Skip to content

Vacation Spots

July 17, 2008

btt button

I haven’t participated in Booking through Thursday in quite a while, but couldn’t pass up this question. It is inspired by the Bunch of Grapes bookstore on Martha’s Vineyard, which was badly damaged in a fire on the fourth of July:

Do you buy books while on vacation/holiday? Do you have favorite bookstores that you only get to visit while away on a trip? What/where are they?

First I have to say how sad I was to hear about Bunch of Grapes, which is a store I visited many times while vacationing in Martha’s Vineyard. The last time I was on the island, back in 2003, I drove to Vineyard Haven while my daughter stayed back at our vacation home with my husband, and I casually walked around the bookstore, looking for the perfect beach read. I came upon Up Island by Anne Rivers Siddons, which is a  novel set in Martha’s Vineyard. It was really nice to just have some time wandering the stacks of this unique bookstore.

So obviously my answer is yes, I do love to shop for books while I’m away from home. One of my most favorite vacation bookstores is Northshire Bookstore in Manchester Center, Vermont. BK (before kids) my husband and I used to travel to Vermont each year to stay at the very lovely Windham Hill Inn. After a dinner at a local restaurant, we would then stop by for some browsing around the bookstore. Full of author events and a newly renovated space, Northshire bookstore is a really unique independent bookstore. The staff even has it’s own blog full of book reviews! The photo below is of the store from their website.

I also have a place in my heart for Page One, an English and Chinese language bookstore chain in Hong Kong. Found in large malls, Page One is similar to the big bookstores but with one exception. Due to some international shipping and releasing issues, you can find many trade paperback versions of a book, which has been released only in hardcover in the US, months ahead of everyone else. A few years back while visiting Hong Kong I hit the jackpot and purchased the trade paperback version of The Time Traveler’s Wife four months before it was due out here in the US! And last past August, while back in that same bookstore in Hong Kong, I saw the trade paperback of A Thousand Splendid Suns. It is (almost) worth the sixteen hour flight from Newark just to pick some up!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2008 10:29 pm

    What a nice bookstore; no wonder you enjoy returning.

  2. July 18, 2008 12:17 am

    The photos are heartbreaking. What a lovely place to visit, though. I can see why you jumped on this question. I missed Thursday, but I might have to do a Booking Through Thursday, for once. Thanks, Stephanie. I enjoyed your answer!

  3. July 18, 2008 1:14 am

    Hey Steph! I love getting the paperback version of a new hardback cover too. For example I have Jennifer WEiner’s Certain Girls in trade paperback but the physical size of the hardcover as well as Belong To Me by Maria de los Santos, Free Food for Millionaires by Min Jin Lee and The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova. Pretty Cool!
    XOXO-K

  4. Kristina permalink
    July 18, 2008 7:14 am

    I LOVE Northshire Bookstore. It is sort-of Barnes and Noble-ish, but in only the good ways… lots of books, comfy chairs, and a great little cafe. But B&N (or any other chain) just could never compare to this awesome bookstore.

  5. July 19, 2008 12:47 am

    I love seeing how bookstores are set up. Something about seeing the inside of a bookstore makes me all giddy.

  6. July 19, 2008 12:10 pm

    That looks like some bookstore. I went to the one that I blogged about a few months back called bookends and it was nice but totally unorganized. I would call it controlled chaos. The ladies that worked there were awesome though. A customer called while I was there and asked for a book and she said she had it but didn’t know if she could find it. Me and Vanessa were tripping over stacks and stacks of books. Anyway It won’t be on my favorite list, but with an island we don’t have many choices. We do have a new Barnes and Nobles that is huge so this is probably going to become one of my favorites.

  7. July 19, 2008 9:52 pm

    It’s always fun to find new bookstores while on vacation. They just seem more special. When I was on vacation in Paris, a favorite thing was to find a bookstore that had english books. We found a few unique and enjoyable bookstores and I wish that I could recall their names as it was years ago. I am new to the blogging world and just started my own blog. I’ve added a link to your site among my favorites.

  8. July 20, 2008 5:29 am

    From the photo, that looks like a great place to spend some time browsing. And I know what you mean, those international editions that come out in paperback sooner are nice.

  9. July 28, 2008 7:33 am

    Oh! I love the sight of any bookstores. This one is lovely! 😀

  10. December 23, 2009 1:01 am

    I miss a good bookstore, we don’t have any great ones in South Africa. Not at all comparable to the US or Asia anyways. I used the image above in an entry of mine and credited it to you. Hope that is fine. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

