Skip to content

Dewey Giveaway!

September 28, 2008

The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the WorldThis morning I got to indulge in something I generally miss on Sunday mornings because of family obligations. Today I sat down with my circular knitting needles and while knitting myself a hat, I watched CBS Sunday Morning. This show, hosted by Charles Osgood, is a diverse news program the covers politics, the economy, American life, entertainment and books. They had a wonderful segment on the legacy of Paul Newman and also talked about the book Dewey, The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World by Vicki Myron and Bret Witter, published by the Hachette Book Group. I was especially interested in the Dewey story since the publisher had sent me a copy of the book for review on this blog. I haven’t yet had a chance to read it, but figured since it was featured on the show this morning that this would be the perfect time to giveaway the extra copy the publisher (I think rather accidentally) sent me! You can read more about the book from the Publishers Weekly review below. If you would like to win a hardcover copy of Dewey, just leave a comment on this post, with your e-mail address, by this Thursday, October 2nd for a chance. The only catch is that in your comment you have to tell me how an animal has made a difference, large or small, in your life. I’ll announce the winner on Friday. Good luck!

ABOUT DEWEY, THE SMALL-TOWN LIBRARY CAT WHO TOUCHED THE WORLD
One frigid Midwestern winter night in 1988, a ginger kitten was shoved into the after-hours book-return slot at the public library in Spencer, Iowa. And in this tender story, Myron, the library director, tells of the impact the cat, named Dewey Readmore Books, had on the library and its patrons, and on Myron herself. Through her developing relationship with the feline, Myron recounts the economic andsocial history of Spencer as well as her own success story—despite an alcoholic husband, living on welfare, and health problems ranging from the difficult birth of her daughter, Jodi, to breast cancer. After her divorce, Myron graduated college (the first in her family) and stumbled into a library job. She quickly rose to become director, realizing early on that this was a job I could love for the rest of my life. Dewey, meanwhile, brings disabled children out of their shells, invites businessmen to pet him with one hand while holding the Wall Street Journal with the other, eats rubber bands and becomes a media darling. The book is not only a tribute to a cat—anthropomorphized to a degree that can strain credulity (Dewey plays hide and seek with Myron, can read her thoughts, is mortified by his hair balls)—it’s a love letter to libraries.

31 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2008 3:19 pm

    We just lost our feline friend of 17 years this past February. On Valentines day no less. It was a very sad day for all. Soppy…that was his name, was with me when I moved out on my own for the first time. He and I went thru some hard times…both emotionally and financially.

    He was kind enough to approve of my husband and he was the first one to know when I was pregnant with my first child. He watched over both of my kids and loved them to death. He died in my arms on Valentines Day from old age. He lived a very full life and even survived a huge fire and earthquake.

    I guess you could day he was the first living thing I was responsible for. We miss him!

  2. September 28, 2008 3:38 pm

    Ti – Ohhh, I’m so sorry for your loss! I have always had cats through my life (two in my home right now) and find them to be the perfect companions!

  3. September 28, 2008 3:54 pm

    I had a wonderful cocker spaniel that my parents bought me when I was six years old. We had just moved to Texas and my father got transferred after a few months. My parents felt so guilty that I got a dog. We ended up not moving (for a few years), but I got a dog out of it! I had that dog from 1st grade until my freshman year in college. At the time she died, she had been in my life longer than my sisters. She was a wonderful friend!

  4. September 28, 2008 4:23 pm

    Dewey looks like a really cool book 🙂 Love the cover.

    The greatest feat an animal ever did for me, they didn’t do directly for me. It was actually my grandma, who’s house was actually starting to go into flames. They had a dog at the time (I’m not entirely sure what breed), and basically, he woke my grandma up by barking really loudly and scratching on the door. It turned out that some fuse had been blown…
    Another memorable thing an animal has done for me would be the time my friend’s cat helped me find my mitten, which had somehow ended up behind the couch. o.0. I have no idea how it’d gotten there, but I was grateful she found it, since it was my favorite (and only) pair of mittens (and it gets mighty cold in Canada).

  5. September 28, 2008 4:45 pm

    My fourth and last year of teaching was exceptionally rough (it wasn’t the students), and every day I left the school and my only thought was coming home to the house I rented and my two cats–a demure 8-yr-old calico and a 2-yr-old who tore around the house as though she was still in the barn she was born in. Any time I was feeling exceptionally down, they’d both find a way to lay down with me (though only twice would they share space on me). My cats now live with my parents–it really wouldn’t be fair to ask them to go through this wretched immigration process with me–and I miss them horribly. The cat we have now (which was my mother-in-law’s) is sweet and the ultimate lap cat, but… well, it’s just not the same.

