Skip to content

After the storm

August 14, 2008

I am this close (insert visual of fingers almost pinched together) to getting my new power adapter to replace the fried one. Ever wonder how much it is to replace one of those suckers? One hundred buckaroos! Yep, next time I’m going to unplug it during a storm so I don’t have to shell out so much dough. In the meantime, my neighbor is very generous and loaned me his adapter so I could temporarily boost my laptops battery power.

So, I thought it would be fun to post a few pictures of our poor, poor tree roots.

Exhibit A

lightning strike 006

As you can see, the lightning must have struck the metal water meeter and traveled up some of the roots toward the tree. The roots were striped bare of their bark and splintered in some areas.

Exhibit B

lightning strike 003

Hmmm, now I know why they tell you not to stand under a tree during a lightning storm!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2008 9:59 am

    Wow it’s amazing what storms can do. So glad no one was hurt and that the damage wasn’t worse.

  2. August 15, 2008 11:13 am

    That would be fascinating if it wasn’t so scary! Glad the power adapter’s the only thing that got terribly fried. Do you think the tree with survive?

  3. August 15, 2008 12:11 pm

    Wow! I hope the tree’s okay, and I’m glad no one was hurt, too.

    An inverter story, not nearly as exciting as a lightning storm: My husband installed an inverter in our VW camper van so we could charge the laptop, and when we were packing up my stuff to move me to Canada back in 2006, my stuff included a microwave, and he wanted to see if the inverter would run the microwave. Nearly fried the van and himself. Inverter was toast. Sometimes that man gets the strangest notions into his head…

  4. bookroomreviews permalink
    August 15, 2008 12:22 pm

    Oh wow, that is SCARY. Thank God no one was hurt. Your daughter is SO adorable:)

  5. Cat permalink
    August 15, 2008 1:35 pm

    Jeepers! How scary! I am glad no one was hurt and although you are on battery power it could have been worse! And those are some nifty shots!

  6. August 15, 2008 2:46 pm

    I know the feeling! Daisy bit through my adapter recently, and I actually found it cheaper to order a new one through the manufacturer than buy a universal. Not sure what you did, but maybe something to keep in mind.

  7. August 17, 2008 11:25 pm

    All I can say is that sucks. Hopefully your new adapter will come soon. We don’t get much lightening here so I have never had this happen. I will remember thought to unplug my laptop whenever I hear thunder.

  8. August 19, 2008 11:45 am

    Yikes! I’m so glad no one was hurt and that there wasn’t too much damage!

  9. August 23, 2008 1:01 am

    Wow! That’s too bad about the adapter but I’m glad that no one was hurt!

  10. August 29, 2008 9:05 pm

    Oh, my gosh! Look at that! We had a lightning strike the house across the street from us a few years back, and it fried my computer (just from passing OVER the house). Now I always dive for the power strip to unplug it when there’s a storm. I’m always scared it’ll happen again.

    Glad you’re all okay and that the tree didn’t fall over or anything! -Julia

Leave a Reply

