Skip to content

The Family Reading Challenge & Hugo Cabret

July 24, 2008

Link to The Well-Read Child

I’m a bit late in signing up for The Family Reading Challenge, hosted by The Well-Read Child, but figured that hey, it’s never too late to make the commitment of reading more as a family. The logistics are simple – from the blog: Would you like to spend more time reading and challenge yourself and your family to read a bit every day? If so, I’d love it if you joined me! The only rule is that you try to fit in time every day. You know what will work best for your family, so you decide the logistics. Maybe you want to spend some time every day reading aloud to your children. Or if you have older kids, perhaps you want set aside a specific time of day where everyone in the family is reading on their own–no computers, no TV, just good old books. Maybe you don’t even have kids but want to challenge yourself to read everyday. That’s fine, too!

The Invention of Hugo CabretTo be honest, I do try to read to my oldest daughter Leah each night (or more recently when my youngest is napping in the afternoon) so this isn’t so much a challenge as a good old fashion reminder to READ TO YOUR KIDS! Feel like joining me? Just stop by The Well-Read Child for information! 

Right now my six year old daughter Leah and I are in the middle of The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick. There are many bloggers who have reviewed this book and I found this article from The New York Times Sunday Book Review that summarizes this 2008 Caldecott winner quite nicely. So far, it’s been a good book to start off this fun challenge, although I think it probably would be better suited for a little bit of an older child (think ten year old boy as target audience). Having said that, it is a nice beautifully illustrated and the story is intriguing, just a little complex for my six year old (which means I have to answer LOTS of questions as we go along)! So, what have you been reading to your son/daughter, niece/nephew, grandchild or little one in your life recently?

Above image is from this site.

On another note, you still have time to enter my contest to win a copy of The Wednesday Sisters. Just make sure to leave a comment on this post by midnight EST time on Monday, July 28th to enter.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2008 7:52 am

    I’m doing it too! My son is about ten months old, so he doesn’t pay much attention so I read aloud and let him play (for longer things). But now he’s eager to turn the pages for the picture books. I need books with one word on a page these days!

  2. July 24, 2008 8:43 am

    Isabella is into the Tinkle Bell chapter books lately. It’s been fun.

    Chris, he likes to look a books with pictures of stuff he likes, trucks, dinsoaurs, transformers.

    It seems like we go in spurts in reading as a family. Sometimes, we all read a book together, other times we don’t read at all.

  3. July 24, 2008 11:33 am

    If you can track down the audio version of this from your library I highly recommend it. It has a DVD extra in it that you can watch in which the author explains his inspirations, etc. and it is very kid friendly…geared towards kids. It is fantastic!

  4. July 24, 2008 8:54 pm

    Hi! Thanks so much for mentioning the challenge! My 16-month-old and I are currently reading a set of “Baby Gym” books published by “Child’s Play.” They’ve got all kinds of little songs and activities you can do with your little ones. My daughter really seems to enjoy them. Other favorites are Karen Katz’s “Where is Baby’s Bellybutton?” and “Counting Kisses.”

  5. July 26, 2008 10:59 am

    I loooove the illustrations in Hugo Cabret! It’s one I’d definitely like to re-read.

  6. July 26, 2008 6:30 pm

    I didn’t know of the official challenge, but I have been reading each day. I started the summer with a stack of books that I am a little over halfway through.

    It is so wonderful that you read to your beautiful family!

  7. July 28, 2008 11:47 am

    I saw this book at the library and couldn’t believe how beautiful the illustrations were.
    I could get lost in that book!

  8. July 28, 2008 2:00 pm

    My friend just read this book…it looks really cool!

  9. July 28, 2008 10:52 pm

    I read The Giving Tree and Stone soup with the kids I nanny for today. I love those books, although not sure exactly what the moral of The Giving Tree is? It’s kind of like Rainbow Fish, I guess. Don’t use other people? They have also been really into the Arthur (from PBS) series lately.

  10. July 28, 2008 11:34 pm

    Wow. What a great illustration. I may have to get this book for my classroom (ok, me).

  11. July 29, 2008 11:32 am

    ya know what? I’m thinking about getting this book for my 9 yr old pen pal and asking if he would be willing to write a guest review. Sounds like fun to me – (I wonder what HE will think…)

  12. July 29, 2008 2:35 pm

    We are stuck in the DA*M Rainbow Fairies. The girls love these books although the main characters are flat and lifeless. Sigh… We even got the latest set shipped in from England as they are not yet available in the US.

    I want to read Hugo Cabret, but in a bit.

    On the Giving Tree? I always thought the moral was that some people are like the tree. Always willihng to give exactly what the other person needs.

    I am reading The 10 year Nap. Have you read this? I would love a discussion because I HATE IT!

  13. July 30, 2008 5:20 pm

    Carl – thanks for the suggestion on the Hugo Cabret DVD. I will look for it.

    Spacemom – I haven’t read The 10 Year Nap, but seen a few unenthusiastic reviews of in on different blogs, so I think I’ll skip that one!

  14. rantsandreads permalink
    August 12, 2008 2:09 am

    I really liked reading The Invention of Hugo Cabaret. It would be a really cool idea to look up the movie A Trip to The Moon on Youtube to watch with your daughter after you finish the book.

Leave a Reply