  6. Cat permalink
    September 28, 2008 4:58 pm

    I have always had a dog in my life, from the one that grew up with me to the ones I have now. Since I moved out on my own, I have always had Finnish Lapphund dogs. Not that I purposely went out to find a pure bred rare breed. On the contrary, I was looking for information on a puppy I saw in a calendar one year and found the one breeder in North America at the time in TN. We became friends, I adopted a retired show dog and feel head over heels for this breed. I now have two more (the first one died from poisoning, long sad story) and they are why I am happy to get up in the morning (oh, my husband, too I suppose :)).

    I was bullied and shy as a kid and my family dog was where I found solace. Dogs are wonderful. I love cats, too but am deathly allergic, so I can’t have one. I can’t think of ever living without a furry love in my house.

  7. September 28, 2008 5:03 pm

    Two years ago, my boyfriend and I moved in together during our first year of college. We both wanted to study away from home, and both found separate colleges in a city in another state from the one we grew up in together.

    Well, to make a long story short, we found that we only had each other to rely on, and sometimes, when the other was working or in class, the other would get lonely. For a few months, we wrestled with the idea of adopting a dog. I wanted a small, tiny, t-cup poodle or something similar, he wanted a big boxer.

    We found a pitbull puppy and fell madly in love with her. Allie’s been with us ever sense.

    When she was learning how to sit, stay, shake, and potty train, I realized my life was never going to be the same. Here’s this little creature who relied on ME for survival, love, and nurturing. And it was mutual. She looks up to me with those big brown eyes, and they show how much I mean to her, and how devoted she is to me.

    She’s the best thing to ever happen to me.

  8. September 28, 2008 7:16 pm

    I’d love to be entered for a chance to win this book. I also saw the CBS Sunday morning show about Dewey.

    As for an animal that made a difference, well, it’s a tough choice. It will sound completely silly, but what first comes to mind is my hamster Bear. Technically, he wasn’t “mine.” He was the classroom pet. But before my introduction to Bear, I was *terrified* of animals. But I learned a lot about life and friendship through Bear. And he was a great friend of mine. I loved playing with him before and after school and giving him special treats. And I loved spending one-on-one time with him. After Bear, the fear was completely gone and I became a great lover of animals–cats and dogs especially. I’m still not that crazy on fish or birds (but to each their own.) Anyway, there have been plenty of other special animals for me since then, but Bear was the first.

  9. September 28, 2008 8:47 pm

    We get CBS Sunday Morning but it comes on at 10pm Sunday night (9am EDT) so I rarely watch because that is usually bedtime here. However, last night I did watch because the Hubby was going over a case he has to testify on today so it was a late night here. I saw the DEWEY story and was familiar with the books cover thanks to e-mails from HATCHETTE BOOKS but I didn’t know the story behind the cute cat on the cover.
    I would love to win this book!! Thanks for offering this contest Stephanie.
    PlanetBooksWorldWide@gmail.com
    XOXO-K

  10. September 28, 2008 8:55 pm

    Rocky needs a comment post all to himself. So, Rocky is my five and a half year old Cocker Spaniel and Hubby and my child in the house. We don’t have kids and after finding out that it would take some medical intervention we decided against having kids. Rocky has filled that space in our home very well. He keeps me company here in Okinawa when Hubby has to travel and during the day while he’s at work and I’m at home. Hubby has said that he loves to come home to Rocky because his reaction to Hubby’s return is so loving, excited and unconditional.
    He is such a wonderful dog and makes us laugh, sings with me and brings us comfort and a sense of safety that we love. Though his excessive barking can grate on the nerves I know that one day I will miss hearing it to the point that my heart will break everyday.
    We bought him from a lovely lady and her two Cocker Spaniel parents in Cabot, AK and a double wide trailer and now Rocky is a world traveling dog having moved to Memphis with us and then over here to Okinawa. In the spring he will join us for our next move to Hubby and my hometown of D.C. and the grandparents (especially mine) are extremely excited to have their grandpuppy in the area for good for the first time.
    Rocky has made a difference in Hubby and my life by bringing us immense joy and laughter. We love you Rocky!!!

