Skip to content

I’m feeling it

September 25, 2008

I’m feeling two things right now – a little sore and lots of love!

Other than being a bit tired (and sore, did I mention sore?) everything went well with my lumpectomy yesterday. They removed three lymph nodes and it looks like there aren’t any cancer cells in them! My oncologist did say that they will be doing further testing on my nodes over the next week and sometimes will find cancer in them that they don’t catch during the surgery, but I am keeping my fingers crossed that they will be all clear! If they don’t find any, then I think I will be classified as having stage 1 breast cancer, which has something like a 95% curable rate! YEAH! I still don’t know what course of treatment I will be having, but will find out in the coming weeks. I have decided to blog about my cancer journey, in the hopes that I can help other people with this disease cope. If you are so inclined, you can visit it here “C” is NOT for Cookie. Otherwise, I will keep you guys up-to-date on this blog every once in a while.

In the WoodsI also finished In the Woods by Tana French while awaiting my surgery yesterday. I plan on writing up a review soon, but need time to mull over the ending. If you’ve read the book already, you know there are some plot threads that were not tied up in a neat little bow (something I usually like in my books) but overall thought that it was a really well written psychological thriller that kept me turning the pages well into the night. I read a little about the sequel and will try to get it from my library sometime soon.

 

 

 

I’m also feeling a lot of love! I’ve been presented with the I Love Your Blog award from AnnaNicole, Iliana and both the I Love Your Blog and the Proximidade! awards from the sweet Melody. Now that I’ve been bestowed these nice awards from the lovely ladies mentioned above, I need to pass it on!

Here are a few blogs that I really enjoy reading:

Care’s Online Book Club
Life and Times of a “New” New Yorker
Girls Just Reading
Jackets & Covers
Bloody Hell, It’s a Book Barrage!
Bookstack
I Smell Books

Thank you all for brightening my day! And, if I’ve ever left a comment on your blog, well that means I love you too! Smooches!

34 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2008 1:47 pm

    I am giving you a big hug right now!

  2. September 25, 2008 1:58 pm

    YIPPEE on the ALL CLEAR! that’s just so great.

    and thanks so much for the lovely award. I’m going to add it to my sidebar RIGHT NOW! Thank you.

  3. Cat permalink
    September 25, 2008 2:15 pm

    *HUGS* and I am so happy about the all clear! I will wish you nothing but healing and happy thoughts. My mom just passed the ten year mark this July of breast cancer surviving. I wish you the same luck she has had.

    I might have to check out the In the Woods book too!

  4. September 25, 2008 2:23 pm

    fingers and toes crossed for continuing good test results!

  5. September 25, 2008 2:24 pm

    Yeah for Stephanie!!

    On the subject of books, I’m going to have to check out that In the Woods. Something to change things up. I could go for a psychological thriller!

  6. September 25, 2008 2:47 pm

    Oh, what fantastic news! That’s great to hear.

  7. September 25, 2008 3:23 pm

    Oh, what a relief! For being so useless, (except for breastfeeding), boobs can be the biggest worry in the world. It’s like another sick joke a higher power is playing on women.

    You’ll beat this! Let me know if you need any info. I’m a research librarian.

  8. September 25, 2008 3:44 pm

    I’m glad the news is as positive as possible (as is your incredible attitude!). Rest well and I hope that sore business goes away soon.

    Best wishes!

  9. September 25, 2008 3:52 pm

    I’m so glad to hear the good news!! Just be sure and give yourself permission to take it easy so that you can recover from the surgery more quickly. And I have my fingers crossed that they’ll be able to confirm stage 1 asap! 😀

  10. September 25, 2008 3:54 pm

    Sounds like things are going well. And by the way, C is NOT for Cookie is an awesome blog name.

  11. September 25, 2008 4:06 pm

    SO glad to hear that the surgery went well. You’ll for sure be in my thoughts and prayers through out the next week!

    Also, thank you so much for the award!!! I gave ya some luv back on my blog 🙂

    Kimberly

  12. September 25, 2008 4:17 pm

    I’m glad that your surgery went well. I am crossing my fingers that the rest results come back negative on those nodes.

  13. September 25, 2008 4:37 pm

    HA! Only you would be all, Wheee! Stage One breast cancer!! Many happy thoughts at you.

