Skip to content

Comfort reading

October 20, 2008

P&P 002It looks like I’ve made it through my second surgery relatively unscathed. I’m feeling pretty good (although it probably helps that I have been continuing with my pain medication at regular intervals) but know that this surgery will take a bit more time to recover. While I’m not bed-ridden, I will be hanging low over the next two weeks to help my body heal.

While recovering the last few days, I decided to take the plunge and read Jane Austen. I have a fondness for all things Austen, but was embarrassed that even though I’ve seen pretty much all the movie versions of her novels, read a lot of the books based on her life and novels roughly based on her books, I had yet to actually read Austen. So the last few days I’ve spent some time on the couch with a lovely copy of Pride and Prejudice on my lap. This “Insight edition” published by Bethany House and purchased at Target a while back is unique. Sprinkled throughout the novel with the original text are footnotes. Sometimes the notes point out what a term or word means, or mentions a tidbit about Austen herself. Other times it has movie trivia from the many adaptations of the book, or some fun information about the customs of the time period. All in all, it adds some fun elements to this classic read and I have to say that I am thoroughly enjoying my down time.

36 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2008 7:30 pm

    Glad to see your surgery went well. Take care of yourself.

  2. October 20, 2008 7:38 pm

    I have not read Austen either. It’s up there on my list of “to do” stuff.

    Glad to see your pain is manageable. Hang in there.

  3. Donna permalink
    October 20, 2008 7:56 pm

    Pain medications are good aren’t they. Glad you made it through the surgery relatively unscathed.

    Hmmm I’ve never read Austen either. May have to visit Target!

  4. sprucehillfarm permalink
    October 20, 2008 10:09 pm

    I am glad you are doing well and have been thinking about you. Take it easy!

    I love Jane Austin too and have never read one of her books. I am thinking I need to do that! 🙂

  5. October 20, 2008 10:33 pm

    Glad to hear you are doing well. You picked a great book to keep you company in bed while you heal.

  6. October 20, 2008 10:59 pm

    Haven’t read Austen either, but I’d like to sometime soon. Glad you’re finding ways to enjoy your down time.

  7. October 20, 2008 11:33 pm

    Glad to hear your surgery went well! Here’s to quick healing!!

  8. October 21, 2008 4:48 am

    Good choice with Jane Austen, it is comfort reading, like a good bowl of chicken soup.
    Glad that the second surgery is finished, I hope your healing is speedy and that you are back on the mend soon.

  9. October 21, 2008 5:35 am

    Pride and Prejudice is one of my all time favourite comfort reads – I hope you find it that way too!

  10. October 21, 2008 8:46 am

    So glad you’re feeling pretty well. And what a great copy of P&P! It’s one of my favorite books, and I’m far overdue for a re-read.

  11. October 21, 2008 9:18 am

    I loved P&P, but I think I enjoyed Sense & Sensibilities even more. My next venture into Austen will be Emma, when I catch up!

  12. October 21, 2008 11:41 am

    I’m happy your surgery went well! I have the Insight edition of Pride & Prejudice as well and enjoyed it.

  13. October 21, 2008 11:41 am

    Oh, the footnotes sound wonderful! I wonder sometimes if I’ve every really read any Mark Twain even though I’m ever fascinated by the story of Sam Clemens’ life.

    Glad to hear you are recovering nicely. 🙂

  14. Keyomi permalink
    October 21, 2008 11:58 am

    hope u feel stronger soon! 🙂

  15. October 21, 2008 12:06 pm

    I’m glad to hear that the surgery went well and that you are taking it easy…and taking it easy with one of my favorite authors and books. I just love Pride & Prejudice. Your copy has a great many more tidbits than mine with its movie notes and Jane Austen footnotes.

    I hope you enjoy her novels as much as I do. I’ve reread some of them over the years.

  16. October 21, 2008 12:34 pm

    Glad the surgery went well. P&P is the perfect book to make you feel good. You’re guaranteed a happy ending!

  17. October 21, 2008 1:17 pm

    Comfort reading sounds like the perfect thing to do as you are recovering from your surgery. Hoping that it continues to go well. I adore P&P and read it as an adult, I agree that is a great reading choice. Your edition sounds very interesting and I may just look for a copy!