  11. Carla Pullum permalink
    September 28, 2008 10:39 pm

    Would love to read the book looks real interesting!

  12. September 29, 2008 1:41 am

    DO NOT ENTER ME!!!! JUST A COMMENT!!

    I recently won this book in a giveaway, and I just wanted to say that Dewey cat looks EXACTLY like my Henry (well Dewey is a little younger)… but anyway, I’m looking forward to reading the book, and good luck to everyone who enters!

    Cheers Stephanie!

  13. September 29, 2008 8:47 am

    My DH and I are cat people – we have 4. We don’t have children, so when people start in telling kid stories then I start with the cat stories. They can be funny or naughty just like kids. And they are the best medicine when we are sick or feeling blue.

  14. Melanie permalink
    September 29, 2008 8:59 am

    We have a maltipoo and he has had two seizures in the last month and it teaches you to be stronger and a little more compassionate. It is hard to see your dog go through that but you just do it and help as much as you can. I would love to win the book.

  15. September 29, 2008 9:03 am

    Looks like a fun read. I also love CBS Sunday Morning when I get a chance to watch it. For many years we had 2 cats. One thought he was a person and we were sure he was a dog and the other was all cat. When we were trying to have children, they both brought us great joy. When our “dog” cat had to be put down due to kidney issues when our daughter was only a year old our hearts broke and I know there will never be another like him. Our “cat” cat has become more snuggly and has become the love of our daughter’s life. Pets are special.

  16. September 29, 2008 10:48 am

    hey.. do enter me for this giveaway.. I must admit, i am not too much of an animal girl. I was bitten badly by a stray dog when i was a kid and have been scared of pets ever since! I am slowly trying to get over my fear of them now though:)
    ramyasbookshelf(at)gmail(dot)com

  17. September 29, 2008 11:59 am

    I would love to win a copy of this book. I was touched by the story of Dewey on CBS Sunday Morning. I watch that show every Sunday. Dewey helped a town get through a trying time. It was a great story. I have a similar story of my dog; he always seems to know when I am not well or when I need a pick me up and he finds a way to make me smile. He’s nothing special to most others and my husband is fed up with his rising doctors’ bills–he’s nearly 12 years old–but he’s there for me all the time. And we have a great time together.

    savvyverseandwit AT gmail DOT com

  18. September 29, 2008 12:07 pm

    I really love the Sunday Morning Show and have not seen it for some time. I would love the chance to win this book. Here is my animal story: When I was at my cousin’t house in India we were talking about my grandmother. I got very upset and started crying. My cousin’s dog Buddy came over to me and put his head on my lap. He then started licking my hands and stayed. I felt so touched by his kindess.

  19. September 29, 2008 12:19 pm

    I’ve always loved cats. I grew up with one. My parents got her for me on my ninth birthday, I still remember it vividly, how surprised and delighted I was. She lived to be about fourteen years old. In college one winter I was looking forward to going home for vacation and seeing my cat again- and then my mother called to tell me she’d died. From a neighbor’s dog attacking. It was terribly sad. For a long time I didn’t have another cat. Then after getting married and moving, we found a stray cat that stayed in our house a day until we found his owner. It was so pleasant to hear a little kitty voice and pet a purring figure that I knew at once what was missing to make our home feel complete- a cat! Now we have two, and they bring peace and contentment into our home. What can be more relaxing than looking at a cat sleeping? They do that so well!

  20. September 29, 2008 6:30 pm

    Stephanie, I love reading your blog. I was away this Sunday morning and missed the story on CBS Sunday Morning. I have always had at least one cat in my life and now have 4 adopted feral cats. they very kindly let me live here with them. If you should have the time you can meet them here http://tinyurl.com/4ebnz3
    Sissy, one of my girls thinks she has opposable thumbs and always picks up and takes any pen she can find. I think like the cat in Paul Gallico’s The Silent Miaow, she is trying to write her own book! My Mom brought that book for me in 1964. Thank you for all the reviews.

  21. September 30, 2008 2:05 pm

    I love animals, so enter me, please!

  22. September 30, 2008 2:10 pm

    My spoiled kitty is named Molly…she’s a beautiful short-haired grey and white cat, that someone threw out on one of the coldest nights in January 2 years ago. We took her in, and was going to try and find her a good home, but by the time my husband got home from work that night…she was MY cat. She follows me everywhere, loves to be cuddled, and sometimes I think she thinks I’m her Mom…at least thats what my husband says.
    We also call her “The Diva” because she is so spoiled and we love her so much!

