Skip to content

Winner of Dewey!

October 3, 2008

The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the WorldThank you all for entering the contest for the hardcover copy of Dewey! I would encourage you to take a peek at the thirty comments left on the original post to read some inspiring stories about how animals have touched our lives.

Using a random number generator, the winner of Dewey is:

NICOLE MARIE from BOOKS, BOOKS AND MORE GREAT BOOKS!

Congrats Nicole Marie! Please e-mail me at wordblog(at)verizon(dot)net with your address and I will mail out this book to you next week!

Nicole wrote: Two years ago, my boyfriend and I moved in together during our first year of college. We both wanted to study away from home, and both found separate colleges in a city in another state from the one we grew up in together.

Well, to make a long story short, we found that we only had each other to rely on, and sometimes, when the other was working or in class, the other would get lonely. For a few months, we wrestled with the idea of adopting a dog. I wanted a small, tiny, t-cup poodle or something similar, he wanted a big boxer.

We found a pitbull puppy and fell madly in love with her. Allie’s been with us ever sense.

When she was learning how to sit, stay, shake, and potty train, I realized my life was never going to be the same. Here’s this little creature who relied on ME for survival, love, and nurturing. And it was mutual. She looks up to me with those big brown eyes, and they show how much I mean to her, and how devoted she is to me.

She’s the best thing to ever happen to me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2008 12:48 pm

    congratulations! i am sure she will love it!! 🙂

  2. October 3, 2008 1:43 pm

    what a great story Nicole! Congrats!

  3. Nicole Marie permalink
    October 6, 2008 2:05 am

    What a pleasant surprise! I took a break from my computer this weekend, and this is what greeted me in my inbox!

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

