Skip to content

Early winter

October 28, 2008

Remember how I spent some outdoor reading time a few weeks ago in my front yard? Well, here’s that same spot today. After some steady rain this morning, it quickly turned into our first snowfall of the year.

first snow of the season2

Pretty cool, huh? Do you think that this means that it might be a snowy winter here in the North East this year?

first snow of the season1

23 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2008 12:59 pm

    Oh my gosh…it’s beautiful but WAY 2 EARLY for snow…

  2. October 28, 2008 1:04 pm

    Beautiful, but as someone who came through last winter’s 100 inches of snow in my area, I’m hoping for a more moderate winter!!

  3. October 28, 2008 1:06 pm

    I am in Ca. and it is supposed to be 90 degrees today and has been averaging about 80 degrees all month long. Just doesn’t feel like Fall when it is that warm.

    Your house looks so pretty covered in snow.

  4. October 28, 2008 1:10 pm

    It is too early for snow. My son (in Virginia) has a chance of snow today and tonight, too.

  5. October 28, 2008 2:35 pm

    We got some snow in Chicago yesterday, but it was just a few flakes, nothing that even came close to sticking.

    Good thing, too. My sister JUST moved here from Southern California, and if there is snow on the ground before Halloween she might just move herself right back.

  6. callista83 permalink
    October 28, 2008 2:48 pm

    OMG where do you live again? I hope that’s not coming my way. We’ve had some flakes but nothing that stayed on the ground.

  7. Cat permalink
    October 28, 2008 2:55 pm

    GAH!! I hope not! I am hoping that my Montreal rain stays rain for a little longer, like a month. 😉 Although they are predicting wet flurries for tomorrow.

    Even as a proud Canadian I am a firm believer that it is TOO EARLY for snow! (I do remember one Halloween, when I was 12 or so, and a blizzard starting while my friend and I were out trick-or-treating.)

  8. October 28, 2008 5:27 pm

    It looks so pretty!

  9. October 28, 2008 5:57 pm

    May it melt and be 60 again tomorrow anyway… or at least warm enough and dry enough for a Happy Halloween.

  10. October 28, 2008 7:55 pm

    Too early. I’m still enjoying the fall leaves. What part of VA is expecting snow tonight? I hope it’s not my neighborhood. So pretty, though.

  11. October 28, 2008 7:57 pm

    No snow here, the Canadian snickers. (Now we’ll get a foot of it or something).

  12. October 28, 2008 7:58 pm

    Wow! I love it! It’s been so hot and dry here lately. I’d love to go stomping through that snow.

  13. October 28, 2008 8:00 pm

    Holy crap! That’s a lot of snow this early in the winter season. Where the heck do you live?

  14. October 28, 2008 8:30 pm

    Wow, snow on Halloween pumpkins isn’t something you see that often. We had some flurries this morning, but no accumulation. Looks like you guys could make some decent snow balls!

  15. October 28, 2008 9:03 pm

    I’ve heard it’s supposed to be a cold winter. Here in the Deep South, we’re definitely much colder than average. Halloween is normally miserable — the kids have to swat away mosquitoes while they trick or treat. We’re freezing our patooties.

  16. October 28, 2008 10:00 pm

    They are talking about possible snow here near d.c. this evening, but all I’ve seen is a ton of wind…though heard is more like it.

  17. October 29, 2008 7:47 am

    it’s beginning to look like it’s going to be a long winter!

  18. October 29, 2008 9:31 am

    I thought of you when I read about the storm – whereas here in Denver? Where there is a 74% chance of snow at Halloween each year? Yup – it is balmy and 75 – go figure!

    How are you feeling?

    Thinking of you –
    Kim

  19. October 29, 2008 12:07 pm

    So pretty! I love snow!
    The leaves haven’t even changed colour here yet!

  20. October 29, 2008 11:16 pm

    I remember a couple of snowy Halloweens from my childhood in Michigan (my kids actually didn’t believe that was true!) but here in So. Cal. it has been very hot this week- over 90 today. It doesn’t feel like fall.

  21. October 30, 2008 10:03 am

    That is just not right!

  22. October 30, 2008 3:21 pm

    Wow. That’s crazy, especially considering that the temps in Arizona are still in the 90s. I can’t wait for it to really start feeling like Fall here, but that probably won’t be for another month still.

  23. November 1, 2008 10:33 pm

    Where are you?!?

    My husband and I moved from Boston to Syracuse shortly after getting married. Our first Halloween there we got 8 inches of snow — the kids were singing Christmas carols as they came to the door. What an introduction to that town!

    Well, those reading-outdoors days will be here in the spring 🙂

Leave a Reply