    I’d really enjoy reading “Dewey” and entering your giveaway. Thank you for the opportunity to brag about my devoted feline companion.

    Sandy

  23. Elizabeth M. permalink
    September 30, 2008 9:39 pm

    Once when I was really little I was buckled into a car seat in the car and a huge stray dog jumped into the car with me out of nowhere and I absolutely screamed and went nuts. It scared the living daylights out of me. I was afraid of dogs from that point on and it took me at least 25 years to rid myself of the fear. Fortunately, cats don’t scare me at all. I love them!

  24. September 30, 2008 11:48 pm

    I’d love to read this; please enter me in the draw. As for my cat story, well, I finagled my way into my now-husband’s life with our cat. I was volunteering at a cat shelter at the time and we were always trying to find homes. I worked with my now-husband (actually he was my supervisor) and I thought he needed a cat so talked him into it; he actually let me choose a cat for him and it turned out very well. We’ve been together for nearly 14 years and our Cinnabar was with us for most of it. He passed away nearly two years ago now, and we have not been able to replace him.

  25. Carol M permalink
    October 1, 2008 8:16 am

    I really want to read this book. I love cats. We lost our first cat, Mittens, six years ago. He came to us as a stray as did our second cat, Pennie. They brought a lot of love into our home. My children learned so much about giving and caring. Pennie died last year as did Cookie, our third kitty, who was only nine months old. My children learned that death can come at any age. We now have a brother and sister, Max and Mindy who are so sweet and affectionate. They follow us around the house and need us as much as we need them. Something would be missing in our lives if they weren’t a part of it.

  26. Carol M permalink
    October 1, 2008 8:17 am

    I forgot my email address.
    mittens0831 AT aol DOT com

    I really want to read this book. I love cats. We lost our first cat, Mittens, six years ago. He came to us as a stray as did our second cat, Pennie. They brought a lot of love into our home. My children learned so much about giving and caring. Pennie died last year as did Cookie, our third kitty, who was only nine months old. My children learned that death can come at any age. We now have a brother and sister, Max and Mindy who are so sweet and affectionate. They follow us around the house and need us as much as we need them. Something would be missing in our lives if they weren’t

  27. October 1, 2008 2:35 pm

    i would love to read this one!

    there was a neighbour’s cat who would sneak into my house if the door was left open! no matter how many times i must have told it to go away and many times pushed it (when i was little), it still would come up on me and snuggle.

    Taught me that YOUR love should not be dependant on other person’s actions!

  28. Renee permalink
    October 1, 2008 2:58 pm

    When we lost our beloved cat, Sunny to kidney failure I was so distraught I said “no more cats unless one finds me”. Well,my teenage dtr.’s friend was moving and the apt. she and her Mom were going to did not allow pets. So could we take their 11 mo. old kitten? So that is how we got Edie,the funniest,craziest cat ever. But we love her and when my Mom died shortly after getting her remembering how she dropped into our lives unplanned gave me hope for the future.

  29. October 1, 2008 6:57 pm

    Oh, cool, I’ve been seeing this book everywhere!

    My story has to do with our recently-departed kitty Sunshine. Sunshine was my little puppy cat, a smart little thing that followed me everywhere and had a huge kitty vocabulary. She did three especially wonderful things. I’m a napper and during a time when I was battling low potassium, I had to sleep a lot. Because it’s easier to sleep with a furball curled up nearby, if she didn’t hear me climb onto the bed I’d sometimes go find her and ask her if she’d like to join me. She’d get up, trot behind me and then run past me and jump up onto the bed, just as we got to the end of the hallway. She also loved taking drinks out of the bathtub, but she didn’t like the water too hot or too cold. I’m forgetful, so I often walk away and forget to check the water temp, but Sunshine would come find me and *tell* me if the water temp wasn’t right. She also was very sensitive to emotions. I don’t remember the reason, but there was one time in particular that I was distraught and crying. Shiny jumped up onto my chest, licked my tears away and then tucked her nose right under my chin. It was incredibly comforting. I miss her every day. 🙂

    I’m trying to switch my email over, so you can contact me at bookfoolery at gmail dot com (but I’m still at yahoo, also — you know where to find me).

Trackbacks

  1. Keeping the House & Giveaway « Stephanie’s Written Word
  2. Winner of Dewey! « Stephanie’s Written Word

Leave a Reply

