Skip to content

Some reading in the great outdoors

October 12, 2008

It’s a glorious un-fall like day here in Northern New Jersey (70+ degrees) and as my oldest daughter and husband went off to Chinese school and my youngest took a nice long nap (still recovering from her pumpkin painting birthday party yesterday) I spent some quality time here:

house 001

See that green lawn chair to the right of my front door? That’s where I spent two wonderful hours this afternoon reading The Probable Future by Alice Hoffman. Hope you had some quality “outdoor” reading time today!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2008 5:38 pm

    I spent a good part of the day on the road today, so no quality outdoor reading for me. I love nothing better than reading on my front porch with my dog in my lap on a pretty day.

  2. October 12, 2008 6:14 pm

    I’ve spent a good part of today (and yesterday, and the day before!) outdoors, because we’re having the same great weather here in Michigan. I’ve got alll the windows open too, so even when I’m in, it feels like I’m out!

    I love reading outside…it was perfect for my reading today, which is Knit Two, the “sequel” to The Friday Night Knitting Club.

  3. October 12, 2008 6:25 pm

    Becca – I have a copy of Knit Two on my sidetable, but haven’t yet started reading it. Hope you are enjoying it!

  4. October 12, 2008 7:44 pm

    I spent some time outdoors as well but forgot my book. Reading outside is so nice sometimes.

  5. October 13, 2008 10:17 am

    Sounds like a wonderful way to spend the afternoon. Glad you enjoyed it! I spent a good part of the day reading too but I was indoors… I really should have gone out to a park or something. We are finally having lovely weather in Texas… Not hot or cold. Just right 🙂

  6. October 13, 2008 1:07 pm

    Sounds lovely! We were outside on Sunday enjoying the roses blooming in a garden we like to go to, but no reading.

  7. October 13, 2008 5:27 pm

    What a great reading spot!! I love reading outside, when it’s not too hot or wet or windy!

  8. October 13, 2008 9:59 pm

    Good for you! I need to set aside a couple of hours in the afternoon and READ! I’ve been in a slump for two weeks and it’s time to get back to reading.

  9. October 13, 2008 10:05 pm

    Sounds wonderful! It was in the 70s here, today, but without any breeze it’s impossible to just sit outside and read — the mosquitoes are horrendous. Love your reading spot!

  10. October 17, 2008 8:36 pm

    I love your pumpkins! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Early winter « Stephanie’s Written Word

Leave a Reply