  18. October 21, 2008 1:24 pm

    I’m glad your surgery went well! Pride & Prejudice is a great read, definitely a comfort book. I’ll have to drop by Target and peek inside the Bethany House edition. I’d love to see footnotes.

  19. October 21, 2008 2:03 pm

    I’m glad your surgery was successful, and I hope that this will be the last. P&P is a great choice. Take care of yourself.

  20. October 21, 2008 6:10 pm

    I’m glad your surgery went well! Take it easy and enjoy the book-reading time 🙂

    That sounds like a really interesting book to read with all the footnotes! I haven’t actually read any Jane Austen yet, either!

  21. October 21, 2008 6:30 pm

    I’m glad to see your home and resting! Your house is so lovely and looks cozy for some good reading time. One teeny piece of advice – don’t forget to eat with all those meds!! I made the mistake of not eating when I took my pain pills after a minor surgery and holy toledo it was no picnic. 🙂

    Hope you continue to feel stronger day by day!
    Kimberly

  22. October 21, 2008 7:02 pm

    Comfort reading! Gotta love it. And that copy of Pride & Prejudice sounds really interesting. I’ll have to check it out.

    Glad the surgery went well.

  23. October 21, 2008 10:11 pm

    I haven’t read Pride and Prejudice yet either. It something that you have to curl up with and really enjoy, so I don’t want to be reading it in the waiting room at the Orthodontist or something. I’m saving it for my Christmas vacation and maybe I’ll get this copy for Christmas!

  24. callista83 permalink
    October 21, 2008 10:41 pm

    Glad to hear everything went well. I’m recovering from surgery myself, it was done Oct. 6 First the first long while I couldn’t sit in a chair (still need padding) so I moved our loveseat over to the computer so I could type while laying down!

  25. October 22, 2008 12:24 pm

    Heal heal heal!! Rest rest rest!!

    I read Sense and Sensibility for a class once, and everyone LOVES Pride and Prejudice, but I’ve never seen the movie and the book sits on my shelf. One day, I will have all the time in the world to read (and hopefully will not have cancer at that time, as I hear that saps your will to…well, pretty much do anything).

  26. October 22, 2008 8:31 pm

    I’m glad you’re home and doing well…you’re wise to rest as much as possible, since that’s a vital part of the healing process.

    I heartily approve of your choice of comfort reading! Have you ever read any Barbara Pym? She’s a British author whose novels have been compared with Austen’s, only 20th century style (mid 70’s time frame). She’s delightfully fun, and just the thing when you need a pleasant story.

    Take good care 🙂

  27. Bree permalink
    October 23, 2008 9:05 am

    Glad to hear your surgery went well. Hope you recover quickly. Happy reading and medicating!

  28. October 23, 2008 10:04 am

    Glad to hear you are doing well! I hope you enjoy the book. That edition with the footnotes sounds interesting.

  29. October 23, 2008 8:29 pm

    I’m glad to hear you’re doing well. Get lots of rest!!

    The book sounds good. I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for the mentioning. 🙂

  30. October 24, 2008 12:51 am

    I’m glad to hear your surgery went well and you’re taking it easy.
    I love Austen, and P&P! The footnotes sound very fun.

  31. October 24, 2008 7:06 am

    I love the idea of an annotated version of P&P! I think all classics should be annotated. Or we should be able to double-click on an unknown word. 😉

    Glad you’re feeling a bit better. Take good care.

  32. October 25, 2008 10:09 pm

    So glad to hear your surgery went well and hope you’ve been having a good week! Hope you are continuing to rely on comfort reading… I think I need to look for that version of P&P!

  33. October 26, 2008 3:19 pm

    Glad to hear you’re recovering! I agree, P&P is a great comfort read! It sounds like you have a great edition to read. Mine is old, bent and worn. I really should get a beautiful new copy 🙂

  34. October 29, 2008 11:20 pm

    Thinking of you Steph and hoping you’re recovering just fine.

  35. November 1, 2008 10:35 pm

    I hope you’re healing well, and managing the pain OK with those meds.

Trackbacks

  1. What’s been going on « 4cookie.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