    Also, everyone is all over In the Woods! I need to hit this.

  14. September 25, 2008 4:54 pm

    I already added your cancer blog to my favorites to read. I really hope everything turns out well for you.

    P.S. Thanks for the shout out. We love your blog too.

  15. September 25, 2008 5:59 pm

    Congrats on the award, and I’m glad to hear the surgery went well!

    I really enjoyed In the Woods and I’m hoping to get The Likeness done soon!

  16. September 25, 2008 8:41 pm

    I’m glad you’re doing so well. I was sore after my lap a couple weeks ago – it was a great reason for my husband to dote on me. I hope yours will do the same.

    ((hugs))

  17. September 25, 2008 10:17 pm

    What great news! I’m hope the soreness goes away soon. You have come up with a very clever title to your cancer blog. 🙂 And, I can’t wait to read The Woods – I’m glad to read that you enjoyed it.

    Happy Thoughts!

  18. September 25, 2008 11:50 pm

    Wow, I’m glad to hear the surgery went well. As John and Hank Green would say DFTBA. (don’t forget to be awesome!)

  19. September 26, 2008 6:04 am

    I’m glad to hear you’re doing well, Stephanie!
    As for the awards, they’re very well-deserved! 🙂

    I can’t wait to read your review on In the Wood. Although there’re some plots that’re left hanging, I still feel it is very nicely done. I’m hoping the next sequel will be better!

  20. September 26, 2008 9:56 am

    so far, so good! I’m glad to hear it. I look forward to hearing that you have a 95 percent curable rate! In the meantime, good luck. My thoughts are with you.

  21. September 26, 2008 10:05 am

    That’s great to here! I remember the relief we all felt when my mom’s lymph nods came back cancer free. Rooting for you!

    (And thanks for the link. Glad to know you’re enjoying my blog!)

  22. September 26, 2008 11:35 am

    What an ordeal! I’m so glad that it brought some good news for you, though. I’m thinking of you as you plan a course of action, wishing you and your family moments of peace as you get through this. Good luck!

  23. September 26, 2008 5:37 pm

    I’m so glad the news is positive! I look forward to reading your review on In The Woods. Congrats on the blog awards 🙂

  24. September 26, 2008 6:12 pm

    Terrific news, Stephanie!!

  25. September 27, 2008 1:54 am

    I’m so glad for you!

    And you definitely deserve those awards!

  26. September 27, 2008 8:34 am

    Glad to hear that the procedure went well and the results seem to be good. I hope the news continues to be positive. ((Hugs))

  27. September 27, 2008 10:50 am

    I just happened to have a spare moment and decided to pop over here and check out what has been going on with you…. wow. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family during yet another trying time. I was glad to read that recent news is looking up- may it continue in that direction for a very very long time! Best wishes~

  28. September 27, 2008 1:44 pm

    Stephanie, I’m way behind on my blog reading, so I’m sending you loads of hugs and good wishes, and atta-girls! that you’ve gotten such good news.

    Take good care of yourself, enjoy some extra pampering and time to read…you deserve it, big time!

    (BTW, thanks for the link 🙂

  29. September 27, 2008 6:10 pm

    THANK YOU! I love reading your blog too 🙂 I just got In the Woods in the mail and it sounds so spooky. I’ll be looking forward to reading your review. And I didn’t know there is a sequel…how cool! Thanks again!

  30. September 27, 2008 8:55 pm

    I’m so happy to hear the procedure went well. Continued prayers and wishes for good health for you!

    Oh and I can’t wait to hear of what you thought of In the Woods. I loved it and although at first I wasn’t too sure about the ending, after mulling it over for a bit I decided I was glad it ended the way it did.

  31. September 28, 2008 5:02 pm

    So glad it went well, and I hope that soreness is gone ASAP.

    By the way, the title “C is Not for Cookie’ could well be the best blog title ever. *round of applause*

  32. September 29, 2008 12:04 am

    Oh, I’m so glad to hear that everything is going so well. Best of luck with it all. Your positivity is really so inspiring.

  33. September 29, 2008 8:57 pm

    Yay for the good news!! I’m happy to hear that.

  34. October 13, 2008 5:26 pm

    I’m late with my Woo Hoo’s and Yippee’s but I’m so glad you got some good news!

Leave a Reply

