlist.
    I hope these books give your brain some time-off Stephanie!

  8. stacybuckeye permalink
    November 18, 2008 1:54 pm

    I love this post! It’s nice to support good people doing what they love. I hope your treatments are going well.

  9. November 19, 2008 12:28 am

    Lovely to know there are people out there like that. I will take a look at their work. And I look forward to hearing that you’ve beaten this thing.

  10. November 19, 2008 10:09 pm

    What a lovely gesture! I’ll keep these authors in mind.

    I have a friend going through chemo right now, and a group of us got together and gave her a big package of some of our favorite “fun” books. We’re hoping they’ll help take her mind off things and give her a little smile.

  11. November 22, 2008 11:30 pm

    I like to hear about the kindness of strangers. Hope you are doing well, Stephanie.

  12. November 24, 2008 3:01 pm

    Best of luck with everything and that’s so very very sweet of those authors. I’ve heard good things about Anatomy as well and hope to go and get a copy as soon as I can.

    I hope you enjoy the books!!
    -Lauren

Leave a Reply

