Skip to content

Won the library lottery

August 5, 2008

Breaking Dawn (The Twilight Saga, Book 4)All day yesterday I read posts at some of my favorite book blogs about their thoughts on Stephenie Meyer’s fourth book in the Twilight Saga, Breaking Dawn and had been kicking myself for not pre-ordering it. While at the library yesterday morning, putting another book on hold, I casually asked the librarian to throw my name on the wait list for Breaking Dawn. Last night, I received a call from the library saying that my hold had come in, and low and behold I now have in my hot little hands a brand spankin’ new copy of BREAKING DAWN. YEAH!

How the heck did that happen? I mean, isn’t this supposed to be the second coming of Harry Potter? How could I have jumped the list and end up so lucky? Is it that Breaking Dawn isn’t quite as popular as the publishing industry expected? Or did someone at the library royally eff up and give me a copy that someone else was entitled to? All I know is that I’m psyched that now I get to read it and not have to pay for the hard cover!

I read 163 pages last night already and am enjoying it so far, but don’t expect me to post a review this week. I have to spend some time at my doctor’s office this Friday (sans kids) and plan to lug this puppy along for the wait. Happy Breaking Dawn reading everybody!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2008 5:03 pm

    I broke dwon and bought it…I read most of it yesterday, and should finish it tonight. I haven’t read any of the reviews, so I’m looking forward to reading what other people think of it.

  2. August 5, 2008 5:04 pm

    dwon? *sigh* How come I catch these things right after I hit submit??

  3. August 5, 2008 5:07 pm

    Softdrink – don’t worry about the typos – my comments (and probably a good portion of my posts) are riddled with them! Can’t wait to hear about your thoughts on the book (after I finish it, of course)!

  4. August 5, 2008 6:07 pm

    Wow! I put my name on the list at my library about a month before it was released and I was like #526 (sadly not an exaggeration…it was #500something). I ended up buying it. I figured I had the 3 others on the shelf…it wouldn’t do for them to be lonely.

  5. August 5, 2008 6:28 pm

    Wow, seriously how did that happen. I put my name on our library list SIX MONTHS ago and I was number 600. I realized if I wanted to read it anytime soon I’d have to buy it, so I did. I just checked and there are currently 2658 holds at our library. Consider yourself very, very lucky!

  6. August 5, 2008 7:59 pm

    Wow, you’re so lucky, Stephanie! 🙂
    I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it!!!

  7. August 5, 2008 10:08 pm

    Must be one of those weird library flukes. I was on the hold list at 89 of 160 holds or something like that just yesterday. I just checked it again and I am 1 of 90 holds. How did that happen? Looks like I will be getting my copy soon!

  8. August 5, 2008 10:11 pm

    adding: my library has 50 copies of Breaking Dawn! Jeez! I wonder how that works. After the whole Twilight craze ends, are they going to have 50 dusty books just sitting on the shelves? Must be that people are reading their brand new copies and then just donating them to the library, that’s why I moved up so far on the hold list in one day.

  9. August 6, 2008 9:16 am

    I’m very happy for your lucky break! Hope you continue to enjoy it. I’ve heard some rumblings about it, but many of those have been from over-the-top Harry Potter fans who are somehow threatened by Meyer’s success. Don’t get that myself. I haven’t read her books yet but I’m thrilled for her that she is so successful.

  10. August 6, 2008 10:00 am

    Definitely sounds like you won the library lotto!! 🙂

  11. August 6, 2008 1:06 pm

    WOOHOOO!! If it’s a screw up or just good luck, who cares! Enjoy the ride. hehe I hope you like it as much as I did (and Heather, too, although she hasn’t posted a review yet).

  12. August 6, 2008 2:31 pm

    I’ve been avoiding all talk of this book because I didn’t pre-order either! But I just got an email this afternoon from the library saying my copy is in! Guess what I’ll be starting tonight??

  13. August 6, 2008 3:56 pm

    Seek and Read – I wonder what the library will do with all those extra copies once the Breaking Dawn buzz dies down?

    Carl – I would probably consider myself one of those over-the-top HP fans, but am excited to see another YA novel that has induced such a frenzy (although I will always love my HP the best)!

    Everybody – I didn’t get much reading done last night (must have been my exhaustion from the marathon reading session and my 22 month olds non-existent sleeping schedule from the night before)!

  14. August 6, 2008 10:20 pm

    I have this one and Eclipse to look forward to. Can’t wait. Well, I guess, obviously, I can!

    We had a big “release” party at work (B&N) and had about 500 customers in the store from 10-midnight. I think it was a huge success. Not sure how you managed to snag a copy so quickly at the library. Glad to know it’s a winner.

  15. August 7, 2008 1:04 pm

    For what it’s worth, my local library branch seems completely out of touch with the Twilight series phenomena. Over the past few months I have overheard various conversations between librarians and patrons about “Twilight, what?” or “Meyer, who?” How my little branch missed out on the boat I am not sure, but good for you for getting a copy!

  16. August 7, 2008 4:46 pm

    I’m not crazy about the ‘Twilight” series, but I am looking forward to your review, Stephanie. I just don’t understand the appeal, myself, but maybe it’s because I’m becoming an old fart, and I’m the least romantic person on the planet.

  17. August 7, 2008 8:56 pm

    Chartroose and I are the odd ones out, I guess. I liked Twilight but I didn’t love it so much that I felt compelled to buy or check out the next two. But, I have a standing offer to borrow them from my teenager’s friend, Alexandra (who, unfortunately, gave away what’s happened in New Moon and Eclipse).

  18. August 9, 2008 10:46 am

    I’m currently #154 out of 193 holds down from about #200. I have no problem waiting, it probably will only be a few weeks.

  19. August 10, 2008 11:16 am

    I haven’t read the series and probably only will when I have to (in advance of my 9 and 10 year olds). Probably the ‘old fart’ phenomena Chartroose was referring to.

    Hope all goes well at the doctor’s office, Steph.

  20. August 10, 2008 9:35 pm

    My library got a few copies in, and I donated the copy I bought and read that first weekend. We’ve had a lot of people asking about it, but not a lot of holds placed. I guess people don’t want to wait.

    As for the library that got a ton of copies, they probably order books on a lease plan, so they can get a lot of copies of certain books when they’re in high demand (e.g. the Pattersons, Evanovichs, Harry Potters, etc.) and then send most of them back with the furor dies down, exchanging them out for whatever’s hot right then.

    I definitely don’t think Meyer’s books are in the same realm of the HP series when it comes to popularity, cross-section appeal, writing quality, and staying power, but they definitely are entertaining.

  21. Cat permalink
    August 11, 2008 8:25 pm

    Is it sad I want this book only because I like the cover, but don’t want to read it. And it would make my collection look pretty on the shelf.

    I just can’t buy a book I am not going to read though. I’ll have to see if I find it in a garage sale one day. 😉

Leave a Reply

